We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When in Rome......” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kennedy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kennedy Hotel
Ranked #957 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Essex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“When in Rome......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I booked this hotel through a British Airways package. First impressions before we even arrived at the hotel were not good. I had arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the airport (50 Euros) and was told someone would be waiting for us with our name on a board. After 3 phone calls to the hotel and an hour later our driver finally turned up (if the hotel had just been honest and told us they had forgotten to pick us up rather than the driver cant find a parking space this might have gone down better). On arrival i asked for an upgrade and this was given, all i can say is i would hate to see the non "executive" rooms". There was clumps of dust on the floor, the hairdryer didnt work, the blankets on the bed were covered in undesirable hairs and the room was very small. On the plus side our towels were changed every day and the view was nice, and the shower was lovely.
We booked three trips through the hotel, the first one ran smoothly. The second trip we booked we were charged more as the trip we actually booked wasnt available and they automatically booked us on something else but a similar trip (may have been nice to have been told). And the third trip was a pick up at 1am so we did some shopping in the morning and went back to the hotel at 12.45 to be told the trip had been cancelled. No apology, no compensation...nothing!! When i told Reception we had planned our whole day around this trip it got shrugged off.
Breakfast (if you can call it that) is fine if you are happy with cereal and cheese.....no toast or anything warm. There are plenty of nice restaurants around the hotel to have breakfast in though.
A member of the Reception staff butted in whilst we were talking to someone in Reception who asked where we were from and actually said "apologies they are from England". The salute he did every time we walked in or out of the hotel was starting to grate also.
The one thing this hotel has going for it is its location, a 2 minute walk from the Metro which is very easy to get around on....and walking distance from the main attractions and lots of restaurants.
I have stayed in many hotels around the world and this really should be no more than a 2*.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shellessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    248
    207
    95
    65
See reviews for
121
318
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fife
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We travelled as a family-couple with a teenager.
We found the rooms very comfortable and the reception staff were extremely helpful and obliging.
We speak very little Italian and communication with the staff on reception was no problem.
The breakfast was adequate although perhaps meat eaters might be disappointed.

The hotel is within walking distance of many attractions . We walked to the Palatine, the forum, the Trevi fountain, the Spanish steps , the Coloseum, all within 15mins.

The hotel is very near an very good range of restaurants, trattoria and cafes. The railway station is less than 5 mins walk from the station.
The hotel will arrange taxi transfers to the airport no problem
24 hour wii fi is available for free.We were on the first floor and ir was easy to access the wii fi.

All in all a highly recommended hotel if you are looking for somewhere central and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bas20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We Both had a fantastic time in Rome and the Accommodation was excellent. The Hotel Reception Staff were very helpful and it was manned 24hrs a day. The breakfast service was at least 4 Stars with lots of choice from cereals and cheeses and pastries. The Room was serviced each day to a very high standard, we were very pleased to see, after a full day out and about all you need is a nice and clean room, the hotel staff were excellent in doing that. We would love to go back again to the same hotel in future. Lots of local shops and restaurant to choose from within 5 mins of walking out of the hotel. Transport we used the buses from the airport and back it was around
5 euros and very easy to find. just out of the airport terminal then left far side and you can pay the driver in cash. Once again thank you to British Airways Deals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Brought wife to a surprise visit to Rome to celebrate her 75th. Wanted a centrally situated , clean quiet reasonably priced hotel with good service. Fortunately the Kennedy turned out to be just perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidAggarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the Kennedy Hotel. Easy route to all tourist attractions, just need walking shoes and a good map supplied by the hotel. Room was everything you needed, clean sheets & towels each day. Breakfast was adequate although maybe add a selection of meat to go with cheese etc. Would stay at the hotel again if we were to return to Rome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bombom513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here twice, at the beginning of and at the end of a 2 week tour. Our first Introduction to the Kennedy was late in the evening after being dropped of by taxi from the airport. The taxi driver warned us that the area "very bad late at night, don't go out". The hotel staff on arrival were efficient although we found later that it wasnt always the case. The room was small, very tired but reasonably clean.
Breakfast was poor, not a great selection and the quality was poor.
Hotel is in a good location to access the "hop on/hop off" tour buses, just a few minutes walk" that run around and past all the major attractions in Rome. The train station is again just a very short walk from the hotel. There are a lot of restaurants close by providing some cheap and interesting food. Watch for the "helpful" people at the train station who you think are just kind enough to show any traveller that looks slightly lost where to catch their train but then demand payment for doing so..... Do not.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel it's in the heart of Rome and the prices are very reasonable.

It's a true gem.

Anywhere you turn you can admire the real ancient Rome.

The hall is perfect to rest and have a drink, or just to see locals having aperitifs.

It's a fashion meeting point for romans too.

Rooms are very well decorated, just like a 5 stars hotel. Beds are confortable. Bathrooms are perfect.

Really a perfect location for business or leisure.

It's a quiet, relaxing athmosphere and with a high standard service.

Staff always smile to clients and are very polite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Igea Hotel
Igea Hotel
#734 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#861 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#592 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Mariano Hotel
Mariano Hotel
#540 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#590 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Rimini
Hotel Rimini
#391 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennedy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennedy Hotel

Property: Kennedy Hotel
Address: Via Filippo Turati 62-64, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #957 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennedy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the center of Rome, Kennedy hotel is among Termini Station and St. Maria Maggiore Basilica. The hotel overlooks the Roman Aquarium, now House of Architecture, and it offers a panoramic view on the neighboring garden with archeological parts of Roman Walls of the King Servio Tullio, 578 to 539 b.C. In a historical building of 18th century, Kennedy Hotel has 51 rooms and 2 Junior suites perfect for families. Wifi internet connection in available in the entire establishment. All the bedrooms are individually furnished according the original architecture harmonizing comforts and hospitality. Rooms are refurbished and soundproof, and they are well equipped with air conditioned, tv satellite and telephone. Tasty buffet breakfast is served from 7,15 till 9,45 and there are two lobby rooms and a small international library. At disposal of all clients a baggage store room. WI-FI internet connection FREE OF CHARGE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Kennedy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Hotel Rome
Hotel Kennedy Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing