We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent breakfast, good location and helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #67 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast, good location and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed in Rome for four nights in Hotel Canada. The breakfast there was excellent and it is located 2 minutes away from the Metro station and 10 minutes from the Rome Termini Station. There are lots of restaurants in the area with a supermarket. The staff is helpful too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKSARHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    615
    90
    15
    9
See reviews for
503
946
69
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from staying at Hotel Canada. This hotel has good and bad points. First it's situated in a very good location for transport from airport,only a 3-5min walk from Termini station which is great for buses and the local sight -seeing tour buses. However you are better to pay for the Roma red tour bus than buying for the green tour bus which the hotel recommends, as it's a lot cheaper. The area is pleasent and safe and even though it's near a lot of busy roads,the double glazing is excellent,except for when an ambulance goes pass as these are very loud. A city tax charge is separate from bill and has to be paid in cash.2 euros per person,per day.

We booked direct with Best Western,nice and easy. The staff on reception were excellent,spoke english and very helpful and polite. Maids and waitresses were also friendly. However note that you do have to ask for tea/coffee facilities to be put in your room,which are free and also if you want an iron. Fridges are not available,air-con and safe are. Bathrooms have toothbrushes ,mini toothpaste,soap,shower gel,shampoo,bathcap,pack of tissues,cottonwool,handcream,earbuds and even slippers. Rooms are very clean,spacious and more 4star than 3. TV has 1 english bbc news channel on large screen tv. Beds are very firm,double beds can be two singles put together.

Our breakfast was from 7-10.30am. Breakfast was slightly disappointing. There was a good selection of cereals,breads,cakes,drinks,cold meats and cheeses but eggs didn't seem cooked enough,sausages were hot-dog style,fruit juices from concentrate and if they ran out of some foods then that was it,the staff didn't fill up on any more.

Having said all of this,i found it to be a good hotel,clean,well run and good location,near transport,shops and lots of restaurants. Rossi's restaurant on the same road was reasonable,good menu,friendly service and had excellent food. I would definatly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for fea/coffee or iron as these are avaiable, but you do have to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in mid July. Rome was beautiful in the hot sunshine - and the room that we stayed in was comfortable and cool after the exertions of the day.
Most notable about our stay (other than the large comfortable bed, efficient air con, clean sizeable bathroom, varied and generous breakfasts, and such good sound insulation that the road noise from outside didn't encroach at all) was the amazingly friendly staff. We felt so welcomed, and all of the staff from reception to bar to housekeeping were warm and accommodating. It's also worth mentioning that the room decoration was lovely, and that the bar offers a reasonably priced menu for drinks, limited cold foods, and lovely complimentary bar snacks throughout the day. All in all the quality of this hotel far exceeded our expectations based on what we have experienced of hotels in a similar price range in other major European cities - larger rooms, better service.

The location is not the most central, and might not be to everyones taste, but it is very convenient for all transport including the metro, the over line trains (we used these to and from the airport, and for a day trip to Florence), and buses. It's very easy to get from most parts of the city to Termini by bus, and we didn't agree with some travellers that the area felt unsafe, and felt comfortable walking there at night as well as in the daytime.

I would heartily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of 1st floor corridor near cleaning cupboard probably best avoided for late risers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lambylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have just got back from our third stay at the Hotel Canada and we are pleased to report that it is just as good as we remembered.

It really can't be faulted - everything about the hotel and every single one of the members of staff are just great.

It's all been said before but the location is perfectly placed for the airport and travelling around Rome.

Try Pizzeria del Secolo just on the corner - delicious or Ristorante Pretoriana two streets down - good food and value for money. Avoid Mamma Angela's - living on the hype of other TA reviews.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim-Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our family was in 2 rooms over 3 days. The rooms were (1) ready when we arrived from our overnight flight!!! & (2) within 2 rooms of each other!!. Was tremendous that we were able to get into an A/C room on arrival to freshen up. 5 min walk to metro, about 15 to Termini. Breakfast was excellent with hot and cold items & waiter for drinks. Rooms were very big for big city: bigger than New York for the price. Is in a close-in residential area. Having working A/C was great. Front desk gentlemen spoke pretty good English.(By the end of the trip one had our 20 yr old speaking enough Italian that he said he's give her the best room in the hotel when she got married and came back.!) They ask that you deposit keys with front desk anytime you leave. They were responsive to email, too, as we had to change our reservation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b12800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for a weekend in June, and had an absolutely wonderful time. The hotel is clean, quiet & has a lovely old-world charm. Our room was huge and modern with a good-sized bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Breakfast was impressive - a large choice of very good food and excellent coffee - you must try the delicious pastries!! The hotel is within walking distance of the main train station, and just around the corner from a metro station. It's also just a couple of metro stops from all the main sights of Rome. We can't fault this hotel, and will definitely stay here again when we next visit Rome. A fabulous weekend, grazie!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joeylovestodive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

My family of six (four adults and two teens) stayed in two rooms here for our pre-cruise trip. We chose it based on TA reviews, reasonable pricing and proximity to the Termini station since we were taking the train to the Civitavecchia the following morning. I reserved online through regional Best Western site and received a very nice confirmation letter and receipt from the hotel itself in the mail shortly thereafter.

We arrived early afternoon and our rooms were all ready for us. There was plenty of room for everyone to refresh and relax after our long journey from California (followed by a great 2 hour tour with Rome Cabs!). The rooms have tile floors which helped keep the rooms cooler along of course with the A/C. The bathrooms had enough space for two people at any one time and were nicely equipped and clean. There were even a pair of packaged slippers.

Internet service is included, though signal strength wasn't very strong in the rooms themselves. Not a big deal since we only needed to check email and stuff so it was easy enough to access in the lobby or hallways.

There is a small elevator but since were were only one floor up, it was easy enough to carry our bags.

The public areas were bright and welcoming. The breakfast room and food selection were very good in our opinions, especially the selection of pastries! The staff were all very helpful and pleasant as well.

The hotel itself is nicely situated to many nice restaurants and of course gelataria's! And as mentioned previously, only a few blocks away from Termini station, which was an easy walk with our luggage the following morning.

Overall a very pleasant stay even though it was only for one night. I could easily have stayed here longer.

I only wish the US Best Western hotels were at the same level of quality and service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#72 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: Via Vicenza 58, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant period palazzo in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the fruit of the experience of generations of hoteliers and a tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building housing the hotel - constructed in 1870 to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from the main central station "Termini" (circa 400 m) and well connected with both airports of Rome, Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in a very comfortable position. Being close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) allows every guest to reach the famous and touristic Rome downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing