We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great mix of old and new” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #67 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great mix of old and new”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just returned from 6 nights at the Canada.We have stayed in many hotels of all types all over the world and we have to say that the Canada is the cleanest hotel we have stayed in .All areas of the hotel are spotless without being sterile. The staff are very friendly ,Richard the barman is an asset to the hotel and he makes a mean G+ T.The Canada is ideally located for the Terminii Station and the metro.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 75MoragM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    615
    90
    15
    9
See reviews for
504
946
69
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 5 fantastic days in August 2013. I had reserved 2 rooms one for my wife and I as well as another for my 3 kids (ages 20, 17 and 12). The rooms were clean and comfortable with more than enough room. The breakfast buffet was outstanding (thanks Massimo !) with a great selection. We bought coffee, dessert and various items in the restaurant after a day of sightseeing and found the quality and price to be extremely reasonable. The metro station is just steps away (use Castro Pretoria, avoid walking to the metro at the central station). It's about 500m from Central Station but we found it safe and clean even later at night. The convenient metro and bus service took us to all the attractions. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Wasn't disappointed with our stay here. A clean and bright hotel in a more traditional style than the concrete and glass of more contemporary hotels. Staff helpful with good English. The lift is a must see. Close to termini and some good restaurants. Next time in Rome it's back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have just had 6 nights at the Canada. This was our second visit because we loved it so much the first time. We were horrified to learn the air conditioning is turned off at the beginning of October regardless of the weather. We spent our 6 nights struggling with the unseasonably hot weather in Rome. We had to open our windows which were on a very noisy street. As a result of being a little cooler the late night bars and restaurants kept us awake. We approached management but there was nothing to be done. We were given a fan but it did little to help with the outside noise. This is not good enough for a hotel advertised as having air conditioning. We were also very disappointed with breakfast. Please don't offer hot food like scrambled eggs and bacon and serve them cold every morning. The staff and cleanliness of the hotel were perfect but unfortunately the lack of sleep day after day is very draining. Unfortunately we are unlikely to return to this hotel after many years of recommending it to family and friends

Room Tip: For two people ask for a corner room with windows on both sides of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miareuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Kind of a near the last minute deal. Close to Termini Station, easy walk. A bit pricy for what you get.

Room was clean and well set up...except the power doesn't work without the key in the door slot. Meaning with the temperature being 28 during the day, there's nothing moving in the room, not even some default cooling to take the room to a nice 24 or 25 from the sun baked 30 ish that it was. Makes the sleep a bit rougher.

Good breakfast. Oh and what's with the city tax having to be paid in cash. Interesting.

Otherwise, all good really. Food around is not that special though. Take the time to go where you should based upon your research.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank better_beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is just lovely! It is clean, has nice decor (especially in the main lobby bar) and the staff were so helpful. The breakfast has a terrific selection and our room was very quiet (we had a queen room facing the inner court which was a great size). There is a metro line just around the corner .... line B and the A line (major train station) is only 5 min walk away. We had plenty of choice for eating at night and there is a laundromat 3 mins walk away. The bar area was perfect for our group to meet in after a long day of walking to just relax and before we headed out for dinner. The staff (Giovanni and Arber) really made our stay so enjoyable. (Also...a recommendation... if you have time...visit a place called Ostia, amazing!!! yet no-one talks about these amazing ruins. Well worth it with kids too but allow a few hours as it is big!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have been to Italy 4 times and always stay in Rome a few nights to relax, walk, and catch up on sleep before vernturing out to other parts of the country. Hotel Canada is the most welcoming place I have stayed yet for my Rome stayover. The hotel is a few extra blocks to the center of town, but I have never minded walking a little extra in Rome. The breakfast was fantastic, with freshly made espresso drinks and fresh-daily pastries, as well as egg dishes, sliced meats and cheeses, and fresh fruit. And the afternoon "snacks" and bar selections were often as good as we could find elsewhere in Rome. These things, combined with the elegance and comfort of the room, ensure that I will stay here again on a future visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed equally elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveShunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: Via Vicenza 58, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant period palazzo in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the fruit of the experience of generations of hoteliers and a tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building housing the hotel - constructed in 1870 to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from the main central station "Termini" (circa 400 m) and well connected with both airports of Rome, Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in a very comfortable position. Being close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) allows every guest to reach the famous and touristic Rome downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing