We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good-sized rooms.”
Review of Hotel Valadier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Valadier
Ranked #267 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Located in a great area of Rome close to lots of great shopping, tourist attractions, etc. The rooms were good-sized, especially for European standards and had a nice, big bathroom. The breakfast was very good and in a lovely setting on the room. After I flew into Rome, the airlines lost my bags and the man at the front desk of the hotel, Fabrizio, worked hard to help me find them as I had a lot of issues with the airline.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinion and your experience in our hotel, and we are delighted that you had a great time. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the location, our services and our friendly receptionists.
Each member of the staff works very hard to assure to every guest the best service possible.
Looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Valadier
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 999 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with my wife, the location is excellent, we could walk to all the major attractions in Rome without to much effort. The decor in the hotel is a little unusual, all black, chrome and mirrors not to everyones taste but we liked it
The standard rooms are small but so well designed the space is very cleverly used, a bit like a room on a cruise ship, and when you are in Rome how much time do you want to spend in your room?
The breakfast on the rooftop terrce is excellent with plenty of choice and is available until 10.30am so you can have a lie in if you like. We found all the staff to be friendly but unobtrusive, they were always available but were not constantly bothering you.
One complaint we had and a word of warning to future guests was about the prices of the drinks in the piano bar, we had a drink in the piano bar during the early evening and paid 5 euros for a small beer and 8 euros for a glass of wine, expensive but not unusual prices in Rome. We returned to the piano bar in the evening at around 10pm to have a night cap, after about half an hour a gentleman started to play the piano and sing and the bar started to fill up,the atmosphere was great so we decided to stay for a few more drinks, when we finally got the bill we nearly died, it was 120 Euros, I had been charged for one beer at 5 euros and the rest were charged at 15 euros!!! The wine had doubled in price and a Coke had cost 15 Euros!!!. When I questioned this I was told that the prices changed when the nights entertainment began and we had been charged for one round of drinks at the day rate and the rest at the night rate. This was not explained to us and there were no drinks menus on the tables, I felt this price hike is a bit underhand and people should be told by the waiting staff about the increase in price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Client,
Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review on TripAdvisor and for your positive comments about your stay in our Hotel.
We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the location, the rooms, the breakfast and the kindness of our staff. While, we are very sorry for the inconvenience you have had in our piano bar, but we assure you that we always provide the menu with all the prices and we are very sorry that you have not had the possibility to consult it!
Looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Valadier.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our room was very roomy, clean, but noisy. There was banging on the walls until 1am and started again at 5am. Sounded like cleaning in the basement or kitchen area. We didn’t have a very good night sleep because of that. Great customer service. Breakfast was on the roof top of the hotel, plenty of food choices. Not sure if I would stay there again because of the noise. Great location, just a couple of blocks away from the Spanish steps. The Residenza Di Ripetta hotel was much quieter and would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianamanzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
Let us start by thanking you for leaving a review and for your positive comments about our hotel.
Despite this, we regret deeply to read your negative comment about the noise you heard, your feedback is very important for us to prevent the recurrence of such situations.
However, we wish to inform you that our staff is always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible and we suggest you, for the next opportunity, to communicate any kind of problem to give us the possibility to remedy the situation, in this case we could you move to another quietest room.
Looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Valadier
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was the beginning of a family vacation with 3 grown children for four nights that was everything it was billed to be and a great location in the city. The breakfast on the roof top cafe was outstanding and the drinks at night even better. The bar tenders were friendly and engaging. The piano bar was comfortable, fun and relaxing. The staff was really helpful assisting me to get a ride to L'Aquilla to visit family on a busy Easter weekend which ended up being amazing. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are noisy in early AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear client,
We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion and your experience in our hotel, and we are delighted that you had a great time with us.
It is our constant aim to make the stay of our clients as memorable and comfortable as possible, so we are so happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We will be glad to welcome you once again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

stayed at hotel valadier for 3 nights .the hotel is in an excellent position for metro station and is within easy walking distance for all abilities of all the major attractions.stayed in room 312,quite possibly the most comfortable bed i have slept in on holiday,air con fantastic and not disturbed by any outside noise.had dinner at il brillo onenight,alovely 3course meal for 2 with wine for 8o euros.breakfast was taken on the roof terrace ,which was very good and attended by very helpfull waitresses.finally thank you to giovanni and marco for the superb cocktails we tried every night at the rooftop bar,a pretty cool place to chiil-out at night. all in all a great choice to stay at when in rome.will probably be back next year with the kids.thank you to all at hotel valadier.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear client,
We would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinion and your experience in our hotel, and we are delighted that you had a great time. We will pass your positive comments to all our staff. Comments such as these are truly motivating and encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide attentive service.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is truly a great find. The hotel is located within a few minutes walk of all of the major sites. The hotel has a lot of interesting architectural details - not just a box - this place has character.

After reading reviews about the small "classic" rooms, we opted for a superior double and were very happy with the exception that there was very little closet and/or drawer space. Our bath was large with beautiful marble finishings and nice toiletries

I have been to Rome many times and have stayed in several different hotels. This hotel offers a great location, nice clean accommodations, and friendly service at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room if you are a light sleeper. There is noise around the businesses in the ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smarkow314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel, and especially for your wonderful comments. It is our constant aim to make your stay as memorable and comfortable as possible, so we are so happy to know how much you enjoyed stay with us. The kind words of appreciation were sent to staff.
We will be glad to welcome you once again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here 3 rooms for 7 people. every room was different and everyone was nice.
The breakfast was included and was very good and fresh. The lobby bar was nice, the rooftop bar was a little pricey but the atmosphere might have made it worth while.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captmark20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed staying at the Hotel Valadier.
We are happy you enjoyed our services and Thank you once more for recommending our Hotel to other travellers on Tripadvisor.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#157 of 1,271 in Rome
1,611 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
480 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Residenza di Ripetta
Residenza di Ripetta
#373 of 1,271 in Rome
650 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#339 of 1,271 in Rome
493 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valadier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valadier

Address: Via della Fontanella 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Rome
#148 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#207 Family Hotel in Rome
#228 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $115 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valadier 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic heart of Rome, behind Piazza del Popolo and at a stone's throw from Piazza di Spagna, the Hotel Valadier is a charming intimate and refined 4-star hotel. The Hotel occupies an ancient Roman palazzo and has undergone recent major refurbishment to provide all the facilities you would expect to find in a modern hotel, albeit not at the expense of its character and period features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valadier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valadier Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing