We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stephen J friendly welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #73 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stephen J friendly welcome”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Best Western Hotel Canada in Rome for 7 days during April, arriving from Florence by train to Termini Station, and finding only a 5 minute walk remained to the hotel. The staff were very friendly in particular Massimo and Roberto in the breakfast room. All the popular tourist sights are downhill from the hotel so the walking is easy. The rooms are large by European standards and provide all expected facilities.

Room Tip: 1st floor was very handy and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,336
    656
    97
    16
    10
See reviews for
542
1,002
73
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Canada in April 2013 on recommendation of our travel agent. It was a really good place to stay. Clean and comfortable with a good breakfast buffet. Only 5 mins walk from the Termini and a good walk from most interesting sites in old Rome. Rooms were quiet and the internet is free. Great little restaurant only a couple of doors away and downstairs.

Room Tip: Any room would probably be a good one. The double glazing on the windows means you don't get any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Canada in Rome over the May day bank holiday weekend. The hotel was easy to reach from the airport. We took the bus to Termini station (1 hour and €5 fare per person) and then it is just 5 minutes walk from the station. Alternatively there is an express train that takes half an hour and runs every half hour from the airport to Termini at €14 per person.

The hotel is very well maintained and beautifully decorated, even the ceiling in our room was decorated with an ornate painting. We had a super-king size 4-poster bed, which was very comfortable and we slept well. The only negative was that our room was near the road and so was quite noisy from traffic. The double glazing kept a lot of the noise out, but the quieter rooms are at the back overlooking a courtyard. However I think these rooms are a little smaller and not quite as nicely decorated.

Breakfast is buffet style and there is a large selection - cereal, ham and cheese, bacon and egg, fruit... It does tend to get busy later on though, so ensure that you get down early or allow plenty of time.

Room Tip: If you would like a quiet room, request one overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

BW Always offers good amenities & reliable comfort at a great price. We weren't so lucky on the price because of late booking. But for that we thought it we got a great room and its location was great as well. Enjoyed the lovely breakfast every morning.

Its walking distance to the Termini which is the hub for all travels within Italy.

Only point would be that the staff can be more helpful to tourists in giving tips and advice on attractions. & the air conditioning in our room wasn't that great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandrachood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just stayed at Hotel Canada for 4 nights- first visit to Rome (recommended by colleague). Traditional décor- but as already mentioned- the staff are great- so friendly and helpful. Four poster in bedroom and massive bathroom. we were on first floor (thank goodness as I don't like lifts) and this one was straight out of- 'Are you being served' for those UK folk who know what that means!! with gates to close before doors. Only down thing- air con seemed to come and go during the night so got quite warm.
Would definitely go there again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superbabe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is full of Italian charm. It is tastefully decorated and appears to have been renovated recently. Near the Termini train station which was an easy 10 minute walk for us with our heavy luggage (on wheels). Also close to the metro. For Italian standards our room had a good size, was clean and well laid out. The comfortable bar is reasonably priced and serves free nibbles with pre-dinner drinks. The breakfast was varied and delicious. We find this hotel great value for money and would stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nous2ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from 19th April 2013 for 4 nights this is our second visit to this hotel and we are glad we did excellent hotel .5 minutes walk. From main train station and also bus station . staff are absolutely fabulous nothing is too much trouble our room was on the first floor there are stairs to the rooms also a lift if any one is thinking of visiting Rome then I highly recommend this hotel. Are definitely planning our next trip to Rome this time taking the whole family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,264 in Rome
2,467 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,264 in Rome
2,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,264 in Rome
1,328 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#100 of 1,264 in Rome
1,201 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,264 in Rome
4,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing