We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #73 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great hotel very close (within walking distance) to Termini station and even closer to Castro Pretoriano Metro station. The staff were absolutely excellent and professional. Very professional Hotel was clean, good breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    647
    97
    16
    10
See reviews for
532
993
73
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Very well kept, clean, with special stylish touches. Friendly and helpful staff that made you feel welcomed. Nice, although small, lobby area. Convenient location near the railway station, although not at the very best spot of Rome.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Yannis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This was our 3rd stay at Hotel Canada and I nearly booked somewhere else just to try a different neighborhood. I'm so glad I didn't! This lovely hotel was every bit as good as I remembered with a friendly, helpful staff; large comfortable rooms and a plentiful breakfast buffet. It is conveniently located near Termini and the metro, making it easily accessible to all the sights in Rome. The little lobby bar with complimentary homemade treats and old family photos is a nice touch. I booked our 4-night stay online, confirming via email that we would be arriving late in the evening. No problems.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelerfr0mtheS0uth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is a charming hotel with a 1920's elevator within walking distance to the main Rome train station. The room was clean and spacious. The hotel staff polite and friendly. The breakfast was very good -- the coffee is excellent but order it as soon as you get to your table. For North Americans, this is not your typical Best Western. It is a renovated older building with marble floors and castor iron railings. If you stay here, there is a great takeout pizzeria on the same side of the hotel on the right hand side as you exit. There isn't much to see in the area where the hotel is but the Metro is nearby so everything is accessible by transport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toronto_ontario_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is our 8th ladies European city break and it must be by far the best hotel we have stayed in. it is one of those hotels you want to give more than 5 stars to. The staff were always happy,friendly and helpful.The rooms were spotless, the bedsheets heaven and in the triple room more space than any double room we have had. The metro was near and also many nice reataurants. Again we loved you Hotel Canada and will definitely return

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

After just returning from the Best Western Canada we can find nothing to fault about this hotel at all. The staff were attentive and friendly, the room was beautiful, clean and spacious. After finding out that it was our anniversary we had a bottle of bubbly left in our room on the day we arrived. The location of this hotel is excellent as it is surrounded by excellent Trattoria's, within a 5 minute walk from Termini, and for us was walkable to al of the tourist spots (except for the Vatican we took the Metro) Richard the bartender was lovely, as was Arber in reception, making sure that he recommended a beautiful restaurant for us during our stay. We will definitely be staying here again.

If you're staying for the weekend and opt for carry on luggage only, then you will not need to bring any toiletries as the hotel supplies everything, even toothbrushes and shaving kits. The pictures on line do not do it justice.

Don't bother with a cab from the airport if there are just 2 of you, as the train direct from FCO to Termini is only 14 euros, and takes 30 minutes. The walk from the station to the hotel is around 5 - 10 minutes dependant on your pace. There is a gorgeous pizza stop just down from the hotel on Via Vicenze with every kind of pizza you can imagine and really reasonably priced

The hotel bar was ridiculously cheap, charging only 2 euros for beer and soft drinks, and 2.50 for branded spirits such as courvoisier

All in all a gem of a find

Room Tip: We opted for a deluxe double room and we were not disappointed. We kept the windows closed and the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKayfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I loved our room for the nice sized cupboards and storage. The bathroom was roomy and nice towels in abundance! The hairdryer kind of became dislodged when I tried it, but good thing I was carrying my own dual voltage! I also really appreciated the multiple country wall sockets which make it so convenient for using our hair appliances.
The location was a bit far from the Termini but great for the Metro stop. There were lots of restaurants on the next block over which were full of life and busy no matter how late you went.
The breakfast was a bit pricey for what they offered. I also thought they could have had more fresh fruits, or at least bananas!
But, overall, it was very nice with the staff being quite helpful and pleasant. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
2,621 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#79 of 1,258 in Rome
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#95 of 1,258 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Relais 6
#29 of 1,258 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing