We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marcello!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #72 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel lives up to the excellent reviews it has received....it's spotless, very well located, the breakfast, for Italy is good, but it is above all the staff who make this hotel outstanding, obviously chosen for their cheerful outlook and friendliness....we would like especially to mention Marcello! But both Robertos and Adnan deserve a mention too.... The brilliant bar, with drinks at cost price, including a fabulous latte at 1.50, is accompanied by a selection of "petit fours" which are laid out for you to help yourself...and it is this true customer friendliness that makes this hotel worth visiting. The only problem at this hotel, and that I believe the direction should tackle, and has been mentioned before....very poor sound-proofing.....and inside door between room and interior hallway would solve it (expensive I imagine)...but one can hear everything going on in the hallways.....luggage trollies, staff, guests etc....this can be a real disturbance in the mornings. I asked for a quiet room, with bath high up in the building and was given exactly that, despite the hotel being very full...They go the extra length here!

Room Tip: Take a room higher up....
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estherl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,134)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

Had a long weekend stay in this Hotel (17th - 20th May). What a lovely Hotel. Good location, 2 mins from Termini. Nice room with decent sized bathroom. Nice relaxing reception/bar area with very reasonably priced drinks! Great staff, very helpful. Nice breakfast room with a good spread. If there's a negative, it would be wifi, worked ok in the bar but no signal on the 5th floor, but is that a bad thing?
If i find myself in Rome again, i would head here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank artyadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a quick stop over in Rome and this was a hotel recommended by someone who worked at our cruise line. We've had less than perfect accommodations in Rome on previous trips and we were a bit wary. Nothing to worry about here. This hotel is in a great location, staff very helpful. Within walking distance, a few blocks, from the train station. Lovely room. Dinner recommendations were great and affordable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights from May 4 to 7 as part of our Honeymoon to Rome, Florence, paris and Prague.

Requested a non-smoking room and that is what I got, a very nice room on the first floor overlooking a small quiet courtyard. My wife and I loved everything about this hotel from the breakfast to the wonderful staff. The location was great also. Lots of restaurants in the area. We tried the Italian pizza joint a 2 minute walk away as it was frequented by locals. Good food and reasonably priced.

Whenever we go back to Rome we would like to stay at this hotel again.

We made the mistake of taking the Rome subway in morning rush hour. Big mistake as the trains are extremely crowded and commuters are rushing like crazy to catch the next train. Worse than rush hour in Toronto on the transit system. Later we took a taxi back which was reasonable priced. When you order a taxi from this hotel it comes in less than 4 minutes.

There is allot to see in Rome but our day at the Vatican we had lots of rain in the afternoon which was just fine as the Vatican Museum is packed like sardines and hot and stuffy inside. More customers more money.

Rome is a wonderful place to visit but many places look seedy and run down in an interesting, artistic way.

Room Tip: Try to get a non-smoking room on the first floor above the reception desk (for wi-fi) in the courtya...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamcatcher_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights to do the usual tourist thing. I'd read the varied reviews & took them all on board.

Firstly, if you would prefer any particular type of room, ask when you're making the booking! I asked for a quiet room with a 4 poster bed & that's exactly what we got! Admittedly when you opened the windows there was some traffic noise, but when they were closed it was completely silent!

If you want tea & coffee in your room, ask for the complementary tray, which includes some speciality Twinings teas. It's free & topped up every day!

Selection of complementary toiletries included in the bathroom, plus some slippers!

Breakfast was buffet style & had a great selection of hot & cold food, juices, bread, pastries, fruit & hot drinks served to your table by the waiting staff, who were all very pleasant & attentive, but not overly so.

Drinks in the bar were more keenly priced than in the local eateries & there were complementary nibbles in the bar every evening.

Tried another reviewers recommendation for an evening meal, Trattoria I Leoni d' Abruzzo, you won't be disappointed & it's only 100 yards away, just turn right as you leave the hotel.

Found the cheapest way to get door to door transfers from the airport to the hotel & back was by using Shuttle Direct. Approx £9 each way per person. Book it online before you travel, print off the vouchers & look out for your name on a board at arrivals, what could be simpler!?

We had no problems with pick-pockets, but it's always a good thing to have your witts about you at all times & not give them an opportunity to get their mits on your valuables. Plenty of beggars about but just ignore them, they're probably better paid than you are!

Finally, take an umbrella with you, you may not need it but you'll get plenty of street sellers trying to flog you one if you're caught out in a shower & you don't have one!

All in all an extremely pleasant trip to a stunning city!

Room Tip: Politely ask for what you'd like when you book the room, DON'T leave it until you arrive!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband, another couple, and myself stayed for three nights at the Best Western Hotel Canada! The hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the train station and bus stops making it easy to get from place to place. Several restaurants are within a short walking distance and are reasonably priced. We found the hotel to be well maintained! Our room was very comfortable. The lobby is beautifully decorated with comfortable seating areas to relax. The breakfast buffet was very good! We found the concierge to be very helpful in making recommendations as to restaurants and providing directions! The only negative is that the Internet service is very spotty and erratic! We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in 1993 and had a great experience. This time, not so much. First the good; the breakfast was great and the service wonderful. The location is very good with many sights, restaurants and the train station within walking distance. Now the not so good; we found the desk staff unhelpful. In addition, we were there in May and the temperature was in the upper 70's and management would not turn on the hotel air conditioning. They said open the window. That was fine during the day but there was a restaurant with street seating right under our window that was noisy until after 1AM. Also, there was constant traffic and cigarette smoke would drift up so we had to keep the windows closed at night. This was not an inexpensive hotel and not turning on the air conditioning was a major fault as far as we were concerned. If you use the train, be careful when someone approaches you and offers "help" you get to your train. This is just another method of panhandling and they will demand money if you allow them to assit you in any way.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the courtyard.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,267 in Rome
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,267 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,267 in Rome
2,666 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $105 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing