We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Ranked #77 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 8, 2005

Hotel had the wrong room type when we arrived, although fixed this not long after. The breakfast was above average for Italy, although the eating area is quite small, and resulted in a long wait for some other guests who needed tables for more than 2 people.

The main problem was that their concierge staff at the time spoke fairly poor English (and didn't seem keen to get other staff who spoke perfect English to help). Upon checking out they suggested the best way to the train station was by taxi. However, when trying to book a taxi the staff weren't able to arrange one - pretty poor for a 5 star hotel. The directions that staff gave to the closest metro station weren't great, and combined with pouring rain didn't leave a very good last impression of our stay.

Stayed: October 2005
8  Thank MrArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dei Borgognoni
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 791 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
The Netherlands
528
Reviewed October 14, 2005

Very nice small hotel. Great location. Great service.
Nice restaurants close by, bus close by for the Vatican.

don't expect 5 star rooms, but for rome it was pretty good!

very happy we stayed there.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2005

Stayed at this hotel in Rome for one night on our honeymoon. Were upset to start with because we tried to cancel our reservation for this hotel on Sept 23 (two days before we arrived) at 6 am in the morning using their online system as we were leaving for the airport. On the e-mail from the hotel, it says 1) cancel reservation BY Sept 23 and 2) 48 hours/2 days before you arrive. We were set to arrive on Sept 25 in the afternoon and the cancellation policy never specified a time of day on the 23rd to cancel. The online system would not let us cancel. When we arrived in Italy, I e-mailed them at noon and they said that they could not cancel without charging us 1 night's stay (280 Euros). I then called them to clarify and spoke with Luca who basically said that their cancellation policy is to cancel exactly 48 hours before it becomes midnight on the day you will arrive. This means I really had to cancel by Sept 22 (3 days before) in order to not have a penalty. At the end, he basically said that "if the online system doesn't let you cancel, there's nothing I can do" which I highly doubt, since I'm sure he has the authority to cancel the reservation if he wanted to.

We unwillingly stayed one night. We checked in the afternoon of the 23rd and came back after dinner at 9 pm to find that the electricity in our room did not work. They sent up an employee who could only speak Spanish (not much English) and he tried in vain to fix the problem while we waited, holding the door open to our room, standing & tired after a day of travelling. Finally he said we had to change rooms. We had to pack up our things in the dark because even though the hotel employee brought up a light, it had a cord of all of 1 foot in length and didn't even work when he plugged it into the outlet in the hall. We had to turn on our digital camera and use the light from the screen to make sure we didn't leave anything behind. We were then shown 2 rooms, both of which were smaller than our room (one room had 2 single beds, not an option on our honeymoon). So basically, at around 10 pm, after waiting for an hour while they tried to fix this problem, we were downgraded.

Needless to say we were very disatisfied as we did not want to stay here in the first place! The next day we checked into the Westin Excelsior, where for not much more per night we had a much better experience.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jayde88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2005

Great decision - we couldn't have been happier! We had room No. 307 at the end of the hall - think it was larger than others. Luca at the front desk (makes a great hotel even better!) he said to book directly with him the next time for a better rate.) Location is perfect, few short blocks to sp. steps, shopping, good food. Would return tom!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank partytime2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nashville, TN
111
Reviewed September 2, 2005

What a great hotel, in the perfect location! I stayed here while travelling alone for 6 nights in Rome. Small room, but very nice with its own private patio. The staff was fabuous and a great breakfast was included. You can not beat the location.....central to everything. Luca at the front desk was amazing. He let me into my room at 10:30 a.m. the day I arrived and took care of me the whole time with directions, plans, etc. I couldnt have asked for better accomodations for the price. Oh, and there is a grocery store right next door!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Indianapolis, Indiana
116
Reviewed August 16, 2005

We stayed at the Hotel dei Borgognoni in May this year for 4 nights on our very first visit to Rome (and to Italy). This was a prelude to a week in Tuscany for our daughter's wedding. The hotel staff were amazing! We had excellent service. Vincenzo and Luca were wonderful and gave us great directions and suggestions for good restaurants. Pietro our bellman went over and above his call of duty -- he even chased down taxis for us! We were greeted every morning and evening with smiles and friendly chats. Our room was perfect -- ground level with our own private outside terrace. We were delighted when we arrived so early in the morning and were able to get into our room immediately. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and always fresh. The hotel is very close to the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain, and the surrounding area is very close to shopping and good restaurants. We walked everywhere! We will DEFINITELY stay at the Hotel dei Borgognoni on our next trip to Rome! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2005

Italy, Rome, Spanish Steps Area, Hotel Dei Borgononi ----------- . More information on our Rome stay on our travel blog, http://sfinparis.blogspot.com
• Location: near Spanish steps, a great location for walking around but it is next to impossible to drive to because the street directions are so confusing in Rome. We parked our car at airport and had a driver from the hotel pick us up there for 50 euros.
• Room (2 adults, 2 children < 10): we had a very nice suite with a sitting room and a bedroom. The boys slept on the sofa and the floor in the sitting room (not ideal, but workable). The room was on an interior courtyard, very quiet and had A/C which is critical because it is too noisy outside to keep windows open at night
• Service: service was outstanding throughout our stay – extremely helpful staff, particularly for planning trips to various sites in Rome
• Internet: no wifi or wiring to room, hotel has a computer you can use
• Food: a very good breakfast was included, with good coffee and baked goods.
• Best feature: this is a wonderfully quite and calm oasis in a very bustling city – it was great to come here and get out of the crush of tourists.
• Best food nearby: Noni is a great, traditional restaurant nearby, the hotel staff can direct you. Food and wine was great, waiters were terrific and wore the full white uniforms – very classy
• Price: around 250 euros a night (June).
• Overall family rating: excellent 9 out of 10. A very comfortable, classy hotel in a great location. I will definitely stay here again.

16  Thank sfinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,267 in Rome
1,550 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#139 of 1,267 in Rome
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#254 of 1,267 in Rome
1,135 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,267 in Rome
2,965 reviews
Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
#141 of 1,267 in Rome
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Borgognoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Borgognoni

Address: Via del Bufalo 126 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Rome
#51 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#65 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#149 Business Hotel in Rome
#177 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $256 - $1,077 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Borgognoni 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with 51 rooms (4 star superior) all renovated. Free WIFi in all public areas is available. Garage and two Meetings rooms are also available for all guests. Dei Borgognoni is located in the best area of Rome, just 4 minutes to the Spanish Steps and via Condotti, and 3 minutes from the Trevi Fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dei Borgognoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Borgognoni Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing