We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't go wrong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #67 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Clean. Comfortable. Convenient. Friendly. Not too expensive. What else do you need? :-)
Things I liked about it in particular were the snacks/drinks in the evening at their little bar. Richard the bartender was extremely friendly and helpful (but I found all the staff to be friendly as well). In addition, unlike most North American hotels, they don't jack up the prices exorbitantly. It only cost a few Euros for a nice glass of Frascati. Also good was the proximity to Termini from there you can get on any of the metro lines or trains out of town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexArcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    615
    90
    15
    9
See reviews for
503
946
69
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

A lovely hotel, clean and central to termini.
Staff were amazing. Snacks every night at the bar. Breakfast was good but you need to get there early. Our last day food was cold and dried up.
We walked from the hotel to many are

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mictru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel for many reasons, the main ones being:
Location: Okay so it's not exactly central but it is very close (5 minute walk) from Termini so if you are getting the bus or train in from the airport then you are virtually dropped off on the doorstep. There is a metro station literally across the road so transport to all the main sites (Vatican, Coliseum) is quick and easy. Also the area is quiet compared to being in the middle of the city.
Local Food: There are some great bars and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. My favourite was Mamma Angelas (went twice) and if you want to spend a bit more then Il Fellini's is in walking distance or quick taxi trip.
Hotel Staff: The staff in Hotel Canada were all so helpful, the reception staff were always happy to provide advice from food to transport options to sites worth seeing. The bar staff were just amazing, so polite and a great sense of humour. Also the bar was without any doubt the cheapest drinks we managed to find in the entire city, always good for a quick drink before going out in the evening (and again when you return).
Rooms: The rooms are great, a good size and well equipped but the main thing is their décor, they have silk effect wallpaper and painted ceilings which looks very impressive. Everything is spotlessly clean and toiletries are ample.

As for Rome, what a city. So much history and sites you have seen so many times on television and movies but you are still blown away by the grandeur of the Coliseum, the opulence of the Vatican and the sheer beauty of the Sistine Chapel. We were there for four days and will definitely be back as there is so much more to see.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I travelled with my family and reserved two rooms.The rooms were furnished elegantly and comfortable. The breakfast was very good including fresh fruits.The location isn't central but very near to the metro station and just one station from termini. We left early in the morning and they brought us breakfast one night before, including kettle to prepare warm drinks, fruits and jams and pastry. It was very nice.Free WIFI and on the 3rd floor the connection was fine. I certainly will come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms near the staff service room are noisy in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnina_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We chose this hotel based on online reviews for a three day stay in May. We were extremely pleased in every way! It compared favorably with many 5-star hotels we've enjoyed all over Europe - our room was large and very nicely decorated and I loved all the beautiful painted ceilings. Breakfast was delicious. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hotel Canada to our most discerning friends!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have rarely experienced such a good experience in a hotel. In one sentence, the best hotel experience I had so far. Loved it, would go back anytime. Very good service from a super friendly staff.
Thanks to everyone

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were very happy with the hotel. We also picked it based on reviews written here and were not disappointed. In particular we were happy with the quad room which nicely accommodated our family of four. We had a king sized bed in a lovely room with historical touches and the kids each had their own twin bed in an anteroom. Everything was very clean. The price was very good. The breakfast buffet is decent. Everyone speaks very good English and strives to be helpful. My issue was the location which is near the train station (good for some) but not near the heart of the city. Also, I agree that knowing about needing to pay the city tax in cash in advance would have been helpful. We were leaving Italy that day and trying to keep as little Euro in our pocket as possible and still get to the airport.

I would highly recommend the hotel and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJTrekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#77 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,927 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: Via Vicenza 58, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant period palazzo in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the fruit of the experience of generations of hoteliers and a tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building housing the hotel - constructed in 1870 to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from the main central station "Termini" (circa 400 m) and well connected with both airports of Rome, Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in a very comfortable position. Being close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) allows every guest to reach the famous and touristic Rome downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing