We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel.”
Review of Hotel Galileo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Galileo
Ranked #386 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel was excellent, only reason I didn't give 5 stars was the wifi did not work for the 7 nights we stayed there. The staff were friendly, the rooms were spotless and cleaned every day. Breakfast was very good and plenty to eat at the buffet. Very close to Termini station and loads of nice restaurants nearby. Everything is within walking distance, with supermarkets and restaurants all close by.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 534 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here based on reviews from Tripadivsor. The hotel was nice and it was quiet, not like being right in the center of everything with all the noise. It was very close to all transportation which was an easy and convenient way to get around. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms nice with one exception. Our bathroom had a lot of mold on the ceiling and walls. YUCK! My daughters' room was fine though. They had a very nice free breakfast and the hotel staff was very nice. One other thing is that the elevator is very small. With the exception of the mold, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homeschoolinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have just got back our visit to Rome, although out the way from the historic centre it's quiet and a stone throw away from the termini station! The rooms were clean and fresh! The walls were paper thin and we could hear our neighbour using the toilets but that wasn't a huge issue. The breakfast was well presented and i enjoyed the selection of cereals, fruits, crossiants and bread. Only downside was the restaurant that the hitel provided a shuttle service for; service appalling and the food was dire. Wouldn't recommend!! I would recommend the open top buses for getting around Rome! Let's you see Rome in all it's glory! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 433Amy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Two friends and I have just had a 4 night stay at this lovely hotel, |The decor was excellent, the breakfast adequate and the staff friendly. It was in a quiet spot and was only a few minutes walk to the train, bus and metro termini. Only complaint would be that the bedroom safe didn't work. We would certainly recommend it. If you turn right and walk along the street a little way you will come across a lovely little restaurant, ROSSI. Good food, reasonably priced and friendly staff. We would recommend the purchase of a 3 day travel pass which gives you unlimited access to metro and buses., cost - 16.5 euros.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We found the Galileo to be a great quiet hotel, in a good location, close to the RR station. The breakfasts were very good. As, we find many European hotel, the beds were very hard for our taste. They charges 5 Euros per 24 hours for WiFi and the signal was somewhat weak. the overall experience was very good and we would return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room was very good, nice decor, clean, not very big but good enough, top cover had some snags (superier room) If you expect to get a hot or cold drink at any other time then breakfast, forget it. There is no bar as advertised in their broucher were you can get a cocktail and have a drink on their roof terrace if the doors were open. The only bar is, breakfast bar, no tea or coffee making facilities in room. so you have to go out, this hotel is not in the centre of Rome so there is not loads of places you can get to quick in the pouring rain. On a dry day it a lovely walk to the centre and surrounds, near metro. I am a diabetic, had an early flight back to England I needed something to eat at 7am, was refused entry to breakfast room, though everything was laid out ready, Explained the situation, still refused me any food untill 7.30 which was to late. Three male employees refused me entry I was near to tears. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabigen, Proprietario at Hotel Galileo, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Mrs Janet,
I am really sorry the attitude of my co-worker and I apologize for the incident.
I hope to see you soon at our hotel and I am sure we will change her mind.
Best regards
Mr. Fabio Gentile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a really clean and confortable hotel. Away from the noisy city center and nearby to the metro. In 5 minutes you can be in the heart of Rome.

The breakfast was terrible, not enough for a 3 stars hotel in a big city as Rome.
Wifi is not free, you must pay a 5 € fee for a 24h use, the connection is slower than slow.
The rooms are really clean and big. We had a private balcony where we could sit and enjoy of the weather.

If you are looking for an quiet and well located hotel don't doubt it this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#267 of 1,271 in Rome
988 reviews
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#159 of 1,271 in Rome
912 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Massimo
Hotel Massimo
#734 of 1,271 in Rome
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#441 of 1,271 in Rome
832 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Praetoria
Residenza Praetoria
#478 of 1,271 in Rome
810 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#339 of 1,271 in Rome
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo

Address: Via Palestro 33, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $73 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galileo 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galileo has been completely refurbished in modern style. Amongst the hotels in Rome, Hotel Galileo stands out for its strategic position in the immediate vicinity of Stazione Termini train station, bus-stops (piazza Indipendenza) and subway stations A (Termini) and B (Castro Pretorio National Library). The hotel is only fifteen minutes away by foot from piazza della Repubblica and via Nazionale. - we look forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Galileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing