We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ranked #156 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed February 10, 2009

This was about half way through a three month tour of Italy and Europe and was definitly a highlight. We love Rome anyway and the hotel enhanced the experience. From the moment we arrived the staff were great. the room was excellent and the location spot on. Not quite "a few steps" from the Spanish Steps but only about 10 mins. Loads of excellent restaurants of varying prices within minutes walk. Excellent lounge to relax in either before or after dinner. We had two meals there - they were okay. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — nothing in this category
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    446
    170
    57
    21
See reviews for
305
712
35
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

This hotel's location is excellent for walking to most of the sites in town. Those that are not in walking distance can be reached by the subway, which can be accessed across the street. (The entrance tunnel to the subway is very long, maybe a block!) For Americans, keep in mind that this hotel is much more European than many Marriotts, especially when it comes to breakfast. Everything about my stay perfect.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougbunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

The Grand Flora is a magnificent hotel. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. From the moment I checked in (very early) I was treated with the utmost friendliness and courtesy by the reception, concierge, restaurant staff and maids. Everyone speaks and understands English very well.

The breakfast is sumptuous by European standards and I ate two excellent meals in the restaurant.

The view of the Via Veneto and the gate to the Borghese Gardens is superb.

  • Liked — The room itself and the staff
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ClareofAssisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2009

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in January. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is in a very nice section of town, but you have to walk a little to get to the major sites. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Rome and doesn't mind paying extra for a nice hotel in an upscale neighborhood.

  • Liked — nice size room by European standards
  • Disliked — It took a 5 to 10 minute walk to get to most sites
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sjf213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

The hotel was beautiful, and the room was a decent size. Our stay was paid via Marriott rewards points. Location was decent, we found everything within walking distance. We are both in our low 30s and enjoyed walking around. We walked to everything except the Vatican,
in which we got the Subway which is approximately 10 minute walk. A cab is needed to go to the train station if you have a lot of luggage, but walkable if you just have carry on sized luggage.
The free internet, and good staff service was great. Not sure I would spend $600+ a night to stay here, but with the reward points it was great!!

  • Liked — Free with Marriott points.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed here on a recent trip to Rome. We had traveled through Rome several times but had never taken time to explore Rome, we were really glad we did. We used Marriott rewards ( 4 nights) for our trip so I cannot talk about value, because free is really great. Being a platinum member we were upgraded to a junior suite, top floor, corner room overlooking Rome. The views from our 2 marble balconies were fantastic, we also had 2 more large windows, which gave us even more good views. Even though our room was located on the busy, noisey Via Veneto our room was perfectly silent when we wanted, they had electronic shutters which really blocked out all noise and light at night. Our suite was huge and very nicely furnished. The furnishings are a little dated, but very nice, in excellent condition. This is a beautiful old hotel and the furnishings through out were excellent. Large nicely furnished bathroom with seperate shower and tub. Everything was finished with beautiful marble. Since our room was not ready when we checked in they gave us free dinner in the main dining room. Diner was very nice, first course was excellent , second course was good. I really liked what I ordered but my wife ordered grilled king prawns and was not expecting the whole prawn, oh well bad choice. Dessert was very good. The evening even started with a nice glass of champagne. One of the highlights was breakfast on the roof every morning. The views of the Borghese Gardens, the Vatican, and downtown Rome were great. We were very lucky and had great weather so we could have breakfast outside every morning. The buffet was very large, with an extensive selection. Food was high quality, and good, not great. They even had diet coke on ice for me, which was really nice. The location of the hotel was very good, lots of very nice ( ie expensive) shopping and restaurants close by. If you wondered off the main street a little you could find many nice, reasonably priced restaurants to chose from. Spanish steps were about a 10 minute walk, metro stop about 5 minute walk, grocery store down the escalator on the way to the metro was nice and very well stocked with anything you might want. We walked all over the city from the hotel, to the Vatican, Trevi fountain, Coliseum, Forum and all the main attactions in town. Some of these were pretty long hikes, but it allowed us to really see the city, and explore the back streets. I would love to return, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDaddy3859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Intro:
(During late October and early November, we spent 16 nights in Marriotts in Naples, Capri and Rome using Rewards points. We adored all three hotels, which are owned by the same company; this is the third hotel review from that trip.)

We chose the classic Grand Flora because it faces the lovely Via Veneto in a very pedestrian-friendly area near the attractions we were visiting. It was my husband’s first trip to Rome, and he deserved a first class experience. The Flora building has a long history and is not your typical modern Marriott; its Roman character shines.

What we did while in Rome:
Our goal was to visit the Borghese Gallery, Vatican and Colosseum and whatever smaller museums and sights fit our schedule. We went alone to the Borghese and then used prestotours.com for the Vatican and Colosseum/Forum tours. Having already been in Italy for 10 days, we wanted the last 6 days to be a relaxing time with lots of hours to walk the streets and parks and watch people from everywhere.

Pros:
Many luxury hotels are new and too modern for comfort. They also lack a distinct personality. But not the Flora. No one has built a hotel like this one in at least a hundred years. Entering the lobby and public spaces, you know you are in Italy. As noted before, the staff were superb. Combine that with a well kept, very old property by modern hotel standards, and you have a winner.

Our room was on the 5th floor with a fantastic view of the ancient wall and Borghese Park. There was a wall safe for the laptop, free internet service, and a firm king bed was....... firm. While the bath was small, it had exquisite marble on the floor and walls. Again, the building is over a 100 years old, and had several uses before it was converted into a hotel.

Breakfasts (included with our room) were served inside or outdoors on the 7th floor rooftop with an incredible view of the city. We ate outdoors 3 days and in the other 3 days when it was too windy. The buffet was incredible with food to satisfy all European and American tastes. They even had bottles of Coke and Diet Coke for soda addicts. We ordered our eggs to get soft scrambled or omelets.

Service was superb during breakfast, the only meal we ate at the hotel. The hotel restaurant menus looked attractive but were too expensive for our budget, so we ate off property later in the day. If you walk a few blocks in either direction away from Via Veneto, you will find excellent, but less pricey, meals.

The bellmen always obtained cabs within 5 minutes, and these were the best taxi drivers and cleanest cabs we had in Italy. Most cab rides were less than 10E, and they saved our legs for the long hikes at each attraction.

Our flight home left Rome at 7AM, so we asked for a 4AM wake up call and a 4.30AM taxi. The front desk arranged it, and it went like clockwork. There was no traffic that early, and our driver was fantastic. With the long lines at check in and security, you may want to arrive by 5AM for a 7AM flight. We had only 30 minutes to spare after arriving at our departure gate.

Cons:
As a renovated historic building, this hotel is not easily accessible for the disabled. I remember two stairs at the front door. There are at least five stairs between the check-in area and the elevators. Thus, you must be able to climb some stairs to reach the elevators.

Also, our bathroom was too small for a wheelchair or walker, and the tub looked impossible to crawl out of. We ended up showering because we did not want to risk falling as there was no handrail to hold onto while climbing out of a very deep tub. They did have a string hanging down in the bath, but it was not clear if this was for calling the desk if you fell in the tub. If your door was locked from the inside, I am not sure how the staff could enter your room to help if you did fall in the tub.

We saw few people in wheelchairs in Rome because it is a very old city with few provisions for their access. Most of the buildings have elevators that were added hundreds of years later in cramped spaces with doors too narrow for wheelchairs and steps required to reach them. Often you have to squeeze tightly to get into these elevators. Also the tall cobblestones in many streets make it difficult to push a stroller much less a wheelchair. While we do not use a wheelchair, we would not recommend taking the route that most visitors use due to lack of access.

We did not find a health club at this facility; you may feel (as we did) that after walking the Seven Hills of Rome all day, you will not need a health club. A relaxing shower and luxurious bed were all we craved.

Bring sturdy shoes or hiking boots for your walking tours as the paths are treacherous in places due to missing and loose cobblestones, especially around the Forum area. A good map is handy there as well. We relied on Rick Steve's Rome guidebook for mountains of helpful info from the planning stage through the end of the trip.

As mentioned above, restaurants on Via Veneto were too pricey for us. We turned left going out the front door of the hotel, and turned left again at the corner. Three blocks down was the San Marcos, a lively, huge restaurant where we found an early dinner for less than 50E a couple. They offer take out if you want to eat in your room.

There were several other restaurants( within 4 blocks of the Grand Flora) that offered excellent food at 25E a person. With a large breakfast, you should be able to make it on one other large meal a day, especially if you sample their excellent gelato midday.

Conclusions:
The historic Grand Flora perfectly met our needs, and was a valuable reward for the 100 nights a year my husband spends in Marriotts. We would pay for this hotel if we did not have sufficient points because we felt safe and it was first class. The location was perfect for seeing Rome.

  • Liked — We felt safe and secure in a huge, foreign city that we have come to love.
  • Disliked — We could not afford to eat in the hotel restaurants for lunch or dinner.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bagsalwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#373 of 1,261 in Rome
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#131 of 1,261 in Rome
929 reviews
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Property: Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Rome
#94 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Family Hotel in Rome
#117 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing