We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm, close to Termini station.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #69 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Rooms were clean, beds comfortable. Breakfast was great, great selection. Nice afternoon hors d'oevres in cozy lobby. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location was 5 minute walk from Termini train station and 2 minute walk to Metro stop. Most attractions were easily reached on foot or by Metro with a short walk thereafter. Highly recommend Rome Pass bought at tobacco shop nearby to save on having to stand in line at attractions and it also covers public transport.

Room Tip: Room facing main street was very quiet due to dual pane windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in mid July. This was one of our all time favourite hotel stays ever. The staff, fantastic breakfast and coffee (I am still dreaming about fig pizza pie), excellent location, and spacious, clean rooms with lots of character made this one a winner. We walked everywhere, only used metro once to get to Vatican and then made our way back on foot along the river and through winding streets. I would encourage people to explore Rome on foot, there are hidden treasures awaiting around every corner. We enjoyed a glass of Frascati wine or a cold beer upon our return along with complimentary yummy snacks every evening graciously served by Richard - the kindest, nicest man and bartender. And for only 100 Euros/night with breakfast, it is a steal! Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard facing room, as requested, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambercoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is very nice. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was huge and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was fantastic... large with nice complementary amenities...a very nice touch. The hotel is walking distance to termini, and even closer to the metro station Castro Pretorio .. from there, you can get to almost anywhere in Rome quickly and efficiently. I would definitely reccommend this hotel. A special thank you to the management for providing a nice bottle of Asti Spumante for our honeymoon... very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TB_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had one night in Rome following a Cruise and needed lodging where we could leave our bags while we explored Rome, prior to and after check in. We arrived at approximately 12:30 p.m. on a Friday, just before a downpour. We were able to head straight to our room and wait out the rain before heading out to the city.

I loved the charm of our room. There was a Toile panel behind the bed, and a toile coverlet on the bed. The ceilings were high and had been stencilled. The room was spacious for 3 of us. The beds were hard, though we seemed to be able to sleep comfortably. The bathroom is quite large. The shower is typical for Europe, hand held shower head which moves up and down on a bar. It is odd in that it is in the middle of the tub, but it did the job, and it is much better than taking a bath and trying to get clean with the hand held shower!

The breakfast is one of the best we have found in Europe. You have many different choices, rather than the standard hard rolls, cheese, and lunch meats. There were several sweet roll choices, hard boiled eggs, egg souffle, yoghurt, etc.

As far as street noise, we had a room on the corner, facing both the streets, and we didn't find this to be an issue. Though, I find it hard to believe people complain as Rome is a city. One should expect a certain level of noise.

The staff were very helpful, allowing us to leave our bags while we visited Rome prior to our flight. They even suggested taking a taxi to the airport rather than shleping our bags back to Termini in the heat of the day, advising the taxi is only a few Euro more. This was actuallly the best tip of our trip. We now question why we took the Termini from the Airport on the first leg of our trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvlRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I and our 2 kids stayed here for 4 nights. This was our best experience in Rome out of 3 times. The hotel was spotless and it was very nice inside. The service was excellent, very friendly staff willing to help you find good restaurants or places around the city to tour. Great complimentary breakfast as well. The rooms were extremely clean, very spacious, and the bathroom was large and comparable. The only downside to this hotel is that you can not walk to the main areas of Rome but it is right on the subway line and it's also right beside the train station. The price was very fair. I would recommend this lovely hotel to anybody travelling in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingcitizen156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our first hotel in Italy didn't disappoint us. The room was spotless, big bathroom (which is hard to find in Europe). it's a 2 minutes walk to the Metro station; located in a very safe area. The breakfast was amazing, we sometimes skipped lunch because when u have a really good breakfast you're full for a while. I will recommend this hotel to my friends and family

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have visited Rome 4 times now and love the Hotel Canada. We love the bar prices (2 euro wine? Best deal in Rome!) and the fact that they have snacks (chips, nuts, olives, cheese, meat) for free in the evening. We would get wine and have a snack before heading out to dinner. Also breakfast is wonderful! Most hotels in Italy only have coffee and a pastry of some sort. Hotel Canada has an included breakfast of eggs, bacon, cereal, pastries, bread (toast), juice, coffees, yogurt, fruit, meat and cheese. We left full every morning.
We stayed in 2 different rooms during our stay. We left for the coast for a week and came back. Both rooms were wonderful. They were very different making it fun to stay twice. One room had a canopy bed! The room included phones, cd/mp3 player, hair dryer, shoe shine kit, toothbrush/toothpaste, shampoos and soaps, and slippers. You can ask for an iron to be brought to your room. Room service is free except during breakfast hours there is a small charge. There is a small elevator and the staff is very nice. The only problem we had was loud neighbors but that is not the hotels fault. We were on the same floor as a family in multiple rooms. They kept running down the hall, knocking on doors and yelling. The walls are thin and this kept us up some nights. Overall we loved our experience. It is within walking distance of Termini as well and very close to the subway.

Room Tip: Stay on the end of a hallway-less neighbors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella1979Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,531 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#79 of 1,271 in Rome
2,700 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,271 in Rome
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $99 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing