We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ranked #163 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked this hotel with out Marriott Rewards points. The location is great, right on Via Veneto, which is an upscale place in Rome. A 10 minute walk to Piazza Barberini and you can catch one of the many jump on/jump off buses. You can easily buy tickets at the newspaper stands there at the piazza. These seemed to be the best way to get around and see the different sites since they are far apart. The buses come to each stop every 15 minutes, and proved reliable and fun. The hotel was very upscale and clean, what I would expect for a nice Marriott property. The rooms was small but clean and updated. Since we paid with points, I can't say whether or not it is a good place to stay for the money, but for the points it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter than the street rooms (and cheaper).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agentjut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I spent a week in this hotel at the very top of the Via Veneto. We had a very pleasant week at the hotel. The outside rooms on the Via Veneto are noisy because of auto traffic and should be avoided. Conversely, the inner courtyard rooms, where we stayed, were quiet and comfortable. There is a roof top terrace restaurant that serves breakfast. The location is superb, the view of St. Peter's Bailicaexcellent, and the wait staff very courteous and efficient. The front desk staff members were very well trained, also courteous and business like. We were quite satisfied with the hotel. One needs cab or subway travel to all sights of significance except for the nearby Villa Borghese. They are not in any walking distance.

Room Tip: Sleep quality dependent on location of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markcinnamonmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on points. We arrived around 11:30 AM and our room was ready for us-yeah! Room was small but more than adequate for our needs given a short stay. Nice thing about Marriott is that you can see exactly what the square footage of your room will be when you book. We had a view of the road and ancient city wall to the back of the hotel. Check in and out were quick and friendly. Doorman was nice and helpful when we needed a point in the right direction. The hotel is literally right next to a taxi stand which came in handy more than once and it appears to be directly across the street from the Metro (even though we did not ride it). Just across the street from the Borghese Gardens. Convenient and enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Okapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first trip to Italy and the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora was a great place to start. Our overnight flight to Rome left us with a very early arrival so I didn't expect a room but after a few minutes they actually had one for us and upgraded us to a junior suite with a living room and huge balcony. Staff was very helpful with directions and we enjoyed the quiet setting away from Rome's high energy at the end of each day. Location was convenient to restaurants, Subway and a few of the major attractions but be aware that it's at the top of Via Veneto so you're walking up the hill to the hotel. No problem for us but I can imagine it might be an issue for some seniors. I saw other comments posted here about cool reception at the front desk and cold food at the breakfast buffet and we saw a little of that but nothing worth downgrading the experience. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning and received all the service we asked for everywhere in the hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Was able to check in early, and our room was quite large overlooking Via Veneto. Terrific patio on the top floor for breakfast, with an amazing view. Prior to arrival, a reservation agent (Marco Piccininno) had emailed me to let me know my room preferences would be given careful attention (and they were!). I really appreciated the extra attention!

Unfortunately, the "sandwiches" we ordered in the lobby bar were terrible and took 40 minutes (with no one else in the restaurant), the bed was not as comfortable as Marriott beds are normally, and no ice machines (had to order from room service).
Otherwise, a fine hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Situated a half block from the Borghese Gardens, The Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora is in an excellent location and is a comfortable business hotel. (We stayed on Marriott points, don't think I'd pay the very high standard rates.) Our room was small, but nice and as a silver Marriott member we received a nice fruit plate when I asked what our amenity would be upon check-in.
My one real disappointment was that when we checked in or otherwise went to the front desk I found them to be efficient, but not friendly.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As a Gold Rewards member, we were very disappointed that none of our advance requests for a high floor, quiet room and additional towels were granted. Even a guarantee for a queen bed was replaced by two twin beds pushed together. However, upon entering our room there was a welcome note from the general manager and a certificate for a bottle of wine at the restaurant which was very nice.

Our third floor room was nice, with adequate space and was quiet except for traffic noise. Housekeeping was consistently very good.

Anna Rosa at the front desk was very helpful. Most other front desk staff were poor to rude.

The rooftop setting for breakfast was very nice with options for sitting inside or outside and provided a great view of the city. The food was okay, but they were slow to replenish buffet items. There were a couple of days where the pancakes and waffles were not available the entire time we were there.

We really enjoyed the hotel restaurant – great staff, good value, and very good food.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DebiandLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#127 of 1,269 in Rome
952 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#359 of 1,269 in Rome
2,050 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#57 of 1,269 in Rome
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Rome
#97 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Family Hotel in Rome
#117 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $284 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing