We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Borgognoni - Rome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dei Borgognoni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Ranked #98 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel Borgognoni - Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2006

We stayed at the Borgognoni last week for 5 nights, and were generally very pleased. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant, and the location was prime.
The hotel was clean, and the breakfast was basic but nice (try the cappuchino!) The rooms were very quiet, although small. The beds were very hard though. Bathrooms were modern with a good, hot shower,.
We would recommend this hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Catzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    249
    60
    20
    11
See reviews for
168
351
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2006

A family of three we stayed five nights at the Borgognoni and overall were very pleased with our choice. The location is outstanding: five minute walk to Steps and Trevi Fountain, 10 minues to the Pantheon, about 15 to the Colosseo and an estimated 30 mintues to the Vatican should you choose to walk there. Our room, 311, was VERY quiet and comfortable and cleaned twice a day. The staff was helpful but you do need to get over what I'll call a little Italian "attitude." The rooms are small and hotel servies other than breakfast limited....with so many many restaurants close by it didn't matter that Borgognoni lunch terrace wasn't open often. Cable internet is 10 euro for 6 hours which must be used continuously. Wireless, 5 Euro I think for 1/2 hour only works on the first level. We recommend Al Moro especially (near Trevi-try a bottle of the Cordero Montezemolo Barbera D'Alba) and Restorante Alla Rampa (near Piazza di Spagna). If you want a fair value with an excellent location and a touch of class, we recommend the Borgognoni

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LGTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2006

Arrived at 8:30 AM after flying all night from NYC.
Front desk clerk...Vincent...surly initially and every day after that (4 days).
Asked for room...said no rooms ready til noon...have to wait.
Went for walk...after an hour there was a heavy rain, went back to hotel.
Still no room til noon...because of downpour had to sit in lobby and kill time.
Finally at 11:45 Vincent relented and let us have our 10X10 room, which was right on the main street, very busy and noisey.
We shut the window and tried to put on the airconditioning to drown out the street noise, especially since we wanted to sleep after being up all night on our flight.
I couldn't turn on the air...I called Vincent at the front desk and asked how to turn it on..."Oh maybe next week it will go on."
I replied it was indeed noisey and we wanted to sleep but couldn't with the street noise...how about moving us to a more quiet room. "NO! The hotel was full."
And so it went...no one could rate this hotel a 4 or 5 star.
But its location was excellent...close to Trevi Fountain and Spagna (Spanish steps).
We would not stay there again because of surly service and miniscule albeit expensive rooms.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HarryWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2006

I just returned from five nights at the Dei Borgognoni and overall I'm thrilled with my choice.
First of all, as others state here it is in the perfect location in the center of Rome. It is a few minute walk from the Trevi Fountain in one direction, and about 5 minutes in another to the Spanish Steps and the Via Condotti.
The staff was Charming, helpful, friendly,I can't say enough good things about them.
They bent over backwards to insure that my friend and I had a great stay. I had read about Luca in some of the other reviews here. He doesn't disapoint. He lives up to his reputaion. Completely professional and very charming. Christiano, Vincent, each of them were always friendly, always looking to help make our stay the best it could be.
Even the cleaning staff was extrememly friendly. I broke a glass in the room one day. When I went into the hallway I found a maid. When I told here she immediate followed me and cleaned it. When she saw that we had fresh flowers she came right back with a vase.
The hotel itself is very nice. it is on a very quiet street with a coffee bar directly opposite and a market a few steps away.
The lobby is nicely done and very comfortable. The breakfast room is small and the offering is very basic. This didn't bother me since it was included in the price and was more than enough to get going for the day.
The hotel is not cheap, however I found that nothing in Rome was. Having walked though Rome and taking notice of names of other properities I'd seen here on TA I was happy with my choice.
this is not a 5 star Hotel, nor does it claim to be. It is a solid 4 star and you will pay prices comparable to other properties in Rome.
Our room was not large (but that's typical in europe) However, it was a good size and very comfortable for two friends travelling together.
The room decor could use an updating, but there was nothing wrong with it. It was very, very clean, and very comfortable. the beds were very firm (which is not usually they way I like them) however, they were really comfortable and I slept really well, so don't be put off by this.
the bathroom was large and clean and freshly stocked with clean towels and products everyday.
Most of the rooms are on a center court yard so they were very quiet. We were lucky enough to get a room with a private patio( which I highly recommend) I heard no noise in the morning and we slept with the doors open everynight. I would think the rooms facing the street would be quiet as well since it is not very busy.
I never heard the constructioin that the previous poster talks of and I can see my room in her photo. I also would not have held the hotel responsible for noise coming from a neighbors renovations. I don't think they should be expected to maintain silence anywhere but their property.
They also have shutters and double paned windows in all of the rooms.
So, I loved this little hotel, and I'm planning on going back, soon!
Luca, Christiano, Vincent and everone else I came into contact with Thanks!
You know the Italian meaning of hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sasharoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2006

We had really high hopes for our three night stay in this hotel, after booking it on the strength of reviews on this website and the pics on the hotels own website.

Initial thoughts on arrival where of disappointment to be honest. The pics on the hotels website have been very well taken, and we thought the hotel could do with refurbishment as it just doesnt look as nice in reality.

As everyone posting reviews here has pointed out, the location really is first class. Just two minutes from Trevi fountain and the Spanish Steps. However we found the service by the staff on the front desk to be very mixed. Some of the concierge's where excellent and some where truely appaling. The bad ones, Aldo in particular where extremely surly and unpleasant. Aldo just shouldnt have been in that job, as he was the rudest conceirge I have ever come across. We had to change room one night when the bath flooded due to a blocked drain (not our fault), and he was so rude. Saying it was our fault and we would have to manage with a flooded bathroom for 24 hours and what did we expect him to do about it as it wasnt his job !!! Eduardo the spanish speaking porter was so embarresed and even apologised for him.
One other also didnt look happy in his work and a request to book a restaurant for us was met with much huffing and puffing, and big sighs ! The other two we experienced where first class though, and couldnt do enough for us.

The often praised breakfast was ok nothing more. Good fruit selection but only one type of ham and no freshly sliced cheese, just pre-packed stuff. The hot offering didnt look very appealing to be honest. Excellent coffee though !

The good points are the location, the quality bathrooms and the room sizes which I thought were good for Rome. Also the beds are huge and very comfortable. Quite firm but wonderful if you like a firm mattress.

Bad points included some rude staff, intermittent aircon, ill fitting bath plugs, a redecoration needed and building work (see pic) right outside the room on the apartment opposite. Dont expect to sleep after 7am on a weekday morning ! This should have been mentioned by the Hotel when booking I feel.

To sum up it was ok. Not great, and probably wouldnt stay here again in Rome. It has prices and ideas above what it actually delivers and I would think there are better options in Rome than the Borgognoni. I guess we expected more from the reviews on this site.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2006

I would recommend this hotel on the basis of its excellent location and the general presentation of the hotel. The lobby area is very nicely appointed and the rooms, whilst small, are nice and very clean. On the downside, we got a "deal" at €195 per night. By Rome standards this was just about acceptable but I wouldn't pay any more as there is no gym/jacuzzi/pool etc that might justify such price. In fact my room didn't even have a bath. Breakfast was pretty good though and service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ronan_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2005

Hotel had the wrong room type when we arrived, although fixed this not long after. The breakfast was above average for Italy, although the eating area is quite small, and resulted in a long wait for some other guests who needed tables for more than 2 people.

The main problem was that their concierge staff at the time spoke fairly poor English (and didn't seem keen to get other staff who spoke perfect English to help). Upon checking out they suggested the best way to the train station was by taxi. However, when trying to book a taxi the staff weren't able to arrange one - pretty poor for a 5 star hotel. The directions that staff gave to the closest metro station weren't great, and combined with pouring rain didn't leave a very good last impression of our stay.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank MrArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#228 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#146 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#43 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#84 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#33 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Borgognoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Borgognoni

Property: Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Address: Via del Bufalo 126 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Rome
#58 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#65 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#149 Business Hotel in Rome
#177 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Borgognoni 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with 51 rooms (4 star superior) all renovated. Free WIFi in all public areas is available. Garage and two Meetings rooms are also available for all guests. Dei Borgognoni is located in the best area of Rome, just 4 minutes to the Spanish Steps and via Condotti, and 3 minutes from the Trevi Fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Dei Borgognoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Borgognoni Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing