We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #69 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I liked everything about the Hotel Canada and would stay there again. I found the staff very helpful and friendly. My room which was on the second floor and directly over the lobby was very clean and very quiet. The hotel is an easy walk from the main train station and the metro. The breakfast was outstanding and the dining room staff exceptional. Dollar for dollar an excellent value. I recommend this hotel for budget minded North Americans.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 2,180 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

we were recommened to this hotel, excellent recommendation - we were on fifth floor, noisy with traffic - when we closed windows no noise - it is a city break after all. Some people were very noisy going to their rooms and quite late into the night. Could be a little more considerate to other people staying in hotel. Breakfast excellent, drinks in the bar very very reasonable with free nibbles to help your drinks go down - these nibbles prepared by the bar tender, who is extremely helpful and nothing too much trouble. The room service was extremely good, any problems dealt with immediately. Rooms very clean. Hotel very close to termini, metros. and train station. Try the train journey to tivily, you will not be disappointed, we had a wonderful day there - the garden is spectacular.We used the shuttle service from the airport 6 euros, Really good as the shuttle buses are just outside the airport. The tickets were sold to us on board easyjet together with the tickets for the sightseeing hop on hop off bus in rome. The only problem we did have was in the trattoria which is situated in the same road as the canada and next to the American bar, didn't seem to be very keen on the british!

Room Tip: ask not to be too close to lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytraveller186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Hotel Canada offered efficient friendly service, rooms decorated in a traditional and tasteful style, and a very convenient location just a short walk from the Termini. Super clean and super quiet (we were on the 5th floor with a room facing the rear of the building) The staff serving the excellent breakfasts offered wonderful service and were very friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel when in Rome and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highflyer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

It is really hard to find any criticisms about this lovely and extremely well run hotel. There are two slight negatives which should be covered first before getting on to the many many positives about this hotel. Firstly was the lack of electric sockets; there were only two available which were at skirting board level meaning to get to them you had to climb over a bedside table or an armchair. Secondly is the location which is a bit out of the way - however in some ways this is actually a positive as it meant when you returned to the hotel you were leaving the crowds of central Rome behind! Although the hotel is not in the heart of Rome, it is just around the corner from the Castro Pretoria metro stop or a ten minute walk to the Termini both giving easy access to the rest of Rome by either metro or bus!

The hotel seems to have thought of almost every detail and nothing was too much trouble, starting with a lovely and welcoming reception area, comfortable bar and lounge area with loads of books to borrow. All of the staff were friendly and really helpful but special mention should be given to Vincenzo on reception and bartender Edwin; who was a real joy!

Our room was lovely and really tastefully decorated with (what looked like) antique furniture, cd player and radio, built in safe and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever had in a hotel. Our room included a separate seating area with a desk making us feel like we had a suite! The bed linens were clean and the housekeeping staff kept everything spotless. We also had a large bathroom with all the usual shampoos etc and a pair of terry slippers! Although there was no tea or coffee facilities in the room, after requesting some with reception they delivered a "kit" to our room with a kettle within minutes. This was when we first discovered the lack of sockets. Considering the hotel has given so much thought to the details of the room, even installing built in nightlights which you can switch on from your bedside so that you don't disturb a sleeping partner if you need to get up in the night this seems a small detail they missed! Our room overlooked the central courtyard making it very quiet, although we missed the views we did get a balcony and were able to sleep with our windows open.

We were celebrating a birthday in Rome and found a bottle of Moet and strawberries waiting on our arrival. We didn't drink the champagne till our last evening and left a note for housekeeping in bad Italian that morning asking if we could have the ice bucket filled and on our return that evening had a lovely bottle of nicely chilled champagne. I'm not sure you'd get that service in most 3 star hotels!

A highlight of each day was the lovely (free) buffet breakfast. Angela and Massimo looked after things really well and went above and beyond each day to make certain we had everything we needed or wanted. Massimo would bring our usual cafe con latte without us even requesting it. The buffet was beautifully decorated and all foods were appetizing and included cereals, fruit, yogurts, meats, fish, cheeses, varieties of rolls and pastries, juice, and bread and jams etc.

The hotel has WiFi, which you need to get a code for from Reception, but there is also a free computer to use in reception. One thing we thought was lacking was a printer but we were able to email our Boarding Passes to reception who delivered them to our room.

Coming back to the hotel after a hard day sightseeing was a joy, making use of the free nibbles in the bar with a drink. The bar is the cheapest I've ever known in a hotel; a cafe con latte, espresso and a very generous limoncello was €5,00 - and to be served by Edwin was a real joy!

Talking of dinner, although there is no restaurant in the hotel, the staff on reception were more than happy to make recommendations or reservations. There is a choice of restaurants in the area, we did eat at one of the recommendations on the first night but for the rest of our trip ventured back into central Rome each evening for dinner before having a leisurely walk back to the hotel (about 30 minutes) for a cafe and limoncello before bed!

We loved every minute at this exquisite hotel, we were really sad to leave and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliveNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stayed here for our last 3 nights in Italy and we were extremely happy with our choice. Got a free upgrade to a very large corner room. The breakfasts were above average and the front counter staff couldn't be any more accommodating. The metro is right around the corner and the train station a 5 minute walk away. Everything was clean and comfortable and the bar prices in the evening were most reasonable. Lots of good places to eat nearby as well. Try this hotel you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duke1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Quiet, gracious and quaint hotel with all the perks. Spacious bar with snacks in the evening, fabulous breakfast buffet, wonderful beds, close to many restaurants and very accomodating staff. Blocks to train station and tour bus pickups.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy0549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed there for two days - we liked almost everything, except a very narrow bathtub (no possible to sit down comfortely, taking into account that we have 38 size in clothes:). Rooms were remarkable!! Veru high ceilings, all decorated subtly, spacious rooms. Delicious B/F, although we did miss tea-making facilities in the room... Staff worth a separate mentioning... Especially JeanFranco!!! He is the best!! Unlike his colleague (dont recall his name, he was servicing us on the evening of check-out - 21 May)... once we asked him to get to know the working hours of FCO airport tax-refund facility, - he couldnt find out - he tried caling the airport (we found out ourselves later on - when got on Internet and FCO webisite). Next time we asked him the exact address of the FCO to put in our GPS navigator - he said "What a strange question?! Airport is aiport!! How would I call in and ask such trifle thing?!" No comment.
Apart from this lazy-thinking person we can only praise this Hotel and its staff!! (Porter-boy was especially lovely person!!).
Hotel is quite high in demand, so better to book in advance!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina_Ivashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,531 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#79 of 1,271 in Rome
2,700 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $100 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing