We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel but not deserving of its 4* status”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marcella Royal Hotel
Ranked #94 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

The main thing to say is that the Marcella is the tale of two very different hotels which might explain the contrasting reviews. When we arrived, we were checked into a room on the fifth floor which looked like it had seen an explosion of an overpowering floral pattern - it was on the wallpaper, bedding, curtains, wardrobe and interconnecting door. Opposite an orange wall, the room was in massive  need of redecoration. The bathroom needed it too - the shower cubicle was tiny (bending down to wash feet and legs was near impossible) and flooded easily due to only a flimsy shower curtain. However, by far the worst thing was the paper-thin walls. We heard every word of our neighbours' conversations really clearly and unfortunately more... We got to know them better than we would have liked, shall we say. The following morning we asked to move rooms and this was done without a fuss - but equally, I'd add, without a hint of apology. 

The new room, on the second floor, was a completely different experience - we didn't hear our neighbours once and the room was completely renovated with clean and contemporary decor, including a nice modern bathroom. It's just a shame the whole hotel wasn't like it. Even so, I still wouldn't call it boutique and 4 star seems a push. 

Other factors: the location was ok - near Termini and a useful bus stop - but it was quite a trek to walk in and out of the centre after a long day site-seeing though it means you benefit from peace and calm; cleanliness was excellent; air con good; service good, and breakfast on the roof terrace did the job but wasn't spectacular. Overall, it was a perfectly adequate hotel (not the 5th floor room!) but just not worth the "boutique" status or 4 * rating.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank review_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,722)
There are newer reviews for Marcella Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from a short break at the Marcella Royal. The hotel is well located for all the sites and is a short walking distance from most. The area surrounding the hotel feels safe at all times of the day/night and plays host to several good and reasonably priced restaurants. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were stylish and comfortable with air con, safe, hairdryer and toiletries being provided. The roof terrace was a lovely place to have breakfast which was of good quality as well as being an ideal place to have drinks later in the evening. We would reccomend this hotel and intend to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GuyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were made welcome from the moment we walked through the door.Could not fault the staff, the rooms are small but hey they are only for sleeping in.the breakfast room on the terrace was great( we ate mostly just outside the front door turn right to the li Sorriso about 20m very good menu excellent food) the room was cleaned each day (clean linen and towels) we would use it again just one small point the mattress was to hard for the wife( hip trouble)

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor no view but it was very quiet and to be honest any room in this hotel we wo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BERNARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Marcella Royal is a wonderful hotel located on the Via Flavia north of the Termini Train Station. It is tucked away on the hills above the bustle of the Forum and Colosseum. The staff was incredible. Our concierge, Mario, steered us to two excellent tours and gave us directions to excellent restaurants. There is a rooftop terrace bar and restaurant with a great view of the city where we had wine in the evening and where they served an excellent buffet breakfast. Salvatore was a great bartender.
The hotel is clean and the lobby elegant. We booked a standard room which was small but well appointed. Anything you need they are in tune.
The Borghese gardens, Trevi Fountain, Spanish steps are an easy walk. The Vatican needs to be a tour as does the Colosseum and Forum. First, it is a healthy walk and second and more important, take a tour so you do not wait in the lengthy lines.
On our next trip to Rome we intend to return to the Marcella. It is a gem.

Room Tip: HIgher floors have less noise even though in this location it was less of an issue.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyJ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights, very impressed by the efficiency and attention to detail of the staff. Breakfast is excellent with the usual continental fare which is good quality along with bacon and eggs both boiled and scrambled, the only flaw is that the orange juice is not strictly orange but tartazine juice or Kiora - so 80s. The breakfast room is run with military precision by an elegant Italian lady who misses nothing in terms of prompt topping up of coffee pots, hot milk and replenishing the hot food provisions, making sure there is ample cutlery e.c.t - very professional, she could however smile and greet guests a little more!.

The rooms are a little small but bright, airy and very clean. The hotel itself is typical Italian, slightly too ornate but charming all the same, try the roof garden for pre-dinner drinks, very welcoming and intimate if you are a couple. There are some excellent restaurants nearby, one in particular called number 38 a few blocks away is very good, but book early to avoid disappointment, it is extremely popular. Overall I was impressed by this boutique style hotel and would use it again.

Caroline Stevenson
Lecturer in Travel and Tourism
School of Food Hospitality and Tourism

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days in August and we could not fault it. It was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the street and we were expecting it to be a bit noisy at night but this was not the case, it was really quiet even with the windows open and it had a good air con unit which was needed as it was soooo hot while we were there - high 30's during the day and high 20's at night. The staff on reception were pleasant and polite and although not overly chatty they were helpful when we needed anything.
The best thing about the hotel was definitely the roof-top terrace, the view, the sunsets, the bar staff - all fantastic.
Breakfast on the terrace was a lovely start to the day, some of the other reviewers have commented that the breakfasts lacked choice but we found there was enough choice for us - bacon, scrambled or boiled eggs, toast and jams, pastries, fruit, cereal, yogurt, what else would you want for breakfast?
We used the hop on/hop off bus on one of our days but just stayed on the bus and took in the sights and then walked to the places that we wanted to look around i.e The Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, The Pantheon, Piazza de Navarone etc, all easily within walking distance, and then ended up walking to The Vatican one day as the Metro station nearest our hotel was closed for some reason.
We ate out in the evenings and would highly recommend Henry Cow right across the street - the seafood pasta was so good i had it on two occasions and the barman in the hotel recommended a restaurant down the street called La Pentollaccia, food was lovely but very expensive - think Salvatore must be on commission!
All in all we had a brilliant time in Rome (despite the countless blisters on my feet from all the walking!) but i would highly recommend a visit to this beautiful city, and I would highly recommend this lovely hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelbudsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Quiet location and also very quiet within the hotel when we were there recently. We were not particularly bothered by street noise in our balcony room on the 5th floor. Good air conditioner unit. Room smallish but fine for a few days. Very comfortable, large beds, good housekeeping and lovely towels. Problem with both drawers in wardrobe as, annoyingly, neither opened or closed properly but husband sorted them out.....
5 mins walk to buses to St Peters (62) and other main attractions. 10 mins to Piazza Repubblica (nearest metro). 15 mins to Villa Borghese. 20 mins to Trevi Fountain , Spanish Steps and Pantheon. Roma card will cover buses and metro plus entrance to 2 attractions and discounts on many others. We are fit and walking is fine for us but hotel may be a little out of the centre for some.
Family run restaurant (110) right next door. A real gem. What it lacks in ambience inside it makes up for in food – great dishes at reasonable prices. Better food than Café Paive round the corner (in our opinion). Barbara, waitress and daughter of the owner, is really friendly and speaks perfect English.
Hotel provides large umbrellas for loan on wet days.
Views from roof terrace (can just see St Peters Basilica). Only had one cocktail up there but nice to have a view.
Breakfast a bit mediocre, but adequate choices. Fresh fruit salad and yoghurts were welcome but sometimes it was tinned fruit.
Actually warmed to this hotel despite the lukewarm, professional but rather patronising welcome. Had problems with the safe, and door lock, but both were sorted out satisfactorily and promptly. The young reception staff could be rather aloof but there is one older man who is a delight – lovely sense of humour and very helpful (he booked Villa Borghese for us – a fabulous place). He may have been the manager. Nice lounge to await taxis. If returning to Rome would try a different hotel in another area but not because we didn’t like this one. We really enjoyed our stay in Rome and the location of the Marcella Royal was fine for us.

Room Tip: 5th floor has balconies, tiny and only suitable to stand on for a view but nice to be able to do tha...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,267 in Rome
2,258 reviews
Esquilino
Leon's Place Hotel
Leon's Place Hotel
#101 of 1,267 in Rome
621 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,267 in Rome
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#83 of 1,267 in Rome
508 reviews
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#95 of 1,267 in Rome
1,350 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcella Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcella Royal Hotel

Address: Via Flavia 106, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#110 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#160 Family Hotel in Rome
#172 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $123 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marcella Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marcella Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcella Royal Rome
Hotel Marcella Royal
Marcella Royal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing