We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a busy weekend in Roma”
Review of Hotel Genio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Genio
Ranked #421 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in Genio for 3 nights. Our party found the rooms reasonable and practical for our needs (a busy 4 days sightseeing, eating and drinking in Rome) The hotel is 4**** - however it is not luxurious. The rooms are basic but the hotel was clean and is situated in a great location. Most of the main attractions are walkable.

Two highlights = fab location and free has free wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 739 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

HORRIBLE service, HORRIBLE hotel. Paid 220 euros for an awful room, with a broken locker and a broken air conditioning, When we tried to complain and ask for a solution, the reception desk hung up on us. 1 week ago we stayed at another hotel 200m away which charged almost the same price (slightly higher) and the service was simply amazing. At Genio's they basically treat you as a "no one". NEVER EVER STAY THERE. For sure we will never repeat this mistake.

Room Tip: Never ever stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thais P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel Genio constantly overbooks their rooms and then relocate people to poorer hotels that belong to the same hotel chain (Leonardi Hotels). We paid the room in advance and still we were transferred to another hotel, which was located close to Termini railway station. We were just told that there has been an error in the reservation system. Our case was not unique, at the time we arrived hotel moved more than 10 groups to other hotels! Another group that was transferred told us that reason was broken air-conditioning system. Hotel seems to have a different explanation to everyone.

I really recommend you to avoid Genio hotel and this hotel chain, Leonardi Hotels.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Saku O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Made our first visit to Rome with wife and teenage son-B&B-stayed 3 full days
Could have seen Rome in 2days

Positive points

1) Great location- managed to walk to main tourist sites ie Coliseum ,Vatican City, Pantheon etc without need for taxis
Also have <5 min walk to Piazza Navone on doorstep where nice location to eat and drink (albeit overpriced) - various fountains, St Agnes church , Brazilian embassy and street sellers of everything you can think of.
Few shops opposite where can buy reasonably priced souvenirs
If into art, French church also very close by which houses paintings by Carvaggio

2)Helpful concierge

3) Free wifii from room with strong signal
Allowed me to plan each day

4) Fairly quiet streets considering central location

Negative points

1) Son ended up with uncomfortable camp bed , after we asked for a proper bed which travel company said hotel couldn't guarantee

2)Weak air-conditioning in room- few nights felt like in sauna

3) Continental breakfast-Parma ham,Fetta cheese and bread - flies often mingling over food didn't make it appetising- had to force yourself to eat it somewhat to avoid needless and money eating an hour later- satisfaction not outweighed by nice views of Rome from balcony

Room Tip: No evidence any room better than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjay190672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I don't know why this place has such good reviews!
My second visit here was worse than the first, and that's saying something. Here are some of the low points:
1. The beds are like campsite bunk beds, narrow, metal framed torture devices which leave you in pain the next morning. And you'll be lucky to get any sleep at all on them.
2. Dirty, dilapidated hotel rooms with pealing wallpaper.
3. Air conditioning that's so feeble it might as well not exist, but since it does it pumps out the smell of mould into the room! The room and hallways are so hot!
4. 7am wake up call thanks to hammering and drilling. This was totally unacceptable, and ruined our stay here more than anything else.
5. One light switch for the whole room, and no bedside lamps. This means you have to go to the door to turn the lights on and off.
6. The shower managed to spray water all over the bathroom, including the toilet paper! What a fiddle!
7. The elevator is big enough to hold 2 people and their luggage, and that's at a pinch! It's tiny, and takes for ever to come. Very frustrating.

Room Tip: What good rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Scottie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great central location, friendly & helpful staff. Obviously it was hot because we visited in August. The AC was old and ineffective making it difficult to sleep. If we had visited a week earlier when it was hotter the room would have been unbearable. The substantial breakfast buffet and roof top balcony was a positive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NarelleNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've been to Rome 5 times over several years, and ever time I've stayed at Hotel Genio. It rates itself as a 4 star hotel. In all those years, I never saw it that way - perhaps more of a 3 star hotel. But, that was ok. The hotel is centrally located and next door to Piazza Navona - one of my favorite spots in Rome. Having formed many great memories here, Hotel Genio was always felt like a home away from home for me. However, and unfortunately, my most recent stay is definitely my last. Its fairly hot in Rome at the moment, and while Roman air conditioning is weak when its available at all, at Hotel Genio, it was seriously lacking. Sleeping in the nude on top of a sheet and still sweating, is not my idea of a pleasant vacation. And, the AC unit was so old, that it created a musty/mildew smell in the room. The hallways were even hotter. A simple wait for an elevator made you feel like you needed to go take another shower. Then, there must be construction going on in the hotel. All day long, it sounded like jackhammers above my room. And, it started the next morning again at precisely 7 AM; unacceptable in any hotel. The whole experience made me take a more objective look at the hotel; dated, worn, and in need of a serious renovation and new life. I was supposed to stay here 2 nights, but decided to check out after the first night and find a better hotel. I felt sad having to do so, but its time to let go of Hotel Genio and move on. Thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rlafleur99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Hotel Pace Helvezia
#389 of 1,270 in Rome
676 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Orso
Relais Orso
#486 of 1,270 in Rome
373 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eliseo
Hotel Eliseo
#698 of 1,270 in Rome
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#660 of 1,270 in Rome
500 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Sistina
Hotel Sistina
#696 of 1,270 in Rome
241 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genio

Address: Via Giuseppe Zanardelli 28 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#228 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $99 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Genio 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Rome's most historic and Baroque district, Hotel Genio has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the city and is just 100 meters from Piazza Navona. Rooms come with air conditioning, carpeted or parquet floors, a TV and a minibar. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and the continental breakfast is served buffet style. Hotel Genio is set in a building dating back to the neo-Renaissance period and is surrounded by sinuous streets that host some of the most popular wine bars, cafes and restaurants in Rome. The property is a 10-minute walk from the shops of Via del Corso. Also, you will reach Castel Sant'Angelo and the Vatican City by simply crossing the Tiber. Piazza Navona is a great choice for travelers interested in food, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Genio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing