We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible stay, terrible staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardi Fiamma Hotel
Ranked #1,122 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible stay, terrible staff!”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The hotel staff from The very beginning we're not very nice, kind of angry all the time, making a mess of the reservation.
The hotel facilities were low quality, a leaking ceiling in the hallway outside the room that was making noise during the night and was not fixed for at least five days!!!
Poor variety for breakfast, problems with the hot water, we could not take a shower for two while days!!!

All in all, this hotel doesn't even deserve its 3 star ranking, don't come here!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arcmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    86
    141
    96
    138
See reviews for
86
163
34
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

At first sight, it was a pretty good hotel near the center of Rome, but when we wanted to go to sleep we discovered bed bugs. There were at least six of them in our beds. We complained and got another room, but we had to split up. then the next day when we asked for our keys, the man behind the desk accused us of never having given them back. Then he discovered that the room had already been rented out to another person. We got other rooms but my friend's luggage was missing. after that we asked if they could arrange it so that we could sleep in the same room and he asked us who was supposed to do that. Apparently there was no personnel present. And all of that is just the tip of the iceberg.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the top floors, they're supposed to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zoe19950311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Situated right next to the Baths of Diocletian but in a quiet side street Hotel Fiamma is only 5 minutes walk from Termini Station.

I first stayed at this Hotel in 2007 and the surrounding area was pretty seedy with loitering drunks. The area seems to be cleaned up now (especially around Termini) and the drunks have moved on.

The continental breakfast is awesome and our room had a giant marble bathroom fit for Julius Caesar.

All Romes major attractions are within walking distance and there are plenty of good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocketfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed in this hotel when I was 15 after an exchange program & liked it so booked it to return, I am now 19 & stayed with my Nana. Maybe because I am young I appreciated it more but my Nana & I have very different expectations & she wa very happy also. After reading all these horrible reviews I was worried about what I had go us into! But once we checked in we were greeted by friendly staff & were relieved to find (a small) but very clean & cosy room with a nice bathroom. This is a 3 star hotel so dont stay here if you whinge about specks of dirt etc, too many people are like this!! Rome is an ancient city so the buildings are very old & hotel fiamma is well maintained but it's easy to see it isn't brand new. Buffet breakfast was great & free wifi 24/7 even better! 2 minute walk to termini station & underground but beautiful 20min walk thru the streets to trevi fountain, Spanish steps etc. For the price I think this is a great hotel & I am still shocked to find all these
horrible reviews after my great stay there!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgiamcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Fiamma Hotel in Rome has a nice location, but thats it! The first night we got bitten by bedbugs, so we went to the reception and got another room. In the other room we also got bitten by bedbugs, and the worst thing was that we were going to bring the nasty little bugs home with us to Denmark, so we had to spray all our clothes with insecticide and our entire luggage. And when we came home we had to freeze all our stuff to be sure that no bugs were alive.

That was the worst thing about Fiamma Hotel. Add to that the cleaning was very poor, there were bloodmarks on the walls from the nasty bugs, cold baths and a spider in our morning coffee! I will never go there again,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camilla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I found this hotel via the Thomson website but chose to book directly as was cheaper. Was travelling for my birthday and whilst I didn't expect 5 star treatment/rooms, I did expect something functional and clean. This was sadly not the case.

We stayed Friday until Monday, on the first night, we found the room not to have a window, a damp, musty smell, wall paper that was peeling, and the 'double' bed was made up of two, very uncomfortable singles pushed together at different levels. The bathroom was no better. The shower didn't sit at the top of the rail and kept falling down, and the floor of the shower was so badly drained, it flooded! The minor problem was that the TV didn't work.

Anyhow, I asked that our room was changed, and having been told we would have to stay put that night, as the hotel was full, we were promised a room change the next day. This I had to chase. The second room itself seemed ok, bed was better, decor clean, and no musty smell. However, we soon discovered that the drainage wasn't much better in the shower, and it was also not at all hot, luke warm at best until the Sunday night when it eventually, became something resembling hot. This I can only put down to poor plumbing. And, the next problem - the toilet didn't work... And despite leaving our key with reception on the first night and constantly complaining asking for this to be fixed, it wasn't and we were ignored, so we ended up having to use the hotel's 3 floors down!

The staff were not particularly helpful, and I certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. In fact, I'll be taking the issues raised here even further.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Not the best hotel, but close to bus and train and in a quiet street.
I get bitten by bedbugs and one of the beds was bad. Poor breakfast

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sellers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Siviglia Hotel
Siviglia Hotel
#941 of 1,291 in Rome
257 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Bled
Hotel Bled
#902 of 1,291 in Rome
287 reviews
Monti
Edera Hotel
Edera Hotel
#760 of 1,291 in Rome
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel San Giusto
#1,108 of 1,291 in Rome
381 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#761 of 1,291 in Rome
398 reviews
Esquilino
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
#346 of 1,291 in Rome
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardi Fiamma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardi Fiamma Hotel

Property: Leonardi Fiamma Hotel
Address: Via Gaeta 61, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,122 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardi Fiamma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Patrician residence with modern comforts, breakfast room and bar; located near the Colosseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leonardi Fiamma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardi Fiamma Rome
Hotel Leonardi Fiamma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing