We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #72 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Best Western Hotel Canada was an ideal place to stay. The service was top notch and we couldn't believe the extent to which the front desk staff helped us. For example, Arber, one of the exceptional staff, suggested we return our car to the nearby train station rather than taking it all the way back to the airport. He offered to call Hertz and clear the way for us, which would have been difficult for us with our non-existent Italian. In a matter of minutes, he saved us a few hours and made our day even better!

The front desk staff were as friendly and accommodating as we've encountered in any hotel anywhere in the world we've stayed. Whether we asked for directions, restaurant or shopping advice, they were knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and seemed to really want to help us. They deserve accolades for how well they do their jobs.

We chose a deluxe room which was spacious, the bed very comfortable and the amenities excellent. The buffet breakfast was the best we've had anywhere in a "breakfast included" hotel.

All in all, top notch. The hotel is rated 3 stars but deserves 4.

Room Tip: To minimize street noise, request a room on a higher floor and facing the centre of the building. W...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VancIslandFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,133)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We decided to book at the Best Western Canada Hotel after reviewing countless Hotels in Rome on Tripadvisor. We prefer researching others experiences prior to committing to a particular property. It just always seems to work out better that way. This Hotel was no exception. The many favorable reviews we read led us to this Hotel. We arrived somewhat late in the evening, approximately 7:30 or so at the Termini in Rome. I stepped out of the Termini knowing the Hotel was 4-6 blocks, but being tired, we headed straight to the Taxi stand, when I showed the address to the cab attendant, he said, no cab, walk 3 blocks and you are there. He pointed to the next street up, and said go that way 3 blocks. He was right, bone tired, and sorely needing to get someplace comfy, we trudged along, pulling our huge suitcases behind us. Our first thoughts were scary ones, as we soon encountered graffitti on every wall along the street. My wife was definitely starting to worry as we trudged along, but within 1 block, the scenery started to change, and the vibrant nightlife of Rome was just ahead, filled with sidewalk cafes, wonderful smells, and the sounds of a thriving Business District. The walk was a short 3-4 blocks, maybe 300 meters or so. When we arrived at the Hotel, we were pleasantly surprised at how nicely appointed the lobby area was. We checked in with no delays, and were escorted to the elevator (lift) located just off the lobby. It was very small, but was better than the 3 flights of steps we would have had to climb. It was actually sort of romantic since the size was so small. It was open, so no feelings of claustrophobia here. Our room was nicely appointed, with 2 balconies, one on either side of the room, facing a central courtyard. Every time we stepped out for a smoke, I got the distinct feeling we had traveled back in time to New York in the early 20th century, as all of the units windows faced the central courtyard. There was laundry hanging on lines, luscious plants thriving in the semi-lit courtyard, windows open, and conversations going on at every level, very cool. The next morning, we went to check out the breakfast buffet. Wow, plenty to choose from at this buffet, Prosciutto, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, breads, croissants, pastries, cereals, fruit, you name it, it was there. Also, Coffee, cappucino, juices. I can't believe anyone would complain about the food at this buffet, it was great. The other great feature of this hotels location is that it's only 50-60 meters to the subway, and 1 stop from the Termini. The busses also ran within 2 blocks of the hotel, making getting around Rome very easy. There are also plenty of sidwalk cafes nearby, plenty to allow you to go to a different one every night for a week or more. So, all in all, Perfect Hotel, Perfect Room, and Perfect Location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthSiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary here, and were surprised by a bottle of bubbly and chocolates!

Our room was beautiful with a painted ceiling. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and although the room was not huge, it was very quiet with excellent sound insulation and quiet air-con.

Breakfast was plentiful and the receptionists were very helpful. The bar with its offering of tasty snacks was great and provided an excellent beer after some very hot days of sightseeing.

The hotel is located five minutes walk from Termini and is even closer to Castro Pretorio metro. There are lots of small restaurants in the area, and we especially enjoyed La Tavernetta and Meid in Nepols.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay and rate this hotel the best of the type. Old world feel and décor, efficient staff, clean with a great late night bar at sensible prices. The bar nibbles were best in class.
It's so convenient as well, in that you can walk to the main railway station in one direction and the Trevi Fountain in another. It's also very close to a metro stop so for those not walking it's very convenient for all the sites in Rome.
Excellent stay and would recommend to all my friends

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Headsup71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel was quite nice, the old world detailing made it really stand out. The staff were helpful, and the breakfast staff were amazing. The breakfast (complimentary) was the best we'd had throughout our whole trip. A variety of hot and cold selections, really good. A number of toiletries provided free of charge also.

The location was fine, close to the metro. You could walk to attractions buts it would be atleast 30 mins.

The only issue we found was the hotel's entrance had steps no ramp to get your luggage up, so if you've got heavy luggage you are lifting it up a number of steps just to enter the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeycombn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and could not have been more pleased. We had a lovely, spacious room #214 with a very nice bathroom. Very clean. Beautiful decorated with a separate business alcove. The staff was professional and very helpful & friendly. The breakfast spread was excellent with many choices. They have a bar with snacks but we did not partake so cannot comment on that but I am sure it was up to their standard. The metro was around the corner making it very convenient to travel to all the sights. The train station was down the same street but several blocks so a cab was more convenient though it was a doable walk without a lot of luggage. There were a couple of restaurants close by but we usually ate closer to the sights. It was fairly quiet as well. I would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MnMStanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Am just back from a fantastic 5 night stay at Hotel Canada. Have stayed in many hotels in Rome over the years but this was by far the best one (and not the most expensive!)
No complaints whatsoever! Staff friendly and welcoming, buffet breakfast excellent, rooms spacious and clean.All in all an absolute gem!

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing courtyard are much quieter though even the road-facing windows are very we...
Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank AnnaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,347 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,267 in Rome
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#105 of 1,267 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,267 in Rome
2,664 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $106 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing