We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good location very friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Galileo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Galileo
Ranked #350 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
aberdeen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location very friendly staff”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here on the 27th June until 1st July. The directions to the hotel from the Termini were quite easy to follow. It took about 8 minutes. The area felt safe and there were some nice bars close by.

The room was clean and comfortable if a little small, but we were out all day every day so this didnt matter much! There is a minibar in the room and the prices were reasonable compared to other hotels we have been in. There was also a safe big enough for a laptop. The shower unit was very small.

The staff were very helpful.

We had room 104 which had free wifi from a hotel across the back!

The breakfast was adequate and served from about 7 am till 10 am. Toast a selection of bread with cheese, ham etc. Along with the usual cereals. Only downside was the coffee was pretty awful, but not a big deal.

There were a few restaurants around the area but the food we found was pretty average.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 104 has free wifi, although a small shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen_n_terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    218
    87
    18
    16
See reviews for
109
246
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

When we checked in our bathroom smelt of Vodka, the smell was so strong that both my girlfriend and I could not enter the bathroom, we tried to air it out but then could not stand being in our room. It was like somebody had split a bottle in the bathroom or had thrown up in the toilet. I spoke to reception who said they would send someone up in 30 to 50 minutes. After an hour and of half waiting in the room and no one came up I went to reception again and requested a new room.

The receptionist was helpful, he originally moved us to a room with single beds but he continued searching for a double bed and we were moved to another room shorty after (I am grateful for his commitment).

The rooms are a decent size, they are clean and comfortable with a decent sized bathroom.

We found the breakfast to be ok, one of the staff members was very rude to some of the guests, the next day my girlfriend was also treated poorly by the same staff member.

On checkout I was required to pay the city tax and internet fees, for some reason none of my credit cards worked on their machine, the receptionist was not helpful and quite smug about this when i suggested that it was their machine and not the cards. I found his attitude unhelpful during this stressful time as i had a plane to catch, I had to run down the street and find an ATM to withdraw cash (which proved the cards were working).

I think this hotel would normally be a reasonably good hotel to stay at however our experience right from the start was bad and it ended the same way, I was glad to leave.

On a positive note the wifi was reasonably priced at 5 euro for 24 hours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was our first time in Europe, so very different to Australia. Mind you this was our honeymoon and the first night of our trip. Single beds !! The room was small but very clean. Yes its only a few minutes to the station, breakfast was simple. A new girl on reception was lovely, other staff just seemed to brush us off, we asked for some good shopping stops to one of the male reception staff and really we some directions that we had no idea of what he was talking about, I thought he may show us on a map, but really was not interested.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel has nice facilities however some reception staff were rude and unhelpful. We twice advised reception that our mini bar wasn't fully stocked. We were told not to worry as we wouldn't be expected to pay anything unless we had used it. Upon checking out we were asked to pay for drinks we had not taken and had to explain the situation for the third time. The breakfast was terrible! The hot water from the machine had white particles floating in - accentuated when milk and tea were added. The hotel walls were also very thin and everything could be heard from the neighbouring rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Galileo is a 10 min walk from Termini station and 5 min from Castro Pretorio metro. Reception is bright and staff pleasant. We had Room 304, it was a good size, king sized bed, hanging space, tv, safe and a beautifully tiled shower room. Everything was spotless. The small balcony overlooked rooftops. Breakfast was a good selection of cereals, bread and pastries, yogurts, fruits and cheeses and unlimited tea, coffee and fruit juices. Galileo is a great base, we walked to most of the sights but got the metro home in the evening. It costs 1 euro for anywhere in the city. It's not perfect, a loose light-fitting, a small cigarette burn on the bed cover (no smell of smoke anywhere in the building) but I'd recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again when we visit Rome again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

On arriving in Rome by train, Hotel Galileo is very easy to find using their excellent website directions. We walked to the hotel from the station in less than ten minutes.

Our room on the second floor was very clean with plenty of space and appeared to be recently redecorated. The bed was comfortable and the neighbourhood was quiet.

The bathroom was quite roomy with a nice large shelf under the window. Unfortunately the doors on the usual miniscule Italian shower had a tendency to leave the track and swing loose.

When we checked in we were sure we were told breakfast would be at 7.00, but the day we wanted to eat early to leave on a tour it didn't start until 7.30 and we were only able to grab a quick snack. Breakfast itself was quite good with a range of cold cuts and pastries.

The reception staff were helpful and spoke excellent English. Overall we were very happy with this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Hotel Galieo is about a 15 minute walk with luggage from the main train station in Rome, but is about 20 metres back from the street down a long driveway so it is a little confusing to find at first. The room was clean, heating was good and bed was fine ... the positives ended there for us unfortunately. The shower was lukewarm at best, and when reception was notified we were told it was because other hotel guests might be using the hot water at the time. Even if this were so, surely this would mean it's an inadequate plumbing system for a hotel? We tried the shower at several times both in the morning and evening during the course of our stay, and it was the same every time. Also, the shower door in our room was broken so water splashed everywhere when using the shower. There was an electronic safe that was not connected and so could not be used, and we were also hoping for a kettle that wasn't there. Breakfast was very limited, and only begins at 7:30am so you will miss it if you have an early tour such as to Naples/Pompeii as we did. Also, if you get to the breakfast after 9am, your options may be limited - all the pastries were gone when we had a late breakfast one morning and they weren't replenished. When I asked about wifi, reception informed me that it was only available in the breakfast room at a cost of 5 Euro for 24 hours of usage. Luckily, our room had some (limited) wifi coverage to make it worth our while, otherwise I don't see how it can worthwhile to use in the breakfast room that is often locked. And in general, while the service wasn't outrightly bad, the staff didn't seem eager to help ... there was nobody to help with luggage upon checking in/out, and nobody to seat you at breakfast etc. It wasn't the worst hotel experience we ever had so that we would cut our stay short, but we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#215 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#258 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#337 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Montecarlo Hotel
Montecarlo Hotel
#206 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#130 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Massimo
Hotel Massimo
#694 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo

Property: Hotel Galileo
Address: Via Palestro 33, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galileo 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galileo has been completely refurbished in modern style. Amongst the hotels in Rome, Hotel Galileo stands out for its strategic position in the immediate vicinity of Stazione Termini train station, bus-stops (piazza Indipendenza) and subway stations A (Termini) and B (Castro Pretorio National Library). The hotel is only fifteen minutes away by foot from piazza della Repubblica and via Nazionale. - we look forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing