We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$384
$288
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$213
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$311
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$474
$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$244
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$193
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$320
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$181
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$409
$381
Autograph
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
$148
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (994)
Filter reviews
994 results
Traveler rating
307
354
202
90
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
354
202
90
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia venetothe hard rock cafespanish stepsamerican embassytrevi fountainbit datedroom was largethe hotel stafflocation is greatbreakfast was includedpastriesbreakfast roomvilla borghesestreet noisemetro stationmain attractionsheart of rome
Filter
Updating list...
417 - 422 of 994 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Dont even expect a 4 stars, Its dated, location not great but works if u are willing to walk, but for the price what else can u expect, anyway i dont understand how a hotel like this can have 5 stars!
Tip: avoid the breakfast at the hotel hosted by what appears to be a former police officer that makes u feel like u own the guy something, treating everybody the worst.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travlads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We are very sorry to read your comment! Any criticism, opinion or suggestion of our guests is very important for us because it helps us to improve our service.
The Ambasciatori Palace is a nearly nineteenth-century building, famous for its charm. We are sorry to read that you aren’t satisfied of your stay. The hotel’s interior combines columns of Brazilian granite with the finest marble flooring, and its ceiling panels, capitals, cornices and arches bring out its classical beauty. The Hotel is decorated in an Aristocratic style, with period furnishings and luxury interior design.
At the Royal breakfast our guest can enjoy a freshly squeezed juice of orange, grapefruit or pineapple or a bio drink of tomato, carrot or prune from our extended selection. At least 5 kinds of cut fruit in season in addition to the ones in syrup. Plain and fruit flavoured yogurt smoothies and tantalising variety of jam, marmalade and compote: old favourites plus new and original such as Morello cherry and Bitter orange. You will be spoiled on choice of oven baked products like muffins, plum cakes, bread, bagels and of course Danish pastry and croissants.

Cold cuts, mature cheese and our best offer of dairy ricotta and mozzarella served with home made focaccia. To please our international clientele our hot corner offers Chef’s omelettes, fried and scrambled eggs, hash brown, bacon and sausages. Keeping in mind dietary and healthy requests we included vegetarian, vegan and gluten free products.
We want our guests to spend a wonderful holiday in the values of the old style.
We hope that you come back to us so that you can see that our quality standards are of a 5 star hotel.
Best regards
Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Rome earlier this month and our stay at this hotel.The concierge was very helpful in planning our sightseeing and the staff in general were very Pleasant. Our room was very dated and lacked many features found in most good hotels today. The decor was 80's. the paintwork and facilities were tired, but , in fairness we had booked on a "deal" so we were not too concerned. It was clean and the breakfast was very good but bar prices are too expensive.It is central to some great restaurants,shops and metro so the city is very accessible. Loved Rome, enjoyed our stay, but have to say this hotel, while very nice, is not a 5* and is in need of freshening up....

Stayed: December 2012
3  Thank LM G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Visited this hotel weekend of 7th December. It's really close to the metro and the location is prime and within easy walking distance of the Spanish steps and the pantheon.
We were warmly greeted by the reception staff. We stayed in room 126. Room was ok, bit tired and could do with some tlc. The room was overlooking the main road and we had a small balcony in the bathroom. The bathroom was of a good size. Bed was comfy and both nights we had 2 chocolates left. On the 2nd night I went to run a bath but there was no water at all in the hotel. It came back on about 40 mins later. When it did come back on the water was brown so in the end gave up on having a bath or shower.
Had a drink in the bar ..... Expensive!!! Guy behind the bar was friendly though.
Breakfast was good and offered a great choice.
Overall I would summarise and say it was OK but no way a 5* hotel and would not be by uk standards. If your looking for a prime location it's spot on but if your looking for luxury then this will not fit the bill.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear guest,
we are very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay.
In the period that you mentioned there were a black-out which involved many city blocks.
Many drawbacks were caused by this balck-out such as lack of water. The pumps that push water to the upper floors were disabled.
We're sorry and we hope to see you soon at Ambasciatori Palace.
Best regards
Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I will certainly rate this hotel a 3 star and thus being generous due to its location. Firstly all interior needs updating. Our bedroom walls were very dirty with stain marks and the bed was very uncomfortable to sleep on. The furniture itself its something from the 70s if not 60s I'm sure its more than a decade since they did some renovations or decorations. The corridors were boiling and it was the same with the room as the air con was not working at all. The bar area is just as terrible and depressing as the hotel itself. On our first night we could not sleep at all because of the noise on the street, the following day we had to ask for another room.
On a good note though the hotel is located in a great location within easy reach of most attractions by foot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are quieter,
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwehlule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We are very sorry to read your comment! Any criticism, opinion or suggestion of our guests is very important for us because it helps us to improve our service.
The Ambasciatori Palace is a nearly nineteenth-century building, famous for its charm. We are sorry to read that you aren’t satisfied of your stay and that you didn't like the hotel. The hotel’s interior combines columns of Brazilian granite with the finest marble flooring, and its ceiling panels, capitals, cornices and arches bring out its classical beauty. The Hotel is decorated in an Aristocratic style, with period furnishings and luxury interior design.
Furthermore, we would like to point out that we are refurbish our rooms. We are pleased to inform you and users of Trip Advisor that many rooms are being renovated and at the beginning of 2013 they will be ready. We want our guests to spend a wonderful holiday in the values of the old style. Sorry for any inconvenience encountered during your holiday. We hope that you come back to us so that you can see that our quality standards are of a 5 star hotel.
We hope to see you soon in order to show you our renovated rooms.
Thank you for your comment

Best regards
Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is a real item of the modern literary history.
The inimitable Ian Fleming described the hotel in his
book of stories "For your eyes only".
So now 50 years after you can imagine that you
are James Bond and your woman are the beautiful Lizl Baum.
The location of the hotel is perfect. The staff was impeccable.
The room was servicing 2 times a day.
But the shower appliance requires the replacement.
The air conditioner was working too noisy. The outside
sound insulation is rotten.
However these are trifles in comparing with possibility
to pretend to be JB. Common. Life gives you a chance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews