We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to live History then stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ranked #287 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
620 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
“Want to live History then stay there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Ambasciatori is a memory lane Great Gasby ear style of hotel, from the entrance to the décor all over including the rooms and hall ways. The service is not what it should be, for what they charge. Location is the reason, most probably being on famous Via Veneto. Which is central but there is nothing on it except a few hotels and lovely homes in old palaces. The walls styles on the street do give you the history of the town and a good impression, if you are into that kind of historical sites. The Hotel is not something to brag home about but if you are stuck and cannot find a better place and are willing to pay those steep prices without getting in return what you deserve and are dying for the high ceilings and living part of history then be it. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Never take a room leading to main street as the windows are not well sealed and therefore the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHA12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Sherif,

we would like to thank you for choosing Ambasciatori Palace during your visit to Rome last May.
We regret to read about your feeling, but please note that something in the hotels is going to change.

The historical lane of via Veneto is a landmark and is the reason why mostly of people wants to stay here, is not only ancient building, it represent the history of the city

I hope that you will reconsider your decision by giving us another opportunity and honoring us again with a new visit.

Kind regards,

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    317
    186
    86
    35
See reviews for
174
412
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I booked a suite here for 5 nights from booking.com. The location is great, the staff are lovely and very helpful and the hotel is beautiful in parts.

However, it is certainly not perfect. There is no Wi-fi in the upper floors where our suite was located. But there are data points. I took a taxi up to the Apple Store and back for 90 euros to buy an apple data point adapter. However, the internet data points in our suite didn't work anyway. I sent for the hotel's IT man. He told me the the wifi system and the data points didn't work with Apple Mac systems. I don't think he was giving me the full story, I think they were just malfunctioning and he was two afraid to mention it. There are two PCs in a business centre area which were available but, very, very slow. The business centre area is really grim. I felt like buying a can of paint and cheering it up myself.

There is a very noisy disco across the road - really noisy - which meant we had to move from our top floor suite to a superior room at the back on the second floor.

The second room was very nice. The wi-fi worked perfectly, which felt like a bonus. The staff were excellent in helping to accommodate out need to move but it was still an inconvenience and meant a very stressful first night with no sleep. It is not the hotel's fault that other nearby businesses are so thoughtless. The duty manager and reception manager bent over backwards for us.

The rooms are lovely but the service in the rooms could be much improved. Hospitality trays are a must for me. I like a cup of tea when I come back from a day's sightseeing. The mini-bar isn't brilliantly stocked and didn't have vodka, gin etc or even fresh juices. Most 4 star hotels offer complimentary newspapers in different languages but not here. It's the little extras like fruit, cookies etc which give a hotel an edge for me. There's a very limited TV service and no movie channels to download which is something I enjoy late at night to help me sleep. Cleanliness is excellent but there are no 'do not disturb' sign so the cleaners will be knocking (and if you are in the shower and don't hear them knocking, they'll soon find you)

Breakfast was very good. A massive choice and completely unrushed. I actually looked forward to it as I went to bed at night.

All in all, this is a mixed bag of a hotel. The noise is a problem which the staff try their best to resolve. There are some amazing operational staff and duty managers who seem very proud of their hotel but are being badly let down by the senior management/owners. It feels like this is a senior management team who have forgotten how to run a hotel and make their guests feel special. Pity.

Room Tip: If you are a noisy, party person who doesn't need the internet, go to the front of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmhzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing Ambasciatori Palace during your recent visit to Rome.

We are sorry to learn that your experience with us has not been as you expected and we will surely take into account all your comments about the service

We have really appreciated your kind words about the efficiency and courtesy of our staff and we will share your comments with all of them.

Nevertheless I am sorry if the room was too noisy, and if you wish to send us a private email we will make sure that at your next stay we will assign you a quieter room

We are going to improve the internet connection on the 5th Floor in order to avoid any inconvenience.

I hope you will give us another opportunity with a return visit.

Kind regards
Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights
The hotel is more like a 3 star rather than 5 star.
The breakfast was not great experience, the service was excellen, but the food was poor! Avoid the scrambled egg at all costs!

The overall hotel was in a good location and a good last minuite find, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig0austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Craig,

Thank you for choosing the Ambasciatori Palace in Rome and for sharing a comment regarding your stay.

We regret to read about your breakfast experience, everyday we do our best to offer to our Guests fresh products and homemade cakes

I hope that you will reconsider your decision by giving us another opportunity and honoring us again with a new visit.

Kind regards,

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights at ths hotel. Staff were excellent. The building is fine and ellegant. Very clean and nice decore room comfortable and good size. 4 star rooms in otherwise 5 star hotel. Breakfast amazing. Will stay here again when visiting rome

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Michael,

We would like to thank you for choosing Ambasciatori Palace during your recent visit to Rome and for sharing a review on TripAdvisor.

We are so glad to read that you have appreciated our breakfast with homemade pastries and other Italian sweets.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another experience beyond expectations.

Warm regards,

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on October 2012. 1st impression when I entered the hotel... I was like... wow.... classy and very Italy. I felt like I have entered a Royal house. A little old fashion but classy. Checked in the hotel and got to know I was being upgraded to a suit room. Another big wow!! When I saw the toilet, I immediately felt in love with the toilet. No.. it was toilets because my room comes with 2 toilets. Very comfy, very stylish and a complete toilet that I have ever seen. Whatever you need, it's there. I especially like their amenities, it is made in Italy and it's Paraben free!

This hotel provides free internet. However, the internet speed was so slow and it was only 2 PCs available. However, it compared to the rest of the Italy hotels that I have stayed during that period of time, this hotel so far provides the best internet facility.

Good location as hotel is situated in the city center. Many eateries within walking distance. Hard Rock just next to it and you could drink till you drop and no worry about the journey back to hotel, as you could just walk 10 steps to reach your hotel. Big thumb up if you like clubbing.

Breakfast time was the most enjoyable moment for me, the whole environment was so cozy. You can choose either sit inside or outside at the balcony. Especially during Spring and Autumn, sipping a cup of Italy coffee/wide selection of Italian teas, with some fresh & healthy breads, good selection of jams and spreads. Arrhh... what a life. That was the most wonderful moment I had in Italy. Relax and relaxxxxxx. If the waitress and waiter could smile a little more, that will be perfect. Overall, my stays in Ambasciatori Palace Hotel is unforgettable and memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eunice2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Ambasciatori Palace during your visit to Rome and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have appreciated the beauty of our property and that you loved the wide selection of our buffet breakfast

It is a pleasure for us to achieve our guest’s satisfaction!

Looking forward to your return visit for living unforgettable experience again!


Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I booked through last minute.com under the top secret hotel and I have to say after reading the reviews on here I was unsure what to expect. However the hotel as ok. For people who say the decor is dated- I see their point, and I found some areas dirty, I did like the traditional feel to the hotel.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was nice, light and the staff were welcoming, despite other comments on here! The breakfast options were more than adequate: everything from cereal to rolls, croissants, yoghhurt, fruit, and even scrambled egg and bacon. I would not recommend the scrambled egg which had seperated and obviously had been sitting in the heated dish for some considerable time. There was no 'omlette bar' that you find in many hotels of this quality though you could have ordered one at astronomical cost. If you don't fancy the hotel breakfast walk up the road to the small cinema 'cafe' near the Villa Borghese....excellent coffee for 1euro....couldn't believe it.

The location of the hotel is very good. There are some excellent restaurants close by and most of Rome is walkable from here. We did not use the hotel restaurant. Overall, I was happy with this hotel and felt it was adequate for us and reasonable value for money. However, take care to avoid rooms fronting the Via Vittorio Veneto as revellers being ejected from The Hard Rock Cafe will wake you and then the all night buses, which seem to stop close by, will keep you awake.

Room Tip: avoid rooms fronting the Via Vittorio Veneto as revellers being ejected from The Hard Rock Cafe will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JERIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Jerih,

thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay and even if you booked the hotel through a top secret website we are so glad to read that you have appreciated our property and the central location.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another experience

Kind regards

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have just got back from 2 nights staying here- I booked through last minute.com under the top secret hotel and I have to say after reading the reviews on here I was unsure what to expect.. However I absolutely loved the hotel! For people whp say the decor is dated- i see their point, but personally, I dont go to an ancient city like Rome to stay in a modern place, I liked the traditional, grand feel to the hotel.

The staff were really friendly and helpful from arrival, checking us into our room 4 hours before we were due, which was appreciated! I booked a Basic room, and from the pictures was not expecting much, however it was spacious enough, as was the bathroom. The Tv was small and old school and was pretty fuzzy, but that didnt bother us- we werent there to watch TV!

The breakfast room was nice, light and the staff were welcoming, despite other comments on here! The breakfast options were plentiful: everything from cereal to rolls, croissants, yoghhurt,fruit, and even scrambled egg and bacon. I would not howveer recommend what they try to pass off as sausages- when in fact they are round little balls that smell disgusting, and they resemble something that puts you right off your breakfast!!

The location of the hotel is good- bars and restaurants just down the road. There is also a stop a few minutes up the road for the tour buses- which I would definitely recommend getting; hop on hop off for 2 days was 48euro for 2 people, which was well worth it. It stops at all the main attractions, and the stop is so close to this hotel. We used 'Ciao Roma' tours.

Overall, I was incredibly happy with my choice of booking this hotel, and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Direttore vendite at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing Ambasciatori Palace during your recent visit to Rome and for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have appreciated the beauty of our historical property, the strategic location and that you loved the wide selection of our buffet breakfast.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another experience beyond expectations.

Warm regards,

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#234 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#281 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#104 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#61 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#135 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Esquilino
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambasciatori Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Palace Hotel

Property: Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 62, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#270 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ambasciatori Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star luxury for the Ambasciatori Palace in via Vittorio Veneto, an elegant window facing the Eternal City. In an enviable location, the hotel blends the magic of traditional hospitality with contemporary elegance. Known as 'Ambassadors' Palace', it was originally built in 1903 and it has been the location of international affairs between diplomats from the nearby Embassies and a witness to the excitement of the mundane 'Dolce Vita'. The restoration was made according to the original structure of the environment, and repeating and interpreting the existing decorations: the Brazilian granite columns and the intricate wrought-iron balustrade of the grand staircase, the marble floors and the polychromatic mosaic and the pleasant succession of stuccoes, the Venetian chandeliers and skylights. The welcoming and aristocratic atmosphere of the Ambasciatori Palace combines with exclusive services provided and a careful attention to technology and comfort. The 152 rooms are bright, spacious and finely furnished, decorated in soft colors and aristocratic textures. The new Ambassador Rooms are equipped with TouchControl devices to adjust temperature and lighting and MediaHub to connect the HD screen to the TV audio/video devices. Guests can use the Fitness Center, dine at the refined and elegant restaurant 'La Terrazza', renowned for its culinary fame since the 1920's, the Embassy Bar and Bistro corner and complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms and public areas. The privileged position of the Ambasciatori Palace, in the business district, makes the Hotel the ideal location for business trips, meetings , exhibitions , banquets and vernissage. The elegant business center includes several multipurpose rooms of different sizes, some with natural light and overlooking via Veneto. The main hall is housed in the ballroom. The Ambasciatori Palace is the ideal place for an unforgettable stay among the most legendary historical-artistic monuments and the elegant shopping streets of Rome. A few steps from the Metropolitana Train (stop Barberini) allows a pleasant walk to the Fontana di Trevi, Piazza di Spagna, Piazza Navona and the main railway Station Termini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambasciatori Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Palace Rome
Hotel Ambasciatori Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing