We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Ranked #115 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great hotel in rome”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

stayed at the Baglioni for three days before getting on a cruise. Great location in Rome. Very safe area, right across the street from the US Embassy. The staff was very helpful and set up tour and restaurant reservation for us. There recommendations were great and the always made sure we enjoyed ourselves when we returned from a tour or dinner. The rooms were nice and serviced everyday. We would stay here again when returning to Rome

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucaVirgilio, General Manager at Baglioni Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you ever so much for your lovely posting. Our staff will be very happy to learn you had such a great time here at Regina Baglioni. We very much look forward to having you back here. With kindest regards, Luca Virgilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    214
    77
    33
    25
See reviews for
181
390
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights - it was just about my definition of a 5 star, but as we did not want any room service and did not eat in the hotel's restaurant in the evening, it's hard to be critical. We did not find the beds that comfortable as had back ache after a few hours. Quality of the bedding was very good, bathroom was very clean but a light bulb was not replaced over the mirror the whole time we were there. I deliberately didn't report it to see if the room maid would tell housekeeping. She didn't, which shows a lack of interest in the job in my opinion. Breakfast was okay but nothing special. Horrible warming dish of scrambled eggs that were tasteless so didn't bother with that again. There was a very grumpy bell boy/porter on duty who could not be bothered to smile and say hello, so he gets a thumbs down from me. First guest relations/concierge person I dealt with was also very disinterested, but another one was good.
Walked past some other lovely looking 5 star hotels in the area so if we return to Rome again, will try another place. Oh yes, 16 euros for a glass of wine plus service charge, was very high, but out on the Via Veneto it could be of a similar price. Became very annoyed at the 20% service charge levied in the most ordinary restaurants of the area. Nowhere in UK/London has that kind of charge. It's a rip off in Rome, that's for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucaVirgilio, General Manager at Baglioni Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. I want to first apologise on behalf of Regina Baglioni staff where it was not able to fulfil your requests.
Lack of service is something that we do not accept, therefore, I am very sorry to learn about your dissatisfaction. Our first aim is to make our guests feel at home away from home, indeed, we do hope that you will consider us worthy enough to have another chance, as we would like to show you the real essence of hospitality.
I’m sure you will realize that what you have experienced is the exception and not the rule.
Please you are more than welcome to contact me directly (l.virgilio@baglionihotels.com) if you would like to discuss this further. With kindest regards, Luca Virgilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed a few nights Regina Baglioni on November 2013, paying more than 450 euros per night for a double room with no breakfast included (breakfast cost 33 euros (!!!!) per person) and having to pay 14 euros PER DEVICE per day to access barely broadband Internet (as we had 3 phones and iPad we were requested to pay close to 60 euros /day to have simple basic Internet access...).

Despite the fact it was November in Italy, we couldn't warm up the room during the night because hotel's central heating was shut down and "is only switched on in the winter months" (reception clerk answer to my query). Of course, in a 5 star + Lux hotel, managers/owners need to save money in A/C....clients may always opt to do some exercise to warm up.....daaaa!

Customer service was despicable for a 5*L hotel, looked more as we were on 2* hostel accommodating group tourists delegations.... I even had to go to the bar to buy and bring myself drinks to hotel living saloon (which also serves as breakfast room, as there is no other large common area in the hotel) as "hotel service is only at hotel bar".

In summary, very bad value for money, negative experience.

Vasco Ferreira, Portugal

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vasco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucaVirgilio, General Manager at Baglioni Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.
I am truly sad that Regina Baglioni was not able to fulfil your expectations and please, do accept my sincerest apologies for your experience.
Regarding the heating issue you raised, I am afraid during your stay the majority of the guests complained about the excessive heat, therefore we have decided to switch off the central heating. This is not an excuse but merely an explanation of what has happened.
Concerning the breakfast and Wi Fi, as mentioned in the confirmation of your booking, your tariff did not include these amenities.
I am terribly sorry for the ‘despicable’ customer service you found, I can say that it is an exception and not the rule here at Regina Baglioni. Indeed, I sincerely hope you will give us another chance, if so, please feel free to contact me directly (l.virgilio@baglionihotels.com) and I will make sure you will fell at home away from home. With renewed apologies, Kind regards, Luca Virgilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

WE loved our hotel. WE had a suite and it had marble floors. keep the room cool. very nice and clean . comfortable beds. They brought in a roll away for our 10yr old.. Not a bad night but after all the walking who could wake up.
Their resturant Brunello was to Chic for our tastes. we had a 10yr old and they tried their best to find something she would like. Their brekfast buffett was fine. all the things you would expect.
The location is perfect. Walk to any of the sites. very easy to find and the choices around the hotel were great. Their concierge was very helpful. I would stay there again and again.

Room Tip: hig floor with balcony was a great room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkbrcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucaVirgilio, General Manager at Baglioni Hotel Regina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your lovely posting. Learning you are willing to stay with us again and again is really encouraging. We are truly glad to know that Regina Hotel and Brunello Restaurant were up to your expectations, I hope your 10 year old daughter liked the different options she was offered by the restaurant staff. Thank you for sharing your experience and look forward to seeing you soon. With warmest regards, Luca Virgilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel Baglioni is a beautiful property with old world charm and décor, well placed for visitors to Rome. Concierge attendance to us was excellent and pleasant, assisting with transfer to the hotel, and following up on our behalf when arrangements failed, but for cause not predicted. That is the end of the merits.

The room into which we were booked was musty, and on admission, was "being aired" ( we assumed )with windows open and door ajar. After the second night following rain,we rose in the morning with irritation in the eyes and my wife complained of a sore throat. The following night, it rained again, and the room (314) smelt decidedly damp. On rising, we found the carpet in the entry saturated. Inspecting the floor and skirting board, we noticed that there was evidence of damp rot, which means that this was an occurrence of long term. Our eyes were very irritated and both of us were suffering from throat irritation. These symptoms are common to mould spore contamination of the air. We complained to reception and received a glib retort that "the air conditioning probably leaked". I was about to launch into a retort of my own when the Reception Manager intervened and precluded what would have been an unpleasant ending to our visit to Rome. Despite his offering a slight monetary concession, it was a most unsatisfactory experience.

This hotel failed in provision of meals as well. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and we asked where we would obtain lunch, expecting direction to the restaurant. The doorman suggested we try "Harrys Bar" or "Café de Paris" just up the road. We did and "Harrys" was excellent. For evening meal we went down to the foyer and found the restaurant doors remained closed. Enquiry revealed that the restaurant was closed on Sunday, but a meal was available in the lounge area. Trying to eat from a low "coffee" table while seated in low lounge chairs is not on option expected from an hotel claiming five star luxury status.

That next evening, after a day of touring, we cleaned up and dressed for our evening meal at the advertised restaurant and found that Monday is the day the restaurant does not open. ("Harrys" was even better for dinner.) An hotel may offer all types of amenity in addition to accommodation and meals but these two are essential. If the room is inappropriate to the comfort and physical well being of a guest, then it should be made unavailable until rectified, If meals are not available in a dining situation, then such fact should be advised to prospective guests. This property has failed on the two basics and does not warrant any "star" rating at all, let alone the title of "luxury".

I am trying to find the appropriate health authority to whom I may report the decidedly unhealthy condition we experienced at Regina Hotel Baglioni. There are better hotels with more modern facilities in that precinct of Rome. Select one of those.

Mike Robinson

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_DEste, Direttore generale at Baglioni Hotel Regina, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Robinson
First of all let me thank you for your precious feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you had experienced some inconvenience during your stay. We have immediately addressed the problem with our Chief of Maintenance and fixed all issues. We have also extended the service in our Brunello restaurant which is now open every day, including Sunday. I sincerely hope we will be given another opportunity in which to redeem ourselves and to show the hotel in a truer light. We will contact you in private to prove you we really care about our guests’ experience and that unpleasant episode is not the standard way of operation at the Hotel Regina Baglioni.
Sincerely yours

Maurizio D’Este
Vice President & Area GM for
Regina Hotel Baglioni, Rome and Luna Hotel Baglioni, Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

From the moment that we walked into the lobby ,we felt at home. The staff was gracious and extremely helpful. We had been working with the concierge for a few weeks.
Our room was large with wonderful linen sheets, great towels and fluffy robes.
We were able to walk to all of our restaurants as well as the Spanish steps and the Trevi Fountain.
The bar experience was BEYOND great. First, the beauty and lighting of the bar is intoxicating ( no pun intended). Our bartender was very sweet and made terrific suggestion. We had two rounds and between the first and second he brought out some beautiful platters of snacks. This bar is one that I would visit even if we happened to stay at another hotel....however, we will stay here again and again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellewood99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucaVirgilio, General Manager at Baglioni Hotel Regina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you ever so much for your lovely posting. It is a real pleasure learning about your satisfaction, especially knowing that you are willing to come back. Our bartender will be very happy to read your lovely comment. We very much look forward to seeing you soon. With warmest regards, Luca Virgilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Splendid in every way, great setting lovely balcony (I think we were probably had a junior suite). Lovely comfy bed and super shower, all presented impeccably. Pleasant and unfussy service from attentive staff. Nice street for shopping with a few reasonable independent boutiques just up from the hotel, sensibly priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith Makepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucaVirgilio, General Manager at Baglioni Hotel Regina, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest, grazie mille for your lovely posting, we are very encouraged by your review.
It was a pleasure for us having you as guest. We truly hope to see you soon. With kindest regards, Luca Virgilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#110 of 1,258 in Rome
1,096 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#255 of 1,258 in Rome
407 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#82 of 1,258 in Rome
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#52 of 1,258 in Rome
1,341 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#66 of 1,258 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#124 of 1,258 in Rome
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Regina

Property: Baglioni Hotel Regina
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 72, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rome
#15 Spa Hotel in Rome
#51 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Regina 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baglioni Hotel Regina is situated on the strategic, central Via Veneto, a stone's throw from the Villa Borghese, Piazza di Spagna and Via Condotti, the famous fashion street. A meeting place beloved of the international jet-set, this hotel in Rome has a magnificent selection of rooms in original Art Deco style. The Brunello Lounge & Restaurant's distinguishing features are its atmosphere of refined design, the unusual arrangements and innovative menu using ingredients of superior quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Baglioni Hotel
Regina Baglioni Rome
Baglioni Regina Rome
Regina Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing