We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #73 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We really loved this quality hotel. Great location for sightseeing and business in Rome. Its room's are spacious and furnished in really high quality materials and furnishings. They serve a nice breakfast and the staff are all extremely cheerful, polite and helpful without fawning all over you which I find annoying. Its an unusually good hotel that we will stay at again.......and again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigFozMorecambe_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    655
    97
    16
    10
See reviews for
541
1,001
73
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere in Canada =8^)
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very comfortable hotel close to Rome Termini in city centre. Friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast with lots of choices. Even though our room was on the corner of two busy streets, the room was very quiet thanks to double-double pane windows that blocked most of the noise. So quiet, in fact, that we had to open the windows to verify that what we thought we were hearing on the final morning was actually thunder!
Hint if you are walking from Termini - if you go out the front doors of the station, you will need to walk an extra two blocks. If you go out the north-east doors, you are almost at the Via Vicenza intersection and it is a straight 4 or 5 blocks of fairly easy terrain to navigate with a roller suitcase, as long as it isn't too heavy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidPnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel on the edge of what would be considered Termini is a great location if you want to be able to walk from the rain station and still be not too far from oldRome. The rooms are large and comfortable,the breakfast is excellent, and the staff is helpful. Although this is an area that is heavily touristed, with a short walk you can find some very good restaurants.

Room Tip: The elevator is old and funky, so be prepared to walk up stairs to your room or wait for the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gersona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel has to be the best value in Rome. I have stayed in 5* hotels that are no where near as good Hotel Canada. The staff are extremely helpful, the rooms are beautiful, and the overall service cannot be faulted. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elocamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Expectations play such a big role when it comes to travel and dining. This hotel selection definitely met my expectations and I was very pleased.

If you are looking to spend around $200 US dollars (vs $300+) this is a great hotel option in Rome. I was looking to not go over board on the expense for the hotel in Rome, but didn't want to feel that I "settled or suffered" for booking just under the $200 USD mark. Thankfully that was not the case with this hotel.

Cleanliness is very important to me, especially when booking in a large city. This hotel had great attention to that, which was evident in the house-keeping practices, particularly in the bathroom. The room itself was also clean and the downstairs lobby/bar/living room was well tended to as well.

The hotel definitely maintains a small and personal approach. The check-in, bar and sitting rooms are all within the same area on the first floor. Returning from a busy day of sight-seeing, and sitting in the lobby area was an extremely pleasant way to unwind. Go up to the counter to order your drink or sit in the casual living-room-like setting, and order from the friendly attendant.

Getting the free internet was doable, but did take us some time to figure out. We were also only able to access it from the sitting areas downstairs, but that was fine for us on this trip (where we weren't expecting to spend so much time in the room).

Breakfast was enjoyable enough, particularly being complimentary. They had a larger selection than the breakfast offered at our hotel in Venice. Items are just a bit different than we're used to the States, but that is part of the experience when traveling abroad. The coffee service was very attentive.

The hotel is close to Tremini (main train station) and a metro stop. We did walk with our luggage from Tremini to the hotel. It wasn't immediately around the corner, but easy enough to do with 3 rolling bags, and saved on taxi fare. We did order a taxi for our morning flight back to the States. The front desk helped us with that and the car arrived on time.

We did travel in October, so the heat was not an issue for us.

We did dine at the nearby Mama Angela's and were very pleased with the meal. It is right around the corner and was an easy choice for our first night there (having arrived in the early evening). We sat outside and enjoyed the food and experience.

What I definitely recommend is the gelateria around the corner; it was superb. So much so that we went back every night (and usually I like to try new places vs repeatedly returning to one). http://www.icecreamfactory.it - Via Palestro 47.

Also get the Roma Pass if you plan to take the Metro and/or go to the Colisseum, it was recommended by another tourist we met on the first night and was very good advice.

This hotel fit the bill for me and my husband (we're in our 30s/40s), but I will comment that it's not what I would call a happening spot or a "scene," which was just fine for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAHM1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The breakfast room was extremely hot, no air conditioner and smelled awful every day. I couldn't stand to eat there after the first day. It really was that bad. I gagged, fighting not to vomit.

They claim to provide free wifi but it is a lie. I and others not related to me lined up to speak to the manager who was clueless and offered no solution. No Internet service either, in the lobby or at the desk.

Every day I had to call for towels for 3 people. I paid for 3 people but they continued to supply for 2. I asked for 3 beds and was only provided 2, claiming they don't have rooms with 3 beds, only to pass an open room, days later, with 3 beds.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eciaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Canada_Roma, Proprietario at Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re really sorry to hear the you didn’t appreciate our hotel, but we would like to stress that our manager and the front desk staff did all possible to help you and let you enjoy your stay.

As far as the temperature in breakfast room is concerned, we think it is extremely subjective as in Rome in September is not so hot, especially during the morning, when we do have air conditioning in all our hotel (rooms, public areas and breakfast room) and outside there are about 20°C, and, honestly, comparing the other reviews posted only in the month of September about our breakfast (quality, atmosphere, etc.) , yours is the only one with a so bad feeling.

You stayed at our hotel from Friday to Monday morning days and on Sunday morning you reported such a problem with the Wi-Fi in your room and our manager, Rafaa, was able to solve quickly the problem and gave you the possibility to go ahead with your work in the room, while you continued to use the Wi-Fi connection in the lobby.

You made a reservation for a twin room for two people, and arrived at our hotel in three. Our front desk staff promptly gave you assistance in this matter and offered you a room for three which was ready (at around 11.00 am) and advised you clearly that it a was a room with a queen bed (suites well for two people) and a single bed or a room that would be ready in one hour with three single beds. You choose the room which was ready.

We read you had exactly the same problem at the Best Western Rivoli Hotel in Florence…we’re really sorry about that…

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent 6 days at the Hotel , Couple with a baby ,
The hotel stuff was very friendly and helpful ,The room was clean and big (We ordered the Deluxe room and not the regular one).
The room was ready for us pre-arrival which was nice (The crib was already in the room , the number of towels etc... )
The breakfast was OK but I have seen better ...
The Location was OK but almost any location in Rome is close to “something” ...
There were 2 issues We found problematic :
1. the elevator : small and old model , it takes forever till it comes , we found ourselves climbing the stairs with a stroller many times ... (Good that it was only 2 floors and not 5 )
2. the WI FI does not work ... we did get a number to call in order to fix it but after a day out when we came back to the room we didn’t have any energy to handle that and start calling the WIFI help desk , The front desk did give us few new WIFI users to try after we claimed our does not work but none of it worked as well .
Overall the hotel is nice and friendly , If we ever get to rome again we might stay there again .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#76 of 1,261 in Rome
2,643 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,261 in Rome
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,261 in Rome
1,325 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,261 in Rome
1,199 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#97 of 1,261 in Rome
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing