We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #72 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We arrived very later to be greeted by helpful friendly staff who immediately made you feel at home. Throughout our stay, everyone was happy and helpful. The hotel was clean and well situated for travel (Metro lines in easy distance)

We would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    647
    97
    16
    10
See reviews for
532
993
73
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The is a high quality hotel. Everything was spotless and very clean. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, the jem is Arbor, who welcomed us, he has a great sense of humour and is an asset to the hotel. Our bedroom was large as was the bathroom, very comfortable six foot bed.
There was a very good choice at breakfast, the staff were very friendly and professional. I could not believe the bar prices, very reasonable for a hotel. Bottle of wine was 7 euros. The lounge and bar were very comfortable with pre drink nibbles always available. We used it as a base for 4 nights over the rugby weekend. Would recommend it to anyone and we will use it again if in Rome. You have a lovely hotel, well done to you all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

You owe it to yourself & your partner to pay the price & book this hotel for pure luxury from the moment you walk though the front door until you go back out.
The place exudes the x factor in luxury decorations throughout with Georgian style furniture in the bedroom & unashamed quality & has one of the best matrasses you may sleep on in the world outside of your own.
The breakfast buffet is first class.
Our room was 434 at the back & very quirt which is what we wanted.
Cons:
The lift is a cross between the Dr Who's Tardis & Faulty Towers but works fine, just a little quirky.
Money saving tip:
Make up some filled bread rolls from the breakfast buffet & take them with you for lunch.

Room Tip: 434 is at the back & very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at The Canada for four nights and found this hotel an oasis after wandering around Rome each day.All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a room with a balcony which overlooked the courtyard. The room was lovely spotlessly clean with a separate sitting area. All toiletries are complimentary you don't even have to take a toothbrush and toothpaste.We also asked for a tea tray which was brought promptly to the room as was an iron and ironing board we asked for one evening. The breakfast area is light and bright with friendly and efficient staff. The choice of breakfast was ample with a nice continental table and also cooked eggs and bacon( be it Italian style.) with a good choice of hot drinks. Each evening on our return vey weary after sightseeing, in the bar area is a lovely selection of snacks and nibbles we enjoyed these with a couple of very reasonable priced drinks. Richard the barman looks after you very well. The lounge area is comfortable with a nice library section. We also liked the fact that photographs of the family are dotted about making it more personal. It is a ten minute walk to the termini at the top of the street as is a not too bad Chinese restaurant if you fancy a change from pasta. There are plenty of eating places in the area. However we found it better to eat at lunchtime in the town as we were too tired to trawl the area on an evening. The area is a bit scruffy as it is near to the termini however do not let this put you off. We caught a taxi to the Vatican on the Wednesday as we had an audience with the Pope! this cost about 10euros.Every where is within a 20min walking distance either way from the hotel You will get lost along with everyone else looking at the maps that are at in the hotel lobby but what a place to get lost in. Many thanks to The Canada for making our trip more memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janmark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Used the hotel as base for recent 6 nations match, Italy vs. England.
Good location, helpful staff, and comfortable public areas and room. All clean and tidy.
Breakfast choice and quality was good too.
Definitely would recommend and use again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDC3829FB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel was very convenient being less than 10 minutes walk from Termini Station and with a metro stop just round the corner.I t is away from the busier areas of town. You do need to keep the windows closed and the air conditioning was not working that well in the room we were in. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, hotel was very clean and tidy. Our standard room was large, bathroom small but well equipped. The breakfast offering was excellent with the exception of the coffee ( assume this was standard Best Western issue - certainly not Italian quality ). Doubt we would look elsewhere when we are next in Rome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hotel is ok - good location with good travel links to everywhere. staff are great very clean and tidy. Can get noisey here depending on where you are in the hotel. easy walking distance to bus and metro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sezzyhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
2,621 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#80 of 1,257 in Rome
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#94 of 1,257 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Relais 6
#29 of 1,257 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing