We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Roma
Ranked #101 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dream Honeymoon”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We have been to Rome several times and normally stay outside the centre. Ss this was our first winter visit we decided to stay centrally.The location is great. In the buzz of central Rome, but the shutters and curtains made sure we slept well.
Front desk stafff are helpful and efficient - nothing too much trouble
The room was a good size for Rome. They new it was our honeymoon and gave us their only room with a private veranda, where we sat and sipped the bubbly that they had so kindly put in our room.
Breakfast was excellent. As it was out of season the bistro was closed, so breakfast was served in the restaurant, which was beautiful but a litltle narrow for a buffet breakfast (a very minor issue). Breakfast staff were friendly and efficient, and the coffee was top notch - even by Rome standards.
Bar staff - friendly and efficient. Ready to chat if you wanted, but new when to leave us love-birds alone.
Bar and restuarant food is exactly as advertised - marvelous Sicialian styled with a modern slant. The squid on a fennel and orange salad maybe the best I've ever had.
Would I go again - absolutely (but I'll have to save up).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porky-Borky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    303
    77
    19
    14
See reviews for
230
519
46
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

While Italy is one of my favorite destinations for both business and leisure travel I - in general - do find an issue with the hotel quality in Italy. Even very famous hotels with high reputation can turn out to be quite dated and not up to international standards. Not the Majestic. This was a real positive surprise and it is a real great hotel. Both in terms of building/rooms/design and service. The moment we arrived we felt great, very welcome and highly comfortable.

** overall ambience **

The hotel is more than 100 years old and seemed to be recently renovated. It keeps the 'old time' atmosphere but with modern touches. There are nice salons on the first floor which are perfect for a pre-dinner drink.

** Service **

The service quality was exceptionally high and the staff seemed to enjoy working there. In particular the staff at reception, the doormen and at breakfast provided exceptional service quality. Always in a relaxed way with a good sense of humor.

** Room **

We stayed in Junior Suite which was very nice and we had a lot of space. Essentially it was a proper sized room with a very small "extra room" with provided space for a round table and some chairs. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was nice and large, however no separate shower stall and no separate toilette. The room was facing Via Veneto. While at some times there is quite a lot of traffic on Via Veneto we did not have any noise issue.

** Restaurant **

Breakfast is served at the restaurant in the first floor which is a fantastic designed dining room. In summer there is also a terrace overlooking Via Veneto. Unfortunately we were not able to eat there in the evening as the Filippo La Mantia Restaurant was closed for Christmas holidays.

** Location **
The hotel is located on Via Veneto close to Piazza Barberini. It is about a 10 to 15 minutes walk to the shopping areas around Piazza Spagna. Other main sights like the Forum Romanum or Piazza Navona are in (long) walking distance.


*** Reasons to stay at this hotel ***
- classic hotel, newly renovated
- high service quality
- welcoming and cosy atmosphere but still a hotel of proper size
- nice rooms (at least the better room category)
- in general good value for money

*** Why you might want to consider alternative hotels ***
- while the location is good, you might prefer a hotel with a view, or closer to certain locations


We will definitely stay there again when we go next time to Rome.

Room Tip: Book a better room category. Standard rooms seem to be very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco_Polo_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Front dest, concierge were so helpful and polite. room were small but very clean. we got room with break fast included, and it was awesome. the high light of my day, was so delicious. so close to spanish step and fountain travi, just few min walk.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nazly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We just returned from a week at the Hotel Majestic in Rome. We have never encountered in all of our years a friendlier, more helpful, or more professional staff in any other hotel. We tossed our books and relied on them entirely for recommendations for restaurants, etc. We found the front desk/concierge personnel were exceptional in their professionalism and their friendliness--special mentions to Claudio who immediately understood our wants and needs, Corinna who could not have been more helpful, and of course Faisal who treated us as if we were part of his family. Even the wait staff like Paolo and virtually everyone else could not have made our stay more pleasant or gone out of their way to make sure that we were happy We were not disappointed in anything. To say that the hotel is convenienty located is an understatement. This is an older, absolutely charming hotel that has retained all of its elegance. If you are looking for glitz and glass elevators, this is not the place. But for real old-world, well maintained elegance, this is for you. Everyone on the staff was remarkable, which is a real tribute to the management. They made us feel like guests in their home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Arriving at the Hotel Majestic, the last thing my husband and I (experienced world travelers in 5 star hotels), expected to become were crime victims. Standing at the Reception desk, my husband's valise was stolen from his side by a man who had evidently followed us into the otherwise empty lobby. My husband gave chase, but the thief jumped into a waiting car in front of the hotel. This happened in full view of inattentive hotel employees, i.e., bell hop and doorman, who didn't realize the theft had occurred until my husband told them.
Spending the next eight days in Rome contending with the aftermath of stolen credit cards, lap top, $2000 in cash, meeting with Polizia, etc., hotel management offered NO compensation aside from an upgrade to a suite near the noisy hotel kitchen that wasn't as nice as our existing suite.
Amidst misrepresentations of the events that transpired on their premises, the hotel's written response absurdly blamed my husband for not surrendering ALL of his belongings to the very employees who didn't even see the theft: "if a guest decides to keep any valuables" (with them) "and something happens, that goes a little beyond the competence of the hotel." So, beware potential guests checking into the admittedly incompetent Hotel Majestic. Unlike the rest of the world's hotels, you cannot reasonably assume that any personal effects kept with you will not be stolen. And, that includes checking in at Reception.
On the day after the theft, we were told by hotel management that we were "simply in the wrong place at the wrong time." Without a doubt, Hotel Majestic was the wrong place!
Adding insult to injury as we were checking out, the driver contracted by the Majestic to take us to our Hertz rental car took us to the opposite end of the vast train station from the Hertz office, literally ordered us out of his car and dumped our luggage on the sidewalk. When advised of this improper and egregious behavior, the Majestic ultimately admitted the driver's actions were improper, but again refused to offer us any compensation.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank wrongedinrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirettoreGenerale, Direttore vendite at Hotel Majestic Roma, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about the challening experience you and your husband had during your stay.
We would like to add that we did offer a compensation via your travel agency but it was not accepted.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Amazing staff, amazing experience, 100% attentiveness from every member of the hotel team!
Beautiful rooms and perfect location!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakipova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Love the location! Steps away from the "Steps" Was fortunate to be visiting while a Kimbo Coffee promotion was running in the bar area - delicious treat! My room was over looking the famous Via Veneto and featured a lovely balcony with table and chairs - perfect for breakfast or a night cap. Outstanding buffet breakfast and lunch in the main dining room, offering an abundance of options, beautifully displayed. Most memorable was the staff and service received during my visit. Extremely warm and welcoming from check-in to check-out. I travel to Rome often and this was the time that I felt most at home. See you soon for sure!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CASPNSKI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#271 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#113 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#284 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#56 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Roma

Property: Hotel Majestic Roma
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto, 50, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Rome
#47 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#61 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Majestic Roma 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Roma embraces its neoclassical heritage by reinventing it for the 21st century and offering guests the chance to step into a one of the city's most glamorous residences. The hotel is an original combination of styles, a study in careful contradictions that juxtaposes white lacquered pieces of furniture, rich textures and the extraordinary use of color to evoke an emotional response from all who visit. Rooms and suites show a gentle use of simple lines and almost imperceptible curves, creating a perfect blend of innovative setup style combined with classic elegance. The hotel Majestic Roma is located directly on Via Veneto, few steps from Villa Borghese, the second largest landscape garden in the naturalistic English manner in Rome. Walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and city's finest boutiques. Convenient to enjoy museums, theatre, nightlife, restaurants and to reach the financial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Majestic Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roma Hotel
Hotel Majestic Rome
Majestic Roma Rome
Majestic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing