We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, old world charm in a lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ranked #167 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We were only able to book two consecutive nights with Marriott points, so we arrived by taxi from another Rome hotel. The taxi driver looked puzzled when I said Marriott Grand Flora, but Grand Flora alone brought smiles of recognition, and a direct drive to the hotel. We had previously been in Paris for a week at the Marriott Champs Elysees, so we were expecting a great hotel, and first impression of the elegant lobby and efficient reception fulfilled that assumption.

Our room at first glance did not have give the impression of luxury that we had anticipated, but it was a large corner room with windows on Via Veneto and on the street to the right of the hotel. We had a great walk-in closet, spacious entry way and lovely bathroom, and by the end of the first day, I was totally sold on the Grand Flora.

We walked almost everywhere, using the metro only once to bring us back to the hotel on a hot afternoon after wandering far afield. We loved the cafes and gelaterias, and had breakfast at the charming little bar/pastry shop/deli/gelateria just down the street. (first cafe on the right side of the street to the right of the hotel as you face the hotel) and at the Caffe de Oro, near the Pantheon, where they just may, indeed, have the best coffee in the world.

Our laptop loved the high speed internet. Although it was not wireless, the hotel provided us with the necessary cable, and it was fast and free. The concierge was quite helpful in locating a small, unlisted restaurant recommended by a neighbor's family who live in Rome part of the year, and though we had great food everywhere, one of our favorites was Hosteria Costanza, near Campo de Fiori, built into the walls of the ancient Teatro de Pompeo.

We have plans to go back to Rome soon, and hope we'll have enough points left to stay again at the Grand Flora. Although we would not pay $$$$ to stay at the Grand Flora, we do consider it an excellent use of our points, and were quite pleased with our brief stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
There are newer reviews for Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

The service in the hotel is just amazing, during our whole stay. Very very helpful staff and concierge. The rooms are small, very small, but neat, clean and quiet. The hotel is located in a posh road near nice cafes, park and attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We recently spent 4 nights at the Marriott Grand Flora, on points. I am a Marriott platinum member, and was able to get upgraded to an Executive Suite through the help of a Marriott employee. I have never stayed is such a grand and large suite, and everything about it spelled high class. Worthy of 5+ stars!

The location was perfect - next to the gardens and to 2 metro stations. One of the stations has an underground pathway with an entrance next to the hotel. The pathway also houses a supermarket store, which is very convenient. We mostly used the other metro station, as it was a nice downhill walk from the hotel. Some people mentioned that the restaurants close to the hotel are very expensive. I would disagree, although it depends on what you call expensive. There is a mix of mid-to-high end restaurants. We did not eat at the super expensive lounges, but some of the restaurants and pizzerias were reasonably priced, given the high-end locality. We walked to the Spanish steps and to trevi fountains area from the hotel during the evenings. Both were close by and the walk was pleasant.

Breakfast was included in our reservation, and it was excellent! Great variety and selection of breads, eggs, juices, pastries, etc. Fantastic views of the city from the roof-top. I doubt you can get a better selection of continental breakfast and view of the city from any other hotel.

Unlike other reviews, I found the staff extremely client focused and helpful. We sought help from the staff on a number of occasions for locations, recommendations, directions, etc. and were provided with good insights and suggestions. I forgot my laptop plug-point adapter in Florence, and they lent me one free to charge.

The only downside of the hotel was that our room had a couple of small televisions, while I would have expected suites to come with large plasma/lcd screens. Not a big deal, but it should be a small thing for them to fix.

We would not have stayed here if we had to pay out of pocket, but would certainly suggest it to anyone planning to use points. It does not get better than this!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Just returned from a 21/2 week family vacation to Italy. We divided our time between Rome and Sorrento.....perfect balance! We used Marriott points and stayed at the Grand Flora on the Via Veneto during our time in Rome. This was a beautiful, classic hotel. Our room was on the fourth floor and overlooked the Via Veneto, with a perfect view of the ancient city wall. The room was large and very clean, with classic (antique like) furnishings. The bed was not the Marriott bed that we are used to in the US but it was very comfortable. My only real complaint is with the size of the bathroom....very small. Due to our Marriott status we were upgraded to include breakfast every morning which is served in the rooftop restaurant. Breakfast was wonderful, the wait staff was so pleasant (even at 6:30am!) and the view was spectacular....it was the perfect start to every day. The hotel is in a very good location. We are a very active family and walked just about everywhere. When we did use the metro we got off at Piazza Barberini rather than Spagna because we didn't like the long underground walk required to get to the Spagna station. No matter what hour we returned home we always felt very safe walking on the street. I do agree with others who have posted here...the hotel is very pricey...but if you have the points use them and enjoy!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelhappyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Just amazing....top to bottom, gorgeous hotel, security at night. Delicious breakfast on the roof in the AM.
Its Europe, so the rooms are small. Dont expect to stay in a large suite it may be a Marriot, but its still in Rome. Small Rooms VERY clean though. Gorgeous bathrooms. Located on Via Venetto which is very popular with the nicer hotels and restaurants. Although not my favorite restaurants on the strip. Very commercial. Another great thing about this Hotel is it is located across from Villa Borghese which I a beautiful Park, if you get a decent room, you may have an amazing view.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleCiccone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I will stay again but not at peak prices. Location is very convient if you don't mind walks of up to 2 miles.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimftn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott Grand Flora with our two teenage daughters. We were guests for a week, and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. The beds were a bit firm, but comfortable. Our gold status in Marriott Rewards qualified us for free breakfast in the rooftop restaurant, which had a very lovely panoramic view of Rome. We enjoyed the breakfasts, but they are probably not worth the high charge that the hotel charges for those not receiving breakfast as part of their package.

We liked the location of the hotel. The Via Veneto is no longer as "chic" as it was around the time of Fellini's "La Dolce Vita" - but it is a lovely street with many hotels. Across the street on the corner of the Villa Borghese is an entrance to the Metro, Spagna stop. Although access involves a long walk through many subways/tunnels, it is reasonably busy and we used the metro at all times without concern. Also, there's a full-service supermarket in the subway at the base of the escalators, and we purchased very reasonable sodas, water, and snacks there that we kept in the room.

The restaurants ON Via Veneto are expensive, but around the corner to the left of the hotel are many more reasonable eating places. Our personal favorite was Pomodorino on Via Campania (to the right as you exit the Marriott).

We were given side-by-side rooms, as there are NO connecting rooms are available at the hotel. This is an important fact, since the people at Marriott USA had told us when we made reservations that connecting rooms WERE present in the hotel. This is not the case.

This is really my only complaint, and should be clarified between Marriott international sites and Marriott Reservations in the US.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voorheesians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#134 of 1,267 in Rome
937 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#361 of 1,267 in Rome
2,010 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#60 of 1,267 in Rome
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Rome
#101 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Family Hotel in Rome
#117 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $284 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing