We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant but far from 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Roma
Ranked #107 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant but far from 5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is well-located, though quite a walk to some of the ancient monuments. The staff are helpful. The building is attractive but has all sorts of disappointing minor touches. Examples - the baths/showers are really outdated. The bathrooms are small, such that the bathrobes literally touch the toilet seats when hanging (!!), one of the baths was not even level, the divider between our balcony and the next was seriously rotten, one of the window frames was rotten too. Not enough to begin to spoil a holiday but for the sort of money they charge it is disappointing.

The bar is excellent, the gym - though small - is a lovely room, the restaurant very good.

One last thing, the immediate area and the hotel itself are not particularly old by European standards, so if you want to be right in a very old building or square this is not it.

3.5/5 to me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarkStable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    302
    77
    18
    14
See reviews for
228
516
46
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Classic hotel buildt in 1889 located right where you want it: close to the Spanish steps and the Trevi fountain. There is also the Villa Borghese and the park nearby for a wonderful walk in the city that was founded in 753 bc.
Be carful to ask for a room on a higher level if you eant t avoid the sound of the outside traffic.
The breakfast is nice but wxpensive. Many good alternatives a short walk avay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights from 24 to 27 March this year. This was a 50th birthday surprise for me and our short stay at the Majestic as well as our overall visit to Rome made for a truly memorable birthday.

The Majestic is ideally located for most of the main sights in Rome; indeed most are within walking distance. The Vatican and St Peter's was about 40 minutes and the Colosseum and Forum approximately 30 minutes on foot. The Trevi Fountain and The Pantheon are even closer, with the Spanish Steps literally 5 minutes away.

A complimentary bottle of Prosecco was waiting for us in our large airy room located on the quiet (rear) side of the hotel. The standard of service was excellent at all times with a special mention for Emanuele in the bar (a really nice guy to talk to and an excellent barman) and also for the Reception staff.

The terrace overlooking the Via Veneto is a lovely place to sit and enjoy a late night drink with ample seating and outdoor heating. Bar prices were pretty good and no more expensive than other bars that we visited in Rome.

We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the restaurant, although the menu looked interesting with quite reasonable prices for this standard of hotel.

In summary, a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oz264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed from 5/4/14 - 9/4/14 for my wife's birthday. Beautiful traditional hotel situated in a central location a short walk from major sites of interest. Hotel staff were most helpful and really seemed to care, they couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms are large and clean and tidy. A wonderful bar with access to rooftop terrace where you can look over restaraunts and treetop lined streets. A very pleasant stay, I would definitely use again and would certainly recommend to friends. Once again a thank you to the staff, from housekeeping to head concierge a credit to the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Den8oy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
424 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

After checking into my single room, I must admit I was less than impressed for the $250 per night room charge. But after exploring the hotel, having a drink and tapas at the bar, viewing Via Veneto from the terrazza, I was hooked. If you are looking for history, experience, and overall ambiance, this is a great place. Other reviews said this place is overpriced and you can get the same elsewhere. But I beg to differ. The history here is captivating. To fully imerse yourself into this culture is different than just sleeping in a hotel. The photographs that are everywhere in this hotel are spectacular. But you must take the time to appreciate them. The location is excellent. The Spanish Steps are just a few blocks away and the area is quite quiet compared to other areas. So at this point I leave it up to you. If you are value driven, then find another hotel. If you enjoy the Italian culture and are willing to spend a few extra dollars you will not be disappointed. In addition, the service is excellent from the check in process to the bar at night. I am not a typical reviewer that gives five stars but really I think this place is worth the price of admission.

Room Tip: Sleep on the quite side not the Via Veneto side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveltheworldcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel and well located. The rooms are very nice, however noisy at night (if you have a room with views to Via Venetto despite this, I had a great experience. The staff is very friendly all around the hotel. This is a place to stay next time.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mariahr2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire,UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We came for the rugby with friends. The staff were very welcoming, polite and friendly. The hotel is very convenient for walking to the Spanish Steps area and other sights of interest. The terrace off the breakfast restaurant is a nice place for coffee and people watching in the street below. Breakfast was ok but I felt some of the selections [particularly cold meats/cheese] could have been a bit better for a hotel of this standard. There are various nice sitting areas for drinks or dinner. We were in Room 401. The room was ok but we, like another reviewer, suffered from noise at about 4am with what I think was a rubbish truck. Room 401 is a standard room but even so the bathroom was really, really small. no separate loo, one small basin and hardly any room to move. This is why I have only given the hotel a very good not an excellent. Tea and coffee making facilities would be good in the room as there were none. I think we could find somewhere better to stay for the price another time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#224 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#109 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#280 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#58 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Roma

Property: Hotel Majestic Roma
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto, 50, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Rome
#47 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#61 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Majestic Roma 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Roma embraces its neoclassical heritage by reinventing it for the 21st century and offering guests the chance to step into a one of the city's most glamorous residences. The hotel is an original combination of styles, a study in careful contradictions that juxtaposes white lacquered pieces of furniture, rich textures and the extraordinary use of color to evoke an emotional response from all who visit. Rooms and suites show a gentle use of simple lines and almost imperceptible curves, creating a perfect blend of innovative setup style combined with classic elegance. The hotel Majestic Roma is located directly on Via Veneto, few steps from Villa Borghese, the second largest landscape garden in the naturalistic English manner in Rome. Walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and city's finest boutiques. Convenient to enjoy museums, theatre, nightlife, restaurants and to reach the financial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Majestic Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roma Hotel
Hotel Majestic Rome
Majestic Roma Rome
Majestic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing