We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, lovely service, well-equipped rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ranked #158 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely service, well-equipped rooms.”
Reviewed March 15, 2009

I stayed here for one night in between flights and would definitely consider coming back when I had more time to spend. This is a lovely hotel, with world-class service, as one would expect from a Marriott. It is both a large hotel and part of a world-wide chain. This has both advantages and disadvantages. Perhaps one of the disadvantages is that it's missing the charm of a small hotel. In this case, though, the advantages far outweigh that disadvantage. The hotel is in a great location, near subway lines, a short walk to the Spanish steps, and just outside the Borghese Gardens. I stayed in one of the smaller, least expensive rooms, which was generously sized for 1 but might be a bit crowded with 2 people. The view was toward other rooms, which was just fine for an overnight stay, and very quiet. The bathroom was pretty, well lit, very clean, and well laid out. If you can afford the 30 euros (or if it's included with your room), the breakfast is well worth trying. The front desk staff was professional, helpful, and courteous.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackovita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    440
    169
    56
    21
See reviews for
298
702
35
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

This was about half way through a three month tour of Italy and Europe and was definitly a highlight. We love Rome anyway and the hotel enhanced the experience. From the moment we arrived the staff were great. the room was excellent and the location spot on. Not quite "a few steps" from the Spanish Steps but only about 10 mins. Loads of excellent restaurants of varying prices within minutes walk. Excellent lounge to relax in either before or after dinner. We had two meals there - they were okay. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — nothing in this category
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

This hotel's location is excellent for walking to most of the sites in town. Those that are not in walking distance can be reached by the subway, which can be accessed across the street. (The entrance tunnel to the subway is very long, maybe a block!) For Americans, keep in mind that this hotel is much more European than many Marriotts, especially when it comes to breakfast. Everything about my stay perfect.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougbunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

The Grand Flora is a magnificent hotel. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. From the moment I checked in (very early) I was treated with the utmost friendliness and courtesy by the reception, concierge, restaurant staff and maids. Everyone speaks and understands English very well.

The breakfast is sumptuous by European standards and I ate two excellent meals in the restaurant.

The view of the Via Veneto and the gate to the Borghese Gardens is superb.

  • Liked — The room itself and the staff
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ClareofAssisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2009

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in January. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is in a very nice section of town, but you have to walk a little to get to the major sites. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Rome and doesn't mind paying extra for a nice hotel in an upscale neighborhood.

  • Liked — nice size room by European standards
  • Disliked — It took a 5 to 10 minute walk to get to most sites
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sjf213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

The hotel was beautiful, and the room was a decent size. Our stay was paid via Marriott rewards points. Location was decent, we found everything within walking distance. We are both in our low 30s and enjoyed walking around. We walked to everything except the Vatican,
in which we got the Subway which is approximately 10 minute walk. A cab is needed to go to the train station if you have a lot of luggage, but walkable if you just have carry on sized luggage.
The free internet, and good staff service was great. Not sure I would spend $600+ a night to stay here, but with the reward points it was great!!

  • Liked — Free with Marriott points.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed here on a recent trip to Rome. We had traveled through Rome several times but had never taken time to explore Rome, we were really glad we did. We used Marriott rewards ( 4 nights) for our trip so I cannot talk about value, because free is really great. Being a platinum member we were upgraded to a junior suite, top floor, corner room overlooking Rome. The views from our 2 marble balconies were fantastic, we also had 2 more large windows, which gave us even more good views. Even though our room was located on the busy, noisey Via Veneto our room was perfectly silent when we wanted, they had electronic shutters which really blocked out all noise and light at night. Our suite was huge and very nicely furnished. The furnishings are a little dated, but very nice, in excellent condition. This is a beautiful old hotel and the furnishings through out were excellent. Large nicely furnished bathroom with seperate shower and tub. Everything was finished with beautiful marble. Since our room was not ready when we checked in they gave us free dinner in the main dining room. Diner was very nice, first course was excellent , second course was good. I really liked what I ordered but my wife ordered grilled king prawns and was not expecting the whole prawn, oh well bad choice. Dessert was very good. The evening even started with a nice glass of champagne. One of the highlights was breakfast on the roof every morning. The views of the Borghese Gardens, the Vatican, and downtown Rome were great. We were very lucky and had great weather so we could have breakfast outside every morning. The buffet was very large, with an extensive selection. Food was high quality, and good, not great. They even had diet coke on ice for me, which was really nice. The location of the hotel was very good, lots of very nice ( ie expensive) shopping and restaurants close by. If you wondered off the main street a little you could find many nice, reasonably priced restaurants to chose from. Spanish steps were about a 10 minute walk, metro stop about 5 minute walk, grocery store down the escalator on the way to the metro was nice and very well stocked with anything you might want. We walked all over the city from the hotel, to the Vatican, Trevi fountain, Coliseum, Forum and all the main attactions in town. Some of these were pretty long hikes, but it allowed us to really see the city, and explore the back streets. I would love to return, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDaddy3859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#388 of 1,258 in Rome
1,957 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#124 of 1,258 in Rome
925 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#66 of 1,258 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Property: Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Rome
#95 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Family Hotel in Rome
#117 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing