We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Galileo
Nearby Hotels
$1,069
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$383
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$233
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$304
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$243
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$319
$297
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$417
$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$396
$381
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$178
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
$146
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveler rating
168
240
96
22
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
240
96
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstermini stationrecommend this hotelyogurtnice hotelbreakfast roomsmall balconycity tripwould stay here againhop on hoptwin roomclean roomscold meatsboiled eggsbed was comfortablecleaned every dayminute walkour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 545 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was our first time in Europe, so very different to Australia. Mind you this was our honeymoon and the first night of our trip. Single beds !! The room was small but very clean. Yes its only a few minutes to the station, breakfast was simple. A new girl on reception was lovely, other staff just seemed to brush us off, we asked for some good shopping stops to one of the male reception staff and really we some directions that we had no idea of what he was talking about, I thought he may show us on a map, but really was not interested.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed !
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel has nice facilities however some reception staff were rude and unhelpful. We twice advised reception that our mini bar wasn't fully stocked. We were told not to worry as we wouldn't be expected to pay anything unless we had used it. Upon checking out we were asked to pay for drinks we had not taken and had to explain the situation for the third time. The breakfast was terrible! The hot water from the machine had white particles floating in - accentuated when milk and tea were added. The hotel walls were also very thin and everything could be heard from the neighbouring rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Galileo is a 10 min walk from Termini station and 5 min from Castro Pretorio metro. Reception is bright and staff pleasant. We had Room 304, it was a good size, king sized bed, hanging space, tv, safe and a beautifully tiled shower room. Everything was spotless. The small balcony overlooked rooftops. Breakfast was a good selection of cereals, bread and pastries, yogurts, fruits and cheeses and unlimited tea, coffee and fruit juices. Galileo is a great base, we walked to most of the sights but got the metro home in the evening. It costs 1 euro for anywhere in the city. It's not perfect, a loose light-fitting, a small cigarette burn on the bed cover (no smell of smoke anywhere in the building) but I'd recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again when we visit Rome again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

On arriving in Rome by train, Hotel Galileo is very easy to find using their excellent website directions. We walked to the hotel from the station in less than ten minutes.

Our room on the second floor was very clean with plenty of space and appeared to be recently redecorated. The bed was comfortable and the neighbourhood was quiet.

The bathroom was quite roomy with a nice large shelf under the window. Unfortunately the doors on the usual miniscule Italian shower had a tendency to leave the track and swing loose.

When we checked in we were sure we were told breakfast would be at 7.00, but the day we wanted to eat early to leave on a tour it didn't start until 7.30 and we were only able to grab a quick snack. Breakfast itself was quite good with a range of cold cuts and pastries.

The reception staff were helpful and spoke excellent English. Overall we were very happy with this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Hotel Galieo is about a 15 minute walk with luggage from the main train station in Rome, but is about 20 metres back from the street down a long driveway so it is a little confusing to find at first. The room was clean, heating was good and bed was fine ... the positives ended there for us unfortunately. The shower was lukewarm at best, and when reception was notified we were told it was because other hotel guests might be using the hot water at the time. Even if this were so, surely this would mean it's an inadequate plumbing system for a hotel? We tried the shower at several times both in the morning and evening during the course of our stay, and it was the same every time. Also, the shower door in our room was broken so water splashed everywhere when using the shower. There was an electronic safe that was not connected and so could not be used, and we were also hoping for a kettle that wasn't there. Breakfast was very limited, and only begins at 7:30am so you will miss it if you have an early tour such as to Naples/Pompeii as we did. Also, if you get to the breakfast after 9am, your options may be limited - all the pastries were gone when we had a late breakfast one morning and they weren't replenished. When I asked about wifi, reception informed me that it was only available in the breakfast room at a cost of 5 Euro for 24 hours of usage. Luckily, our room had some (limited) wifi coverage to make it worth our while, otherwise I don't see how it can worthwhile to use in the breakfast room that is often locked. And in general, while the service wasn't outrightly bad, the staff didn't seem eager to help ... there was nobody to help with luggage upon checking in/out, and nobody to seat you at breakfast etc. It wasn't the worst hotel experience we ever had so that we would cut our stay short, but we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews