We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a pleasant and peaceful neighborhood”
Review of Hotel Borromini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Borromini
Ranked #948 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a pleasant and peaceful neighborhood”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Borromini hotel is a very good hotel in a pleasant and peaceful neighborhood of Rome. The staff is very polite and helpful. The rooms are wide and clean, as well as the bathroom. We had satellite TV with the possibility of watching the shows in original language (English) which was really a plus! The bed/pillow/mattress were really comfortable. The breakfast was not top-notch but enough to make you full and ready for the day!

The hotel is 30min in bus from Termini station and 2 buses are needed. It is more difficult to reach the city center (i.e: Piazza Venezia) but for tourist with time ahead this is not a problem. Of course, for the tourist in a hurry I would not recommend this hotel.

The neighborhood is pleasant and peaceful, full of embassies and consulates so quite secure. Also, a lot of good restaurants can be found all around.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabethabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    77
    67
    43
    30
See reviews for
31
88
12
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, we could clearly see the receptionist sitting in the back. He looked up acknowledged our being there but carried on with his computer leaving the two of us standing there for what seemed like 10 minutes. When he finished his business he walked round and checked us in without so much as a smile. First impressions are everything and unfortunately it wasn't the best. This staff behaviour carried on throughout the stay

When we got into the room we were pleasantly surprised as it was very spacious, clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only downside to the room was the size of the bath which was very small indeed. Breakfast in the morning was a bit of a let down, the cereals were left out from the night before making them stale and the pastries and bread were not covered (thus all were stale.) This was the breakfast in its entirety (bread rolls, cereal, pastries and tinned fruit.)

The hotel is a little out of the way but due to public transport does not pose a problem and leads to a good nights sleep and access to well priced and good quality restaurants (Taverna Rossini).

When we return to Rome we will be tempted to stay in the same area but would certainly choose a different hotel, one that is more friendly to tourists.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Hotel is located in a residential area, so is quiet but the closest restaurants is 10 minutes walk. The restaurant was recommended by the Front Desk Manager and the food was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. BUT, the problems on their own were only minor when added together were frustrating. We could only get 2 extra pillows. The bedside lights were broken. A strong smell of sewage at the front door. The shower was a joke, the cubicle too small and there was no hot water and the cold was just a dribble. The TV didn't work in accordance with the instructions in the room, after 2 attempts by staff I eventually worked it out myself, vital step missing in instructions. The door to the balcony could not be locked, the catch was broken; the front desk said "Don't worry this is an honest neighborhood, we have never had any problems and your on the fifth floor anyway."
If you don't expect too much you won't be disappointed, you can do better closer to the centre for the same money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieRandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a tour package of Europe. Hotel is located in a residential area, which we thought was good. Hotel needs a little re-vamping or updating. Rooms were good, bed comfortable enough, bathroom clean as was the room. Staff were friendly service was good. Breakfast was average. Bar staff were great as our christmas day was spent here at night. Considering this was a major holiday in Italy, I would say that the services provided by the hotel were good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The service staff on reception were extremely rude. A few times business men or people who were simply smarter dressed received attention before us, even when there was a que, we were overlooked. It would seem this hotel does not like catering to tourists. Other tourists we noticed, were getting the same rude, shabby treatment in favor of the business men. It left us feeling embarrassed and uncomfortable. The breakfast is definitely the worst ive had, absolutely nothing is hot, there is no toast or eggs, not worth paying for in your room package in my opinion. One of the reasons i booked the hotel was the terrace, which looked pretty and a nice place to relax. It actually wasn't even open, it had no chairs or tables in it, it wasn't just being cleaned as it was like that the 5 days we were there. Its also on the ground floor, and is in all honesty, a glorified garage. I have read some other reviews regarding the location of the hotel and how even though its out the way its cheap and easy to get around. This definitely is not the case. From the hard rock cafe and piazza barberini, which is near to the trevi fountain and pantheon, it was 14 euros during the day, a bit expensive in my opinion. The trams number 3 and 9 are a 10 minute walk, they go to the coliseum and the Vatican, but you really cant get them back at night, the area the hotel is a little unsavory, with persistent beggars, and feels very uncomfortable. We spent alot of money on taxis, which we could of spent on a hotel in the center of Rome instead. My advice would be to honestly spend a little more, and get a hotel closer to the center, this one just isn't worth the hassle.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I recently stayed at the hotel after booking a last minute trip to Rome. Following the booking I then read up on trip advisor and have to say some of the reviews are simply preposterous. Yes the hotel is slightly out of the way but no more than 10 Euro to travel to anywhere of interest within the city day or night, and which meant for a good sleep after all the hectic sightseeing, bars and restaurants Rome has to offer. The front office staff were brilliant, we had a few problems initially with working the shower and TV which were resolved immediately by Concierge. On our last day we were flying out early evening and asked the front desk if there was anywhere in central Rome to leave our bags if we paid and he replied "I can do 1 better" and organised us to leave our bags at their 5* sister hotel The Xenda which was 2 minutes’ walk from Rome Termini so perfect. All in all, this hotel was perfect and anyone claiming otherwise is either ridiculous or has too much time on their hands to moan....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulshear, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The desk clerks upon arrival were all smiles and very warm to the guests (much more so than others we frequented during our tour), and they maintained that demeanor each time we approached them with a question and also when we observed them helping others. In fact, one modest gentleman in particular requested that our review be based on the hospitality of the hotel instead of himself or any other desk clerks. We had some humorous conversations about the language barrier (my wife and I are American) and compared our different cultures. The hotel overall was very clean and offered great food for the breakfast buffet. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Villa Grazioli
#642 of 1,258 in Rome
163 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Centro Roma
Hotel Centro Roma
#491 of 1,258 in Rome
446 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#184 of 1,258 in Rome
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#172 of 1,258 in Rome
464 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#262 of 1,258 in Rome
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borromini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borromini

Property: Hotel Borromini
Address: Via Lisbona 7, 00198 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#337 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borromini 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borromini, rampant of the seventies, is located in the elegant, green and calm Parioli area of Rome, at the edges of Villa Ada and Villa Borghese and close to Via Veneto. The Borromini is reachable by car in few minutes from the A1 highway Autostrada del Sole, exit Salaria.After many years, the owners of the building from 1st July 2012 will resume the management to ensure a high quality service and maximum comfort for the Guests.The Hotel has 84 rooms, including Junior Suites and it is provided with 3 function rooms, with a total capacity of 170 seats to suit any meeting need or social event. The spacious private garage will assure safe car parking.Recently Hotel Borromini has been wisely renewed and technologically updated, becoming the ideal place for any type of individual or business stay.The Cafè Borromini is the soul of the Hotel Borromini where you can appreciate an innovative, genuine and appetizing menu. A patio is equipped during summer –time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Borromini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b4 Roma Borromini Hotel Rome
Boscolo Hotel Rome
Boscolo Borromini Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing