We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ranked #296 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have just got back from 2 nights staying here- I booked through last minute.com under the top secret hotel and I have to say after reading the reviews on here I was unsure what to expect.. However I absolutely loved the hotel! For people whp say the decor is dated- i see their point, but personally, I dont go to an ancient city like Rome to stay in a modern place, I liked the traditional, grand feel to the hotel.

The staff were really friendly and helpful from arrival, checking us into our room 4 hours before we were due, which was appreciated! I booked a Basic room, and from the pictures was not expecting much, however it was spacious enough, as was the bathroom. The Tv was small and old school and was pretty fuzzy, but that didnt bother us- we werent there to watch TV!

The breakfast room was nice, light and the staff were welcoming, despite other comments on here! The breakfast options were plentiful: everything from cereal to rolls, croissants, yoghhurt,fruit, and even scrambled egg and bacon. I would not howveer recommend what they try to pass off as sausages- when in fact they are round little balls that smell disgusting, and they resemble something that puts you right off your breakfast!!

The location of the hotel is good- bars and restaurants just down the road. There is also a stop a few minutes up the road for the tour buses- which I would definitely recommend getting; hop on hop off for 2 days was 48euro for 2 people, which was well worth it. It stops at all the main attractions, and the stop is so close to this hotel. We used 'Ciao Roma' tours.

Overall, I was incredibly happy with my choice of booking this hotel, and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Direttore vendite at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing Ambasciatori Palace during your recent visit to Rome and for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have appreciated the beauty of our historical property, the strategic location and that you loved the wide selection of our buffet breakfast.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another experience beyond expectations.

Warm regards,

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    315
    186
    86
    35
See reviews for
173
412
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Advertised as a 5 star hotel it's a bit more like 3 stars although set in a fantastic location, ideal for seeing the majority of Rome by foot. On the Dolce Vita, surrounded by bars and restaurants you don't have to go far for good food and something to drink. The rooms are comfortable enough although the inside rooms can be noisy if over the a/c plant. The staff are mainly very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is adequate although I would not take any other meal there because the food is not great and depending which shift is on, some of the management/supervisors were incredibly good fun, helpful and friendly whereas others seemed the extreme opposite and that had an effect on the ambience overall. The bathrooms are the best feature of the room, with good space, fixtures and fittings whereas the décor and furniture, by contrast, are dated and worn. The fitness suite is minimalistic in the extreme. Impressive lobby and first part of the staircase.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside, despite street noise, are quieter than inside over the a/c in the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STRAYCELT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Direttore vendite at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Ambasciatori Palace during your visit to Rome and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay

We are so glad to read that you have appreciated our property such as the lobby and the staircase, and that you had a great time on the Dolce Vita way.

I wish you will experience our hotel’s hospitality again in the future.

Kind regards

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Dont even expect a 4 stars, Its dated, location not great but works if u are willing to walk, but for the price what else can u expect, anyway i dont understand how a hotel like this can have 5 stars!
Tip: avoid the breakfast at the hotel hosted by what appears to be a former police officer that makes u feel like u own the guy something, treating everybody the worst.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travlads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We are very sorry to read your comment! Any criticism, opinion or suggestion of our guests is very important for us because it helps us to improve our service.
The Ambasciatori Palace is a nearly nineteenth-century building, famous for its charm. We are sorry to read that you aren’t satisfied of your stay. The hotel’s interior combines columns of Brazilian granite with the finest marble flooring, and its ceiling panels, capitals, cornices and arches bring out its classical beauty. The Hotel is decorated in an Aristocratic style, with period furnishings and luxury interior design.
At the Royal breakfast our guest can enjoy a freshly squeezed juice of orange, grapefruit or pineapple or a bio drink of tomato, carrot or prune from our extended selection. At least 5 kinds of cut fruit in season in addition to the ones in syrup. Plain and fruit flavoured yogurt smoothies and tantalising variety of jam, marmalade and compote: old favourites plus new and original such as Morello cherry and Bitter orange. You will be spoiled on choice of oven baked products like muffins, plum cakes, bread, bagels and of course Danish pastry and croissants.

Cold cuts, mature cheese and our best offer of dairy ricotta and mozzarella served with home made focaccia. To please our international clientele our hot corner offers Chef’s omelettes, fried and scrambled eggs, hash brown, bacon and sausages. Keeping in mind dietary and healthy requests we included vegetarian, vegan and gluten free products.
We want our guests to spend a wonderful holiday in the values of the old style.
We hope that you come back to us so that you can see that our quality standards are of a 5 star hotel.
Best regards
Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in Rome earlier this month and our stay at this hotel.The concierge was very helpful in planning our sightseeing and the staff in general were very Pleasant. Our room was very dated and lacked many features found in most good hotels today. The decor was 80's. the paintwork and facilities were tired, but , in fairness we had booked on a "deal" so we were not too concerned. It was clean and the breakfast was very good but bar prices are too expensive.It is central to some great restaurants,shops and metro so the city is very accessible. Loved Rome, enjoyed our stay, but have to say this hotel, while very nice, is not a 5* and is in need of freshening up....

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LM G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Visited this hotel weekend of 7th December. It's really close to the metro and the location is prime and within easy walking distance of the Spanish steps and the pantheon.
We were warmly greeted by the reception staff. We stayed in room 126. Room was ok, bit tired and could do with some tlc. The room was overlooking the main road and we had a small balcony in the bathroom. The bathroom was of a good size. Bed was comfy and both nights we had 2 chocolates left. On the 2nd night I went to run a bath but there was no water at all in the hotel. It came back on about 40 mins later. When it did come back on the water was brown so in the end gave up on having a bath or shower.
Had a drink in the bar ..... Expensive!!! Guy behind the bar was friendly though.
Breakfast was good and offered a great choice.
Overall I would summarise and say it was OK but no way a 5* hotel and would not be by uk standards. If your looking for a prime location it's spot on but if your looking for luxury then this will not fit the bill.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear guest,
we are very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay.
In the period that you mentioned there were a black-out which involved many city blocks.
Many drawbacks were caused by this balck-out such as lack of water. The pumps that push water to the upper floors were disabled.
We're sorry and we hope to see you soon at Ambasciatori Palace.
Best regards
Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I will certainly rate this hotel a 3 star and thus being generous due to its location. Firstly all interior needs updating. Our bedroom walls were very dirty with stain marks and the bed was very uncomfortable to sleep on. The furniture itself its something from the 70s if not 60s I'm sure its more than a decade since they did some renovations or decorations. The corridors were boiling and it was the same with the room as the air con was not working at all. The bar area is just as terrible and depressing as the hotel itself. On our first night we could not sleep at all because of the noise on the street, the following day we had to ask for another room.
On a good note though the hotel is located in a great location within easy reach of most attractions by foot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwehlule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We are very sorry to read your comment! Any criticism, opinion or suggestion of our guests is very important for us because it helps us to improve our service.
The Ambasciatori Palace is a nearly nineteenth-century building, famous for its charm. We are sorry to read that you aren’t satisfied of your stay and that you didn't like the hotel. The hotel’s interior combines columns of Brazilian granite with the finest marble flooring, and its ceiling panels, capitals, cornices and arches bring out its classical beauty. The Hotel is decorated in an Aristocratic style, with period furnishings and luxury interior design.
Furthermore, we would like to point out that we are refurbish our rooms. We are pleased to inform you and users of Trip Advisor that many rooms are being renovated and at the beginning of 2013 they will be ready. We want our guests to spend a wonderful holiday in the values of the old style. Sorry for any inconvenience encountered during your holiday. We hope that you come back to us so that you can see that our quality standards are of a 5 star hotel.
We hope to see you soon in order to show you our renovated rooms.
Thank you for your comment

Best regards
Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is a real item of the modern literary history.
The inimitable Ian Fleming described the hotel in his
book of stories "For your eyes only".
So now 50 years after you can imagine that you
are James Bond and your woman are the beautiful Lizl Baum.
The location of the hotel is perfect. The staff was impeccable.
The room was servicing 2 times a day.
But the shower appliance requires the replacement.
The air conditioner was working too noisy. The outside
sound insulation is rotten.
However these are trifles in comparing with possibility
to pretend to be JB. Common. Life gives you a chance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#224 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#280 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#107 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#61 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#137 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Esquilino
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambasciatori Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Palace Hotel

Property: Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 62, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#270 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ambasciatori Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star luxury for the Ambasciatori Palace in via Vittorio Veneto, an elegant window facing the Eternal City. In an enviable location, the hotel blends the magic of traditional hospitality with contemporary elegance. Known as 'Ambassadors' Palace', it was originally built in 1903 and it has been the location of international affairs between diplomats from the nearby Embassies and a witness to the excitement of the mundane 'Dolce Vita'. The restoration was made according to the original structure of the environment, and repeating and interpreting the existing decorations: the Brazilian granite columns and the intricate wrought-iron balustrade of the grand staircase, the marble floors and the polychromatic mosaic and the pleasant succession of stuccoes, the Venetian chandeliers and skylights. The welcoming and aristocratic atmosphere of the Ambasciatori Palace combines with exclusive services provided and a careful attention to technology and comfort. The 152 rooms are bright, spacious and finely furnished, decorated in soft colors and aristocratic textures. The new Ambassador Rooms are equipped with TouchControl devices to adjust temperature and lighting and MediaHub to connect the HD screen to the TV audio/video devices. Guests can use the Fitness Center, dine at the refined and elegant restaurant 'La Terrazza', renowned for its culinary fame since the 1920's, the Embassy Bar and Bistro corner and complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms and public areas. The privileged position of the Ambasciatori Palace, in the business district, makes the Hotel the ideal location for business trips, meetings , exhibitions , banquets and vernissage. The elegant business center includes several multipurpose rooms of different sizes, some with natural light and overlooking via Veneto. The main hall is housed in the ballroom. The Ambasciatori Palace is the ideal place for an unforgettable stay among the most legendary historical-artistic monuments and the elegant shopping streets of Rome. A few steps from the Metropolitana Train (stop Barberini) allows a pleasant walk to the Fontana di Trevi, Piazza di Spagna, Piazza Navona and the main railway Station Termini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambasciatori Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Palace Rome
Hotel Ambasciatori Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing