We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Doria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Doria
Ranked #327 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is small and cosy. The positives would be the breakfast on the rooftop with nice views and it's a great way to start the day. The hotel is also very quiet which is good. It's also within walking distance to the main Termini train station which is handy and there is also a supermarket and some resturants very close by. The negatives would be that the lift only fits 1 person and 1 suitcase, so we had to use the stairs most of the time we were there. The shower is so tiny that you can't even wash your hair properly in it as your elbows will be banging into the sides of the shower! The bed is also very firm. The rooms are clean and tidy but definately looking a bit old. Overall, it is an average to good hotel. definately 3 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_doria_roma, Responsabile reception at Hotel Doria, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thankyou so much for your reviewing us!

We are delighted to have met your expectations!

We're just a small family hotel but we try to do the best for our guests!

We really hope to meet you again in the future!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Doria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 420 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

hotel very close to major attractions such as the colosseum. 5 min walk to termini station which is handy for catching the metro and all other transport. nice clean room. breakfast is served on the sixth floor on a lovely terrace overlooking the city. staff extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_doria_roma, Responsabile reception at Hotel Doria, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2016


dear customer
Thank you for your review on our hotel, we are very grateful for his judgment, and we hope for a next stay.
For our part we are committed always amigliorare the stay of our clients.
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it.Arrived at 11am and was met by a lovely man at reception.We asked if our room was ready as you should only check in at 2pm,he made a quick phone call and said it was fine to go to our room.
We used the stairs instead of the lift,they seem to go on for ever,but it keeps you fit.
The room was a nice size and very clean,there was also a cupboard with a safe and a fridge with a mini bar in.The fridge is useful for putting your own drinks in if you don't want to purchase from the hotel.
The bathroom was very clean,shower cubicle was quite small as others have said.
The breakfast terrace over looking the colosseum was wonderful.Service was great,as soon as you sat down you were asked if you would like tea or coffee and then you just helped yourself to breakfast.
Free wi-fi if you ask at reception for a print out of the password,it last for 24 hours,then you just ask for another if you need one.
The location is great,five to ten minute walk from the termini station,couple of minutes away from metro (which,unfortunately wasn't running while we were there) and hop on bus stop.
We would definately stop at Doria again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mozcity1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_doria_roma, Responsabile reception at Hotel Doria, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente
Grazie per la sua disponibilità e per la sua recensione.
Siamo contententi che si sia trovato bene e grazie ancora per il suo apprezzamento della struttura e del personale.
Faremo sempre del nostro meglio per venire incontro alle esigenze dei nostri ospiti.
grazie
Saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband for a honeymoon tour of Italy.
Good location 5 minute walk form train terminus
Greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist. He gave us lots of information on Rome, a map and even recommended us places to eat. So far so good. No one to help with bags but thats fine. tiny lift to help us to room.

Room was large, clean and did us for what we wanted, Basically a comfy room to crash at night. No hotel services such tea and coffee, room service or a bar.Did have breakfast on the roof top terrace which is a nice quirky touch I thought. Breakfast was reasonable but no hot selection which would have been nice.

All in all a nice, small very friendly hotel but very basic, literally just bed and breakfast but did us just fine! Would stay again and recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seckerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_doria_roma, Responsabile reception at Hotel Doria, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente
Grazie per la sua disponibilità e per la sua recensione.
Siamo contententi che si sia trovato bene e grazie ancora per il suo apprezzamento della struttura e del personale.
Faremo sempre del nostro meglio per venire incontro alle esigenze dei nostri ospiti.
grazie
Saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have just returned from an amazing 3 nights in Hotel Doria, Rome. The hotel is easy to find and just a short walk away from the Termini and the colosseum, roughly 20 minutes from the Trevi Fountain, however a trip on the metro would be advised for the Vatican. The room was very clean and had everything we needed for a short break, including air con which was a welcome relief from the summer heat. The desk is manned 24/7 by friendly staff that talk very good English, they were always happy to help! My only criticism would be the lack of choice at breakfast, there was tinned fruit, yogurt, bread, and a range of jams and cured meat. However, the views from the roof terrace where breakfasts were served, were spectacular!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel are very loud! I would recommend a room over looking the court y...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorna_0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank pharmpad
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotel_doria_roma, Responsabile reception at Hotel Doria, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Nice Location
Nice & Decently spacious room
Shower room was quite small often banging the hands on the shower room walls
Cleanliness was perfect
Decent Continental Breakfast on roof terrace with nice views
Elevator was the smallest I had ever seen in my life :-) Good for only one.
Overall - Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank SP G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_doria_roma, Responsabile reception at Hotel Doria, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente
Grazie per la sua disponibilità e per la sua recensione.
Siamo contententi che si sia trovato bene e grazie ancora per il suo apprezzamento della struttura e del personale.
Faremo sempre del nostro meglio per venire incontro alle esigenze dei nostri ospiti.
grazie
Saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#291 of 1,267 in Rome
604 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#98 of 1,267 in Rome
938 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#357 of 1,267 in Rome
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#285 of 1,267 in Rome
647 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#409 of 1,267 in Rome
553 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#234 of 1,267 in Rome
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Doria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doria

Address: Via Merulana n. 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#324 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $68 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Doria 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
e Hotel Doria is located in the historic and commercial center, overlooking the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, one of the most famous and beautiful basilicas in Rome, and is a few minutes from Via Veneto, Spanish Steps and the Colosseum. In an old building completely renovated, it is equipped with modern comforts: lift, anti-noise windows and with a lovely roof-garden where we serve continental breakfast buffet gratis. All rooms are classically furnished and equipped with shower, color TV, telephone, air conditioning, mini-bar, WI-FI free. Combination safe electric available. On request: parking facilities, use fax and photocopier, car rental. They accept major credit cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Doria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing