We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dei Borgognoni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Ranked #98 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vista, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Within easy walking distance, about half way between the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Rooms are small, but that is quite common in small European hotels. Noisy when window was opened, but closed window kept all of the outside noise out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerimiahVista_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    249
    60
    20
    11
See reviews for
168
351
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

It is fair to state that Hotel dei Borgognoni still deserves its four star rating. But it is also fair to recognise that the hotel makes almost no effort to improve its services and keep its standards high.

Location: not many hotel can beat the exceptional spot occupied by hotel dei Borgognoni. Just 3 minutes away from the "fontane di Trevi" and the "Piazza di Spagna", in a rather quiet street, you should have not hesitation with this hotel regarding the location.

Rooms: clean and nicely furnished, though rather small and beginning to show signs of aging.

Service: it is a small hotel, but the staff is nice and helpful.

Breakfast: if breakfast is for you an important criteria when choosing a hotel, don't go in hotel dei Borgognoni. It is not a four star hotel breakfast. The quality of the food (frozen bread, industrial juices, already opened canned jam) does not match.

Room Tip: Ask for a room located on the first floor with a small terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Direttore at Hotel Dei Borgognoni, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Booking a hotel in Rome, the location is extremely important, as the city is quite spread around and the main attractions are in the historical area. From hotel dei Borgognoni you can visit all the main monuments, located at a distance between 4/9 minute by food.You can’t have a better position. Also via del Bufalo, our street, in very quite ( no traffic ) and very safe.

Our Staff tries to the best to create a welcoming atmosphere at a top service every minute of the day, I appreciate you had the same feeling, WE LOVE WHAT WE ARE DOING……

For the Breakfast, as we are aware that is an important criteria for choosing a hotel, in the last year we did amazing improvements to increase the selection and the quality of food. We also received many compliments ( you can read also on Tripadvisor), so we are very surprise that you did not appreciate our offer.

We are going to post in the next days ( 15th October 2013) on our FACEBBOOK page and on TRIPADVISOR some “home made” photos of our Breakfast so you can see directly that Hotel dei Borgognoni Breakfast offer is quite complete…, but you need to came at the Borgognoni to taste it……directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The location of the hotel was first class. Check in was great, rooms beautiful, staff friendly and helpful especially Luca and Teresa. Might I suggest that staff wear name badges as it is good to know who is being particularly helpful.
It was our second time staying here and we will be back again next time we visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gomastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andernos-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The location is as central and close to all the attractions as you can get. Our room was absolutely perfect for two adults and a child. Our room overlooked the back and was perfectly silent. The mattresses were nice and firm. Nice bathroom. Good breakfast buffet. The staff are all charming. Nothing disappoints in this hotel... Really faultless. It is about time people start writing how terrible it is, because the price is indeed rather steep!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TNH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyfada, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel other times and I am always delighted with the courtesy the staff welcome the guests. They do not offer a restaurant service but there are so many gorgeous restaurants around that it really is not important. The breakfast choice is moderate but quite good.
The rooms are very clean. Slightly on the pricey side but then the location is in the heart of the centro storico.

Room Tip: I find the upper floors quieter and therefore more relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Direttore at Hotel Dei Borgognoni, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice comment.
Just to inform you that we recently (26 February 2013) terminated the renovation of our breakfast room, has been built in a new “buffet table” In this occasion we will also review our selection of food. You will see at your return you will be impressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

i was in Italy on business and then remained in Rome for the weekend. The hotel was what you would expect for a mid range City Hotel. The beds were hard, the breakfast was poor, the welcome and service was good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

It was a great place to stay as recommended by our Tours by Locals guide.
The only challenge was that the rooms were too warm, esp. for sleeping, and we had difficulty resetting the thermostat despite repeated tries. But the front desk person helped with that issue the next day and then also provided umbrellas for the rain and assisted with a dinner reservation for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Borgognoni, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are glad you had a nice time, regarding the temperature in the room, since the 18 of April we have turned on our central air-condition system, so now if one wishes you freeze …… in the room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#228 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#146 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#43 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#84 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#33 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Borgognoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Borgognoni

Property: Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Address: Via del Bufalo 126 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Rome
#58 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#65 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#149 Business Hotel in Rome
#177 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Borgognoni 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with 51 rooms (4 star superior) all renovated. Free WIFi in all public areas is available. Garage and two Meetings rooms are also available for all guests. Dei Borgognoni is located in the best area of Rome, just 4 minutes to the Spanish Steps and via Condotti, and 3 minutes from the Trevi Fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Dei Borgognoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Borgognoni Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing