We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best time at this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Inghilterra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel d'Inghilterra
Ranked #493 of 1,284 Hotels in Rome
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best time at this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I just spent 4 nights at this Hotel after a horrible experience with the Hotel in South Africa. The Hotel is wonderful, besides the fact that it is a beutiful home, the location is perfect. The rooms are a little small but veru big for european hotels. the people are wonderful, food amazing and I dont think I have to mention the bar.....it is well known for its elegance and atmosphere. The are now remodeling some floors and I beleive when the renovation is complete it will be even better.....

Room Tip: ask for one with a bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilideny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful and detailed review on TripAdvisor!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us and that the service of our team was up to your expectations. The location of the Hotel d'Inghilterra, right on the city centre is indeed a real advantage for our guests.

We truly hope that you will find your way back to Rome soon and that we will have the chance to welcome you again!

Best Regards

Yours sincerely,

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    99
    58
    40
    27
See reviews for
85
190
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Wow Rome was pretty crowded this week! We have just come back after staying in two different hotels in this wonderful city. Both of the hotels were listed as 5 star (if you pay attention to such things) and the second hotel review will follow...

I was really looking forward to this hotel, I like places with a bit of history, and turning up here felt a little like arriving on the Grand Tour, rubbing shoulders with the likes of Keats and so on. The location could not be better, the area is perfect for shopping, and near some lovely restaurants, quite quiet at night but within walking distance of pretty much everywhere you want to go. The staff recommendations for restaurants were great, and we had some fantastic meals thanks to them.

The hotel room was small but pretty, and the various lounges and the bar were cosy and fairly elegant, the whole place looks good, although the restaurant is a bit of a let down in this respect - neither comfortable nor stylish, and not really a 5* breakfast sadly. The bathroom was not good, very shabby with dilapidated plumbing.

All in all I enjoyed our stay here, the staff were helpful and friendly, the room itself was comfy, but it needs to improve things like the bathrooms, the breakfast (crowded, small restaurant with an unimaginative buffet, speakers pumping out modern jazz at 9am) because when you pay these rates you do kind of expect better, and it can't just rely on it's position to get by.

I nearly gave this 4 out of 5, for the staff mostly, but on reflection I think they need to do a bit more - especially after staying in our next hotel in Rome which really was a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bradderSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hotel d'Inghilterra and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor !
How wonderful that you enjoyed the hotel and its location and we appreciate very much your remarks about our reception and concierge team!
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon! In the meantime, the entire team would like to wish you and your family a very Happy New Year!

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We just returned from a three day trip to Rome. We were a family group of 7 (ages ranging from 13-68 yrs) and all were very happy to have stayed at the Hotel D'Inghilterra. When looking at hotels in Rome near the Spanish Steps, we were undecided between the Hotel Intercontinental and the Hotel d'Inghileterra. We finally ended up chooing the Hotel D'Inghilterra because the Intercontinental was at the top of the Spanish Steps and this meant climbing up and down those 138 steps perhaps several times a day !!

What we liked about the hotel :
1) Each room was decorated differently. We were four rooms (1 TRP, 2 SNG and 1 TWIN). None of us could say the rooms were small.
2) The bathroom amenities were of a very good quality and there was enough.
3) Housekeeping was very friendly. Ok - did not speak much Engish but their smiling faces and enthusiasm to assist made you overlook this. We were very lucky. We had Ms. Christina taking care of us and she was excellent with her care.
4) The Reception - Ms. Celia. Thumbs up to the Hotel for hiring her. Perfect in customer service. Always willing to assist and solve your problem. Always a smiling face. We didn't know that most restaurants were either closed or required advance reservations for the 24th of December. We had no hope but she spent more than half an hour trying to find us a place to dine. Thanks to her our last evening in Rome was very memorable.
5) The Concierge - Mr. Massimo. You can not find a more professional Concierge. Takes his job very seriously and has excellent knowledge of Rome. Recommended some very nice restaurants and also let us purchase advance tickets to the Collosseum and the Vatican so we would not have to wait in those horrendously long lines.
6) Location is excellent for shopping : Dior, Fendi, Gucci, Prada, Hermes, Moncler, etc... are only steps away. All designer shops are within walking distance. Either on Via Condotti, Via Frattins, Via Bourgogna, Piazza di Spagna or the side streets. Shopper's Paradise !!
7) Location is also excellent for walking to many sights such as Fontana di Trevi, Piazza Navona (where there are Xmas markets during this season),...
8) The building is quite old so most of the furniture and decoartions are antique adding a historical touch to your stay in the hotel.
9) Lobby is divided into little quarters so a group can easily find privacy - as if you are in your own home.

things that could be improved :
1) there was a strong smell in the corridor for all three days. It was like a waste smell. Did not bother us because it did not affect the rooms.
2) Breakfast buffet : bread selection, juice selection, fruit selection is sufficient. However I think olives, more cheese, hard boild eggs could be added.

Would we stay in this hotel again if we visited Rome ? Definitely !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Semasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
How wonderful to read your comments on TripAdvisor, thank you very much for sharing them!
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its services! Thank you as well for your feed-back on our staff, this will be a wonderful source of motivation for them!
May I take this opportunity to wish you and your beloved ones a wonderful New Year;
hopefully we will be able to see you again then!

Yours sincerely,

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We recently spend 4 days in d'Inghilterra and I wish to commend the outstanding service of the combined Front Desk and Concierge under Head Concierge Massimo Mazzola.
Throughout our stay the group took care of all our needs, whether in the room everything was functioning or not, or in understanding our very particular wishes in what to visit and where to dine! Their service was always with a smile and real intention to please us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MA3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the Hotel d')nghilterra. We are truly pleased that we were able to meet your expectations and we appreciate your rewarding feedback.
Wishing you a future reach in love and serenity, we hope to welcoming you back soon to our hotel.

Kind regards

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Hotel D'Inghilterra numerous times in the last couple of years. And, yes, there have been problems. But now there is a new General Manager and things are looking up. I just returned from Rome last week and spent 4 nights at the hotel. The carpets are all new and looking great. The front desk has some new faces and they are much more friendly and helpful than before. Even the WiFi is working better. The lobby has been remodeled and looks great also. I think this hotel deserves a second chance. The location is sooo amazing and perfect.
I believe that rooms on all floors except for 2 have been recently refurbished. If you're booking the cheapest room on a discount website, you may get one of the older rooms, so be careful.
I will definitely stay there again and I'm looking forward to seeing even more improvements.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
We truly value every feedback and we are pleased that yours shows our passion for bespoke service and our daily commitment to provide our valuable Guests with unique experiences.
It is a privilege for us having made your stay fabulous.
We sincerely hope to have the honor of welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards,

Massimo Colli
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A great hotel in the centre of the shopping area of Rome so really easy to find your way around the town from this central point.

Beautiful rooms downstairs chichi was great as we were part of a larger group and used downstairs as the gathering point. However, the rooms were very very small. i think that I could have hit two walls if lay across the bed! There really was not much room. However, the bathroom was big and a great shower.

I was on my own but if there were two people, the room would never have coped.

Breakfast was fine - everything was made up in advance and not made to measure as one would expect in such a good hotel, but then this had to be balanced with the centre location point.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixiebelle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments on TripAdvisor!
It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Rome soon!

Yours sincerely,

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at this one time luxury hotel with my son and elderly mother for a weekend. We arrived separately, having booked one single occupancy and a twin room. The rooms were mixed up on arrival and my mother was given the twin much larger room. When my son and I arrived we were offered the single occupancy with a double bed. No apologies were offered and only after much discussion we were finally moved to another more suitable room. This set the tone for our stay: incompetent, haughty staff who seemed not to understand the simplest requests delivered in Italian (we are bilingual). Restaurants were never booked as instructed and one reservation was never cancelled. We gave them some ice packs to carry medicines while travelling to put in the freezer and they never did. Never before have I come across such incompetent and unfriendly service. In addition, the beds were uncomfortable, the pillows rock hard, the room temperature erratic and the recent refurbishment vulgar and over the top. The hotel is badly managed and it has lost its former elegance and exclusivity. The only memorable things about it is the price: too hefty to forget in a hurry. Don't go, choose more wisely: even the neighbouring Plaza is better than this debacle.

Room Tip: Top floor with terraces over Roman rooftops. Even better go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
we are truly sorry that we have not been able to offer you the attention you deserved, but please believe that it was not our intention to make you feel unwelcomed.
We do hope that you will reconsider your decision and you will contact the Hotel Executive office upon your next visit to Rome to make your room’s arrangements. We will do our best to recover your faith towards Hotel d'Inghilterra.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us,
Best regards

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Grand Hotel Plaza
Grand Hotel Plaza
#598 of 1,284 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#40 of 1,284 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Bernini Bristol
Hotel Bernini Bristol
#334 of 1,284 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#88 of 1,284 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Inghilterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Inghilterra

Property: Hotel d'Inghilterra
Address: Via Bocca di Leone 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#239 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#337 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Inghilterra 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel d'Inghilterra, a temple of warm, welcoming Italian hospitality, is in the heart of Rome. Hotel d'Inghilterra is one of Rome's most distinguished and desired destinations. Moments from the iconic Spanish steps, our deluxe boutique hotel sits gracefully at the very heart of historic Rome. Each of our unique rooms and suites is a perfect blend of traditional decadence and modern freshness that embodies Italian design. From the elegant Classic Double rooms to the heavenly Penthouse Suite with its flower filled terrace overlooking the city, every space is resplendent with luxuriant details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel d'Inghilterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Inghilterra Hotel Rome
Hotel d Inghilterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing