We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Accademia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Accademia Hotel
Ranked #207 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel is in a brilliant location, right heart the Trevi Fountain and all the sights. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. There is free wi-if and an in-room safe. Breakfast is good. The rooms are very small and there is no view and no kettle. This is a clean, friendly, basic hotel in a perfect location. Don't come here if you want to recreate a fantasy from a movie about Rome. Come here if you need somewhere satisfactory to stay and keep in mind you will only need the room for sleeping. Got it?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenjwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear jenjwms,

We are pleased you took your time to share your impression about us.

Passing your feedback onto the team, we would like to inform you that we are equipping every room with new kettles. Even though our standard rooms are satisfactory to stay, if you are looking for a special experience, we do suggest reserving our Superior rooms with wooden beams ceiling with typical and romantic atmosphere.
Hoping to have the chance to welcoming you again,

Best regards,

Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    520
    238
    46
    30
See reviews for
316
520
38
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and i stayed at this hotel on March 2014 for 5 nights.Usually when we stay at Rome we book at White hotel, which is another hotel under travelroma chain hotels. Our room was in good size and comfi,bathroom was ok ,yet the toilet was a little bit not in order but i did not care as all other things at this hotel were ok.also our room was to the steet which might bother for those who need quiet. we actually liked the noise of the street..felt like being in a movie...
Above all the stuff was very helpfull ,especialy Francesca at the receiption. We had to send parcel via courier and she did here best to help us . she was always welcoming us when we enter in and ourt from the hotel, and always with a big smile. Breakfast was very good.
We will defently book our next stay at this hotel as it is a very warm and freindly hotel.
.

Room Tip: if you need quet room ,make sure the room is not located to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronitp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Ronitp,
Thank you very much for sharing with us your appreciations.
We loved your comments about feeling like in a movie! Actually, we still feel the magical appealing of being symbol of the Dolce Vita. Your feedback on our receptionist makes us very proud. We daily invest our efforts on improving services and giving, to all our guests, a professional and welcoming attention.
Looking forward to having you again, we send you our best regards.

Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great hotel in perfect location. Just a few steps from Fontana di Trevi. Almost everything is in walking distance.
Good rooms, we booked one superior and one standard room. At checking in we got two superior rooms. Bathroom is spacious and also rooms are of good size, for a city hotel.
Breakfast was excellent. Bread, croissants, cake, scrambled eggs, bacon, fruit etc. And good coffee! Overall this is a hotel worth visiting while staying in the beautiful city of Rome.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marloes34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Marloes d,

Thank you for having spent your time, leaving your comments.

We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast. We treasure our guests suggestions and we added fresh tomatoes, olives and sliced cucumbers and, recently, a very healthy yogurt.
For your next stay, do not hesitate to e-mail us and check out our offer for repeated guests
Kind regards,

Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

For Brits of a certain age " Faulty Towers" comes to mind. we were first in room 101 which overlooks a small road leading to Trevi Fountain. We had to close the windows because of the noise. At about 1.30 am I was awake because it was to hot in the room ( I have temp scare on travel clock) it was 26C. I went down to see the night manager and asked for a fan….no fans
how about A/C it doesn't come on till June. They promised to change rooms for us to a quiet one at the back which they did.Got to sleep that night with open window. The next day about 5pm the toilet started to run nonstop. Changed rooms again no problems. We were there 4 nights and had 3 rooms.Staff were Ok
To sum up its a fantastic location

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julianshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Julianshearer,

Thank you for your precious feedback.
We always invite our gusts to contact us for any inconvenient, because guests satisfaction is our priority. Thanks to your comment, we had obtained official permission to switch on the air-condition.
We look forward having you again, here, in the heart of the Eternal City.
Kind regards,

Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel is in an amazing location. It is located near Trevi Fountain and within walking distance of all main attractions. The Vatican is a 30 minute walk past an amazing shopping area or a short bus ride away. The breakfast buffet was adequate.The hotel lobby is beautiful however the rooms need some attention. Our room had cracked tiles in the bathroom, peeling paint on the walls, the pillows on the bed were as thin a pancakes, the carpet looked dirty, and the towels were in limited supply. We asked to change rooms and they had no others available. You cant change the size of the rooms but they could certainly use updating.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Nancy A,
Thank you for dedicating time writing your impressions. We always ask our Guests to report immediately their comments. At the time you were with us we were fully booked and you didn’t want to change room, the day after.
We take your comments very seriously, in fact, are related to one of the two economy rooms that are going to be renovated in these days. Since you were with us, we washed carpets, like we do every month, we ordered new pillows and we equipped every room with cattle and tea/coffee facilities.
On breakfast buffet, you will find a good selection of fresh fruit, small sausages to accompany our delicious scramble eggs and very healthy yogurt and cereals.
Location is our best, familiar atmosphere is our plus, and our efforts for improving our service are getting always stronger.
Dear Nancy, we do hope to hosting you soon. In the meantime, accept our best regards.

Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hello, we were supposed to be in the White Hotel judt down the road but were sent here as that hotel was undergoing transformation work. No hardship; the hotel is a great location for getting around the city as it is central and you can walk to all the major attractions easily. It is also a short distance to the train station so you don't need to grab a cab. It was my partners birthday whilst we were there and the hotel kindly gave use a bottle of good quality wine to help celebrate it was a very thoughtful suprise! (Thanks!)

One word of warning the restaurants nearby are very tourist orientated - Pizza Express do better pizza (seriously!) Don't go to the Chianti either - good reviews but snobby, ignorant staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkJamesR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Direttore generale at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear MarkJames,
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it as we try to be always customer focused in any circumstances. Looking forward to welcoming you again, we send you our best regards.

Marcello Mancusi
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel was a mainly disappointing experience and barely an average rating. Having booked, I'd emailed 8 weeks before arrival with some room requests but got no answers - on arrival was shown a room that met none of these requests and was so small the bed covered 80% of the floor. After complaints took a much larger family room which, though very much past its best, was relatively clean and quiet. The breakfast was a joke. Uninviting, lukewarm, eggs/bacon (much better if you want continental) and a real scrum at peak times with everyone falling over each other trying to serve themselves. The good news is that the hotel is very well located (between Trevi Fountain & Spanish Steps) and frequent buses 100 m away. Also the reception staff were very helpful giving directions, booking taxis/restuarants etc. I think the best advice is to be fussy/pushy before accepting the room allocated. Of course you could upgrade to the newer rooms but would still have the breakfast melee to deal with.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Direttore generale at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Timmel54,
We would like to thank you for your feedback that is precious for us for a better understanding of our guests’ needs.
We are sorry if the hotel Accademia didn’t fulfil your expectation. Being the hotel located inside an historical building, the rooms have not all the same size, the reception staff is always at guests disposal in case they have special needs or particular request.
We have noticed your comment regarding our breakfast: the breakfast is a buffet breakfast with a good selection of cold and hot dishes, which satisfy Italian and international guests. It’s precious what you pointed out with your comment, as for us each guest’ opinion is important in order to improve our service level.
We hope this experience didn’t compromise a future stay with us and I send you my best regards.

Marcello Mancusi,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#317 of 1,261 in Rome
619 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#165 of 1,261 in Rome
775 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#140 of 1,261 in Rome
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#87 of 1,261 in Rome
647 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#161 of 1,261 in Rome
1,688 reviews
Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
#141 of 1,261 in Rome
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accademia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accademia Hotel

Property: Accademia Hotel
Address: Piazza dell'Accademia di San Luca 74, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Business Hotel in Rome
#319 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Accademia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Accademia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accademia Hotel Rome
Hotel Accademia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing