We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Genio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Genio Hotel
Ranked #486 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
New York City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Hotel Genio is in a great location - only a 2 minute walk to the beautiful Piazza Navona. It is approximately a 15 minute walk to both the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain. The Pantheon is even closer - less than 10 minutes away. Although the room was small, it was more than adequate. The hotel breakfast, on the top floor, was wonderful. In nice weather you can eat your breakfast on the roof deck and enjoy the fantastic view of Rome and Vatican City.The staff was helpful and accommodating. We would definitely return to the Genio on another trip to Rome

Room Tip: Location and value can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoxieRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    282
    143
    75
    63
See reviews for
158
287
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lots of pesky details amiss in the room on our arrival in Sept. most of which were addressed by friendly staff but took almost 2h of our precious time. Lack of hot or even warm water (malfunctioning fixer faucets) in both shower and sink irremediable and unacceptable in any hotel, let alone a supposed 4-star.

Room Tip: Other guests also commented on hot water issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Location, location, location! A clean and comfortable place to stay. Not for hotel snobs. Friendly helpful staff. And not bad to look at with names like Fabio and Lucca. Anyway...Rome is expensive but what makes this reasonably priced hotel with its typical continental buffet breakfast(more than adequate with steamed milk and coffee) so special is the fact that you can eat breakfast outside on the 6th floor terrace in the morning, and then at night take your own wine and glasses from the room and sit outside and watch the sunset and lights of Rome come on. I almost hate to write this review because of the 3 nights we stayed there, we were almost the only ones up there each night before heading out to dinner in the chaos below. There is even a higher level with one table for 4 on the top deck if you are brave enough to walk up the small spiral iron staircase. We know not to wear heals in Italy so of course we were up there all 3 nights. Rome is a noisy crazy city so it is important to be able to get away from the crowds once a day and enjoy the peace and quiet that you experience up at that level. Rome feels more like Paris up there with all of the domed churches including St. Peters and towers and monuments surrounding you at that level. We did see a group of women having their dinner up there with their wine if you want to save money one night. There is a coffee shop next door that sells some light fare to go or "take away" as they like to say in Italy, and we found cheese and meat shops not too far away. The trick in Rome is to walk down the most narrow streets you can find so that a car cannot drive down. Amazingly cars are allowed to drive down streets that have outdoor restaurant seating. It is amazing more people don't get run over while eating!

Room Tip: Just remember to shut the shutters and lock the windows at night so you won't hear the traffic b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4DonnePazzeinItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We saw this hotel on a website and booked it through an agent because we had previously read that if you book hotels direct in Italy they get double booked etc so for peace of mind we went through the agent.
We arrived at the hotel to a very warm welcome from the receptionist who explained all about the hotel and offered us any help at all. We got to our room which was on the second floor, I was shocked because I had read mixed reviews on here and when I walked into the room it was just lovely, everything you required, tea n coffee tray, a safe, loads of wardrobe space and a spacious bathroom. The room was cleaned daily we had fresh sheets and towels each day too.
The gorgeous breakfast room over looked Rome and you could eat outside if you wished. Breakfast was fresh and there was plenty of choice, sadly it is only continental. The waitresses speak limited English but are super friendly and really try hard to converse with you.
The reception staff are fab, so friendly, helpful and happy. They always have a smile and always answer questions on any topic.
The area is within twenty to thirty minutes walk of the Spanish steps, pantheon, Vatican and trevi fountain. There is a lovely street leading to the Spanish steps which has some very elite shops in with guards on the doors but they are worth a look. Piazza navona is less than two minutes walk.
I loved this city the downside is its soooo expensive to eat and drink and beware in restaurants as you get charged 7 euros for bread and bread sticks.
The reception guys will be happy to tell you where to eat in a lovely rustic Italian restaurants.
All in all a fab hotel and stay in Rome!,

Room Tip: Tips regarding eating in Rome is included above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked Hotel Genio through Booking.com and had a nice, clean comfortable double room. The location is excellent for all the major sights. It is aprox 100 meters from Piazza Navona and is well placed for visiting Vatican City / St Peters too. The hotel staff were very helpful and the buffet breakfast was good. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanD1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had booked, but not paid the stay at Hotel Genio, and reading other reviews, I think we did it the right way. We were not moved to another hotel, but looking back, I wish we were. The room was smailler than small, the bathroom was tiny with a broken showerhead, so you had to hold the showerhead in your hands while showering, otherwise the bathroom would have flooded.
Aircon lived its own life, working on/off and smelled foul. The feeling of having bedbugs was NOT funny.
Breakfast was a disaster. Nothing healthy, and a staff that didn´t speak English. Understaffed and overpriced.
Only positive thing was the roof terrace, where you can bring your own wine etc.
We would rather have spent our money elsewhere. The closeness to Piazza Navona is not something you should book this hotel for. It is easy to get around Rome, and nice to walk the small and narrow streets.
A lot of traffic noise, and very thin walls between the rooms. We always knew what the guests in the next room were doing!

Room Tip: I don´t think this hotel has any good rooms - and if they do, spent your money elsewhere on other ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christly2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We arrived to Rome after driving from St. Francis of Assisi with enough time to drop my parents in the Genio Hotel and return our car rental on time. Once back to the hotel we were told that they had our room reservations but because of an error on their part there were no vacant rooms for us. My parents were already shipped to another hotel of the same company. When we finally got to the alternate hotel my parents were totally depressed. The hotel which we were sent to, was not central at all, was old, moldy and run down. We had no choice but to stay since it was to late to look for another place. We had to pay the same price as if we were in the Genio Hotel and despite expressing our discontent the company management did not even acknowledged any wrong doing. Our whole stay in Rome was ruined by Genio Hotel inc.

Room Tip: If you ever choose to make a reservation at Genio Hotel, demand that if they give away your rooms to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank j B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Trevi
Pace Helvezia Hotel
Pace Helvezia Hotel
#415 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#214 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#605 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Rinascimento
Hotel Rinascimento
#606 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genio Hotel

Property: Genio Hotel
Address: Via Giuseppe Zanardelli 28, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#246 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Genio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern amenities and comforts and is situated in the heart of Piazza Navona, convenient to major points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Genio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing