We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valadier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Valadier
Ranked #240 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location - Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Staff is very friendly. The breakfast on the roof top lounge is great!!! Probably the best breakfast we had in Italy. The hotel is well maintained and comfortable. Located right off of Via del Corso, Piazza del Popolo, and the Metro station. The rooms were a good size and quiet. The AC worked well and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisanne10n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are grateful to hear from you that the service and the staff helped to make your stay in Rome pleasant and enjoyable and that our facilities were efficient and functional.

Hoping to see you again.

Flavia
Guest Relation
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    344
    131
    66
    48
See reviews for
187
358
33
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed at the Valadier early April. The Hotel is clean, well maintained and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast at the rooftop lounge was excellent! With very nice ambiance and food. Also great to have a few drinks in the early evening or a smoke. The hotel will give you discount for dinner and drinks.

The hotel is within a minute of Piazza Poppolo and very near the Spanish Steps...literally walked everywhere from the Hotel.

Room was very nice, comfortable, TV and a nice size bathroom. Bed was good and our room had a fairly sized closet to put away our things.

Would certainly recommend this hotel and stay there again. Cant wait to go back to Rome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfredo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We really appreciate your positive comment and we are glad you found the hotel’ location and facilities practical and efficient and that our staff was friendly and professional; the amenities like TV, for example, have been recently replaced with new ones in almost all of the room.

We can’t wait to welcoming you again here in Rome at Hotel Valadier.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is situated near all major attractions of Rome with short walking distance(for Europeans). For shoppers, the Via del Corso and streets near by is the right place to be. If you want to use the public transportation, the metro station behind piazza del Popolo is near by. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpfull. The size of the rooms is typical for any old town hotel in Europe = small, but hey, it's only a place to sleep. The breakfast is great and served at beautiful roof top terrace. We got quiet room, by just asking for it. The problem is people slamming doors. They really close with a bang :) Anyways, me and my wife enjoyed our stay at great Hotel Valadier. Not really a four star hotel, but close to it. :)

Room Tip: Just ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFage68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comment.

As you said our hotel is centrally located; there is every kind of public transportation around and the access is very easy for all of them; however, if there is any doubt, our qualified staff would be more than happy to help you indicating the best direction. The streets that surround the hotel are full of famous shops that contribute to create this magic atmosphere that only Rome has.

Hoping to see you again here in Rome very soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relation
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is in a very busy, touristy section of Rome. If you want to be in the action, then it is a great place to stay. Be warned, though, the rooms are small (by American standards), and it is noisy at night. Bring ear plugs! Also, not all the doors close properly to the rooms, so you might have to really slam the door, which is awkward at 7am on a Sunday. One day the maid service left the door ajar, and anyone could have come in and robbed us. Ugh. Also, we didn't get the room we were promised - we were guaranteed two single beds and got a queen instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We apologize for the inconvenient and for the issues you faced during your stay with us; unfortunately we can’t really avoid the noises coming from the street since the hotel is located in the very city centre and well connected with public transportations. However, thanks to your report we’ll be able to sort out the problems you met improving our service and facilities.

We hope next time your stay with us will be more enjoyable and we are looking forward to see you again very soon here in Rome.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Deciding to bite the bullet and cancel my first reservation for a nice property but considerably further out, I chose the Hotel Valadier from past reviews. Thank you Trip Advisor and posters.

Excellent Location. Excellent Breakfast on beautiful rooftop terrace. Pleasant staff, European style rooms, very clean, good hot water & pressure. Rooftop cocktails a bit expensive and evening menu was also expensive.

Close to many sites to walk. Metro stop right there but NOT for suitcases; use a cab from station. Great pizza/caffetteria around the corner for good food and beverages.

Would strongly recommend and will return on next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: We did not choose an expensive room and ours was near the lift which could be heard but we toured so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LRSkier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment.

We are glad that your stay was good and that you enjoyed every facility of our hotel. The staff has been more than happy to assist you during your stay here at Hotel Valadier.

Hoping to see you soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relation
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've been to Rome 6 times and the last four have been at the Valadier. You honestly cannot beat the location being within walking distance of virtually all the sites including Piazza Di Spagna, Villa Borghese, Il Foro Romano, Fontana Di Trevi, et al. You are essentially on Piazza del Popolo which, in my opinion, contains one of the best restaurants in all of Rome (Dal Bolognese). The hotel itself is very boutique and warm in nature with a cozy lobby and reception area. The rooms are well appointed and very European. This is in sharp contrast to the rooftop restaurant/lounge which is chic and ultra modern, a great place to finish off your evening. Breakfast buffet is excellent and the cappucini are supreme. Take an evening passagiatta down Via del Corso and enjoy a gelato at the endless shops that offer it. Truly a great hotel if you are into boutiques. Infinite recommendation!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high level with a terrace. Shouldn't cost any extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlvassallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

Is very pleasant hearing from you that your stay was great every time and we are proud to be partner of every trip to Rome of yours for the last four times. Making your stay unforgettable is our main goal, things that our staff works out everyday with passion.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

hotel has a good location but reception staff were not particularly helpful, WIFI did not work, the hot water was tepid at best, it was noisy in the morning, banging doors, early cleaning and talking made a lie in impossible and you need to really ask if you want two beds as they are all doubles. Positive things - bar staff on top floor very helpful, nice bar/lounge area on top

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn68P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.

We apologize you couldn’t feel totally at home with us at all the time but thanks to your report we’ll be able to sort out the issues you faced during your stay with us. The tepid water and the noises were due to the renovations in some of the room during that period.
We are glad you found the rooftop restaurant a nice place and that the staff was professional.

Hoping to see you again in Rome

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relation
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#141 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#270 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Residenza di Ripetta
Residenza di Ripetta
#364 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valadier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valadier

Property: Hotel Valadier
Address: Via della Fontanella 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Rome
#133 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#207 Family Hotel in Rome
#228 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valadier 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic heart of Rome, behind Piazza del Popolo and at a stone's throw from Piazza di Spagna, the Hotel Valadier is a charming intimate and refined 4-star hotel. The Hotel occupies an ancient Roman palazzo and has undergone recent major refurbishment to provide all the facilities you would expect to find in a modern hotel, albeit not at the expense of its character and period features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Valadier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valadier Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing