We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Rome”
Review of Hotel Valadier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Valadier
Ranked #247 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Mrs K & I visited Rome for the first time & absolutely loved it! Our friends recommended this Hotel & we were not dissapointed! The Hotel itself is in a fantastic location & from here we walked around the corner to the Spanish Steps & the Trevi fountain. We also walked about 25 mins to the Colisseum & about 30 mins to the Sistine Chapel. I guess what I am saying is the Hotel is in a fab place surrounded by fab bars & restaurants & with the main attractions within walking distance.
The Hotel has a classic look with lots of natural wood & marble walls on the outside of the lift from basement to the rooftop bar & terrace. The restaurant on the roof was amazing & I think it was called "Hi Res" with fab food & great views across the City serving creative Cocktails!
The Hotel Team were great, looked after us, spoke good English & were extremely personable!
On our return we would definitely rebook this hotel

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had mirrored ceilings, a dressing room, wardrobes in the hallway & an en s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on Tripadvisor and for your positive comments about your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in Rome and we are very pleased to read that you appreciated our hotel, the location and the courtesy and the professionality of the staff. As you mentioned, the hotel is located at a stone’s throw from the symbolic monuments and exclusive boutiques of the city centre, between Piazza di Spagna and Piazza del Popolo, the hotel’s location allows the guests to easily reach any attraction in the city comfortably on foot: museums, shops, bars, restaurants, theatres and night clubs.
Looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Valadier
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having visited Rome multiple times a year, this hotel is one of the best, a real shame we only just discovered it! The hotel is situated in the heart of Rome, close to Roma's main attractions.
We spent lovely evenings on the rooftop in the Hotels Resturant; Hires, an elegant and yet modern place with a great vibe and good quality food. We sampled their beautiful food and large choice of delicious cocktails. Even if your not staying at the hotel, the Resturant and bar is worth a visit!
They do a lovely Sunday brunch with a wide range of choices, some of my favourites being the fresh fish dishes!

The staff were amazing throughout our stay and we will deffinatly be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ep461623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel, and especially for your wonderful comments. We are glad you enjoyed our location, our services and the events that we organize to make the stay of our clients as memorable and comfortable as possible, as the Sunday Brunch, featuring our exclusive recipes on the enchanting terrace on the sixth floor of the Hotel.
We will be glad to welcome you once again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was a little worried by the varied reviews for this hotel, but we had a pleasant experience. Location is good, a quiet street but walking distance of all sites.
Staff were not very friendly, just ok, didn't say hello when walking past reception unless I spoke first, breakfast staff were very friendly.
We booked a standard room, but when we saw it, it was too claustrophobic and dark, and the bathroom was tiny, so we upgraded our room, which turned out to be lovely, in a traditional style, with a beautiful marble bathroom.
Breakfast buffet was excellent, in an amazing setting on the rooftop overlooking the city.
I would stay again, but only in an upgraded room.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard room, much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Client,
Thank you for your kind review. We are sorry for the problems you encountered with the first room, but we are glad that the staff was able to satisfy all your expectations regarding your accomodation.
We are glad to read your positive comments about our services and our location and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Valadier.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room was quite large, by Rome standards. Hotel is nicely decorated and furnished. Room and bath were absolutely lovely. Breakfast could be better-cold quiche-like things were not edible. Hard to find much that was really appetizing. Undercooked bacon and juicy scrambled eggs are not my thing. Good coffee though! Pleasant, efficient staff. Great location-on a quieter street but close to so much!

Room Tip: We booked a superior room and it was quite spacious and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doreen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear client,
We want to thank for your positive comments about our services, our location and our staff and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Valadier!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel was most unusual. If you like dark mirrors, and dark places.. then certainly book this
hotel. The interior was small and dark, we felt like we were on a cruise ship with small corridors
and tight spaces. I found the front desk staff to be curt and rude, never wanting to give that little
bit of extra information that you were asking for. They were very rushed each time we asked them
questions regarding restaurants,directions,etc. If you are traveling alone, the single room is fine, if you are two, forget it, the room was so so small you can not get around the bed. The rooms are very dark.
in keeping with the atmosphere of hotel. The bathrooms were new however and very nice. They have
a beautiful roof top , where you can have breakfast, very nice view. Overall, I would definetly not
go back to this weird hotel ever.... A great location, but too strange for me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Client,
We thank you for the time you’ve taken to write a review about our hotel.
We regret deeply that we were not able to satisfy your needs and we are very sorry to read your negative comments about the staff, your remarks will help us to do better. Usually, as you can see from the others reviews, the hotel receives compliments on the kindness and politeness of the staff, so we deeply apologize for this inconvenience that certainly will not repeat any more. Regarding the style of the hotel, we would like to point out that on our website, and on all the major booking portals, there are a lot of photos of the hotel and of the rooms, so we believe, that customers have a lot of materials to valuate if the style is to their liking, before to make a reservation.
Thank you for your kind comments about our roof top and our location and we will be very looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I really loved this hotel. I stayed in a double room on the fourth floor which was very nice. The room was larger than I was expected so this was a nice surprise! The bath looked deceptively small - it was actually very comfortable and a good size.
The location is what makes this hotel sensational - walking distance to everything, especially the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain.
Definitely eat at the restaurant downstairs (owned by hotel) - Il Brillo Parlante - I thought it was fantastic. The gnocchi and pizzas were terrific. Try to get a table outside.
Hotel staff were fantastic and very helpful with organising tours.
The only odd thing that made me laugh was the giant mirror on the roof above my bed! What a shame I was travelling solo!!

Room Tip: My room was on the fourth floor and very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank misscoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your review and for recommending us!
We are very glad you had such a great stay with us. This was our main goal.
We hope to see you soon again at Hotel Valadier!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My family needed to refresh our under garments and some tee shirts, so we used the hotel laundry service for what amounted to maybe 3 or 4lbs of clothing to be washed.Our bill for that service at checkout was over 150euros. What a ripoff. The hotel clerk never alerted us to the amount their out of premise service charges for their service and they didn't seem to be sympathic to the grossly overcharged amount. We could have purchased all new things for one fifth of the cost. If a hotel is suppose to take care of their guest while they are in their care, this one missed the mark and was only out for the money. Rome is expensive enough to tourist, don't compound this by subjecting your guests to this abuse for a few extra euros.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hortperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Client,
Let us start by thanking you for leaving a review. All the comments from our guests help us to become a better establishment. We are sorry you experienced inconveniences during your stay, however, we would like to point out that what happened wasn't absolutly a "ripoff", as the prices of the laundry express service are clearly indicated in a price list available in all the rooms, including the extra of 30% for delivery within 7 pm of the same day, the option that you have chosen!
The last thing we would want is an unhappy guest, so we hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you the quality and serious service we are known for.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#154 of 1,270 in Rome
1,615 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#351 of 1,270 in Rome
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,270 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza di Ripetta
Residenza di Ripetta
#365 of 1,270 in Rome
653 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#160 of 1,270 in Rome
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valadier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valadier

Address: Via della Fontanella 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Rome
#144 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#228 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $115 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valadier 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic heart of Rome, behind Piazza del Popolo and at a stone's throw from Piazza di Spagna, the Hotel Valadier is a charming intimate and refined 4-star hotel. The Hotel occupies an ancient Roman palazzo and has undergone recent major refurbishment to provide all the facilities you would expect to find in a modern hotel, albeit not at the expense of its character and period features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valadier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valadier Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing