We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valadier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Valadier
Ranked #221 of 1,287 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great hotel with a great location in Rome. Very close to metro and a lot of major sights. Hotel is clean and staff is friendly. The breakfast on the rooftop is great with a beautiful view and good selection of food. The service at breakfast is also excellent. The servers are on top of everything, constantly cleaning and replenishing the buffet and providing you with whatever you need. My only complaint is that the hotel has a very strange interior layout (it's like a maze) and it is pretty dark and claustrophobic. The rooms are clean and a decent size by European standards. I would recommend staying here overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review about Hotel Valadier.

We are glad to hear from that the overall of your stay was good and that you had a good time. We would like to inform you that the hotel stands on 3 different buildings and that the interior of the floors seems a bit confusing thats why we putted signals to make the way more clear.

We hope to see you again in Rome.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    319
    126
    59
    48
See reviews for
178
328
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found the location perfect for what we wanted to do in Rome, especially in the evenings when we were looking for a glass of wine or a meal. Highly recommend the rooftop restaurant. We had a wonderful meal and we were well treated by the waiter ( our guy who was born "by accident" in Montreal, thank you for tremendous experience). His wine recommendation was perfect and reasonably priced, even though he could have recommended something more expensive. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The only downside was we found the room a little small, however given the fact we have never found a North American size room for the price in Europe this is a small issue and certainly not a reason to avoid this hotel. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are happy to hear that your experience was good and that you enjoyed your time in Rome and that our staff and service gave a significant contribution to that. We are pleased that you liked our roof-top restaurant and we hope to see you again in Rome.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

2nd time I have stayed there with my young Italian lover. The décor is very conducive to romance and the staff very friendly and efficient. It was a little noisy in the street during the late evening and early morning but it is a reasonably priced, city centre hotel and you get what you pay for.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our hotel. We are sorry for the noise but unfortunately, the street where the hotel is located is very busy during the all day.

We hope to see you again at Hotel Valadier.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wonderful location to explore Rome on foot. You dont even have to use taxi or public transport. Central position in hearth of the city. Excellent breakfast on roof terrace with amazing view. Best breakfast cappucino, ever ! Great restaurant staff. Ellegant Hotel, nicely decorated, very clean rooms, comfortable beds...Helpful and very polite maids.Excellent food in Hotel and nearby restaurants, especially in *Brillo parlante* with 10% discount for guests of Valadier. Excellent ice cream just across the entrance ( much cheaper than any other ice cream shop in town )
Reception staff very, very nice, helpful, polite, multilingual..., especially receptionist with Egyptian origin, sorry to forget his name, very kind and proffesional. Good value for money. Many compliments !
We were more than satisfied with our pleasant stay at Valadier. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank di-mne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you left Rome happy and satisfied and that our hotel also has contributed to make your experience even better. Hearing that you appreciated our staff, service and facilities makes us very proud.

Thank you again and we hope to see you in Rome again very soon.

Best regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great hotel Fabio at the concierge desk is wonderful! Location is awesome, we were in walking distance of all the major sites, the Vatican, the coliseum, the Spanish steps, the trevi fountain and the pantheon. The staff took care of us! We are going back again in August!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niccle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgian in Manila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Valadier for two weeks last May . All in all a very pleasant stay . The hotel's location is absolutely perfect and the staff very friendly and helpful . Being on a longish sojourn we took a junior suite ( often a good idea in Italy ) . On my online booking I asked for a very quiet room and got exactly that on the inside of the building . Although perfectly OK and indeed very quiet the room lacked natural light and we therefore asked to change after one night . It was no problem , the hotel was very accommodating and helped us switch rooms with no hassles . Our new room , on the street side third floor this time , was perfect although inevitably from time to time you could hear a bit of noise from the street below but no big deal and not disturbing ( I suppose anywhere in such a busy urban area one would have to live with a bit of noise ) . The Bar is a nice spot ( Saturday evening pianist / singer excellent ! ) and the roof top resto for breakfast very pleasant and pretty . Overall we fully enjoyed our stay at Valadier and I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone .
PS : One dark spot ( not of the hotel's doing or directly linked to it I want to make this clear ) is the Brillo Parlante pizzeria / enoteca next door which belongs to the hotel but looks like a quite separate operation : Food and wines quite OK (excellent pizzas ) , that is not the issue , but staff particularly unpleasant if not plain rude , actually the worse we had to deal with in any eating spot during our stay in Rome . I do not know what is their problem but for sure a most antipatico lot ! One exception was a young man/waiter from Albanian origin who redeemed the rather unpleasant behavior of his colleagues .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Theodore d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear from you that your stay was pleasent and enjoyiable and that our staff helped you to make your stay even better. Is very important for us hearing that our guests had a wonderful time in Rome and we are willing to give our best in every occasion.

Regarding your experience at the restaurant Brillo Parlante, we apologize you couldn't enjoy the service. Our restaurant is famous also for its friendly staff but we are extremely sorry that didn't happen to you and we'll make sure it won't happen a second time.

We really hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

i stayed 5 nights , wonderful location in rome; very close to the very wonderful ancient down town walking distance from great attractions in rome. very clean, classy and elegant. very friendly team working there , the front desk is always have a very good friendly ENGLISH speaker for all the non italians out there, the roof has this roof bar, you get to have breakfast there and its amazing view very relaxing. piano bar also is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank omowafak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are glad your stay with us was nice and pleasant and that our was professional and courteous. We can proudly say that the restaurant on the top and our practical location are our main straightness. Our main aim is to make every guest’s stay in Rome an unforgettable experience.

Hoping to see you soon

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#140 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,373 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza di Ripetta
Residenza di Ripetta
#332 of 1,287 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#253 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#171 of 1,287 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valadier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valadier

Property: Hotel Valadier
Address: Via della Fontanella 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Rome
#120 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#209 Family Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valadier 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic heart of Rome, behind Piazza del Popolo and at a stone's throw from Piazza di Spagna, the Hotel Valadier is a charming intimate and refined 4-star hotel. The Hotel occupies an ancient Roman palazzo and has undergone recent major refurbishment to provide all the facilities you would expect to find in a modern hotel, albeit not at the expense of its character and period features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Valadier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valadier Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing