We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I admit I am biased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ranked #167 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My son in law works for marriott corp, so we STAY AT MARRIOTTS often! This one was not cheap, even with my discount. However, fabulous location. AND one thing you can always count on with marriott, fabulous beds and linens. I have never found a marriott yet where it is not true. If you are an American and want to avoid typical American chain hotels, forget it. Nice exterior, great location, and, as always great beds. By the way, BIG ROOMS!!!

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Lasalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
There are newer reviews for Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

What to say about Rome, Italy... It is a great place to visit and when it comes to hotels in Europe, you need to be careful, but if you choose the american chain hotels you almost right. And that happened with me. I picked the Rome Marriot Grand Hotel Flora because it was a Marriot hotel in one of the great spots in Rome. Right pick! The room we had was not so spacious, but pretty much standard compared with other hotels in Europe. The bathroom was impeccable clean. The bedroom was great. The room was very quiet. We loved the services. The breakfast in the roof top had one of the best views of the city where you could see the Vatican from there. Great location! The price was a bit expensive, but it was worth every penny. If you go for business or tourism, this is certainly an hotel that will give you a great experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hotel was lovely; rooms spotless; great food. The location was perfect for everything and the view from our room was very nice. We wish the staff were more customer friendly - front desk was either great or mediocre. Instead of concierge lounge the hotel provided breakfast in their rooftop restaurant. The food at the buffet was well presented, plentiful and delicious as was the restaurant itself. The service however was not up to par. We were there for 4 days and always had to search for the waitress to bring coffee and refills. The furniture in the rooms needs to be replaced or refinished, but these are small issues. If you are in Rome, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the wall of the Borghese Gardens.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flsunshinegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I am not big on staying at "American" hotels when traveling overseas. I prefer to get a more authentic experience. However we were flying out of Rome, and rather than have a long morning commute, we arrived in Rome the afternoon before and spent the night.

All I can say is I would only stay here if visiting Rome (and this was my 3rd visit to Rome...)! It is gorgeous! I don't know if it is ranked as a 5-stay hotel, but I would! Very plush, pristine and outright perfect. The front desk staff was so wonderful. Checking in was a breeze, we were advised that if we wanted to wait a short time (It was only 1PM) we could get an even better room which was being cleaned. We waited less than an hour (had lunch outdoors at the hotel restaurant - also fabulous) and checked into a beautiful suite!

Since this was a new area of Rome for us, we had many questions about where to dine (we did not want to drift too far - 12 days in Italy, we were tired), and they did a phenomenal job. The little restaurant around the corner was awesome - no way we would have found it without the help of the concierge.

Practical notes; subway right accross the street, so easy. 15. Euro cab ride to Vatican City, lots of shopping nearby, Avis(?) and National car rental almost next door. Avoid Harry's Bar across the street - super expensive and a tourist trap. The lobby bar is so cool, stop there instead. Last, the bellmen/valet's are fabulous on getting you where you need to go. Not sure I will ever stay anywhere else when I return.

Room Tip: The street side rooms offer a beautiful view, but are very quiet. The photos on the website are accu...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoveForty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Location could not be better. However, when paying over $650 per night for a room I expect more. It does not live up to the 4 star rating in my opinion. Room was very basic and hotel is older. Service was good. There are better hotels at that price out there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Marriott in Rome and were very happy with our choice... The hotel is very central, with the Borghese villa gardens, Rome zoo and a few museums within 10 - 15 minutes walking distance.... The spanish steps are also within 15 minutes walk and the metro is very near as well. Rooms are clean although on the small side. The beds are ok although not as comfortable as some in other Marriotts we've stayed at, the pillows are lumpy and really bad. The real plus of the rooms are the closet space, of which there is quite a bit and the bathroom, which is great, so is the shower!! Breakfast was included in the price and the hot and cold buffets were fine. The selection of cheese, cereal, ham was also super. There was even prosecco for those wanting to start the day on a celebratory note. The staff in general were very helpful, smiling and friendly. Internet is not free of charge unfortunately, but at 9?/week it's not really a problem (especially when you consider that you have to pay a city tax of 6? per night...). We had dinner in the restaurant one night, but it wasn't of a high standard I can recommend. There are many much better restaurants in Rome at much cheaper prices....

3  Thank Vivyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

As I read other reviews i always see some truth in the poor reviews but most or overstated. This is a wonderful older building with excellent decor. Yes the carpet isn't brand new but it doesn't need replacing, it is in good condition. Our room was at the front on the main street so there was some noise at night on friday and saturday but it didn't last. The vast majority of the rooms are not on the front so most won't have this problem. Rooms are smaller but not cramped, bathrooms are also small but very usable.

The roof breakfast area has a great view of the city. The Hotel would be better service to make it into a bar for night views. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. As a top tier Marriott rewards member I have stayed in hundreds of Marriott's and this rates at the top. For those that are familiar with the Marriott Mayflower property in DC you will enjoy this property. Think of it as a scaled down version of the D. C. Mayflower.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mirgons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#135 of 1,267 in Rome
937 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#358 of 1,267 in Rome
2,009 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#57 of 1,267 in Rome
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Rome
#101 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Family Hotel in Rome
#117 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $284 - $707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing