We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy, but cheap and very central”
Review of Hotel Planet Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Planet Roma
Ranked #1,067 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed April 19, 2009

The hotel is located just across the road from Termini station (which is the main train station + airport shuttles station). Very close to the main tourist attractions and for that - extremely cheap. We paid 60 euro for a double room including breakfast.
The rooms are quite plain, but clean and rather quiet given the location. Bathrooms are pretty old though and so is the elevator (makes scary sounds when goes up%) ).
To summarize: if you want a cheap and central place in Rome to sleep for a couple of nights, this hotel is the right choice. If you want something comfortable or romantic - skip thins one.. and prepare to pay double the price.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anja_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Planet Roma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 248 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2009

We wanted to leave as soon as we checked in but unfortunately, we couldn't get our money back so we didn't have a choice but to stay there for 2 nights! It was the worst hotel we had stayed in. The staff were really rude (esp this Filipino lady with short hair who checked us in), the room was dirty and the toilet was small and dirty. Our room was close to the reception and it was very noisy, even late at night. We had to stay out as late as we could so we didn't have to spend much time in the room, that's how bad it was!!!! DON"T STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Hotel Planet exceeded our expectations! The location across from Termini Station is very convenient for transportation purposes. Like any large city, central Rome at night has its share of interesting characters, but because of the high tourist volume, security is well maintained. The Hotel Planet staff was very courteous and helpful, and their English was excellent. Our room was fine for our needs, and it was quiet, despite how busy the area is. I highly recommend Hotel Planet for travelers on a budget. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rightr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We spent one night at Hotel Planet in a pinch, and we got out as soon as we could the next morning! Our room was near the main reception desk, so that accounted for the ridiculous noise level all night long. But since the rooms are all crowded on one floor, I assume they're all quite loud. Far worse, though (as the other reviews mention), was that the bathroom was not clean. I actually wiped up the floor myself when we arrived. Besides that, the furniture was all chipped. We were surprised that this hotel even qualifies for 2 stars. You can certainly find better places in the hotel-laden area around the train station.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sachi-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

3 words - "Don't stay here"
It was a 2 star so I don't know what I expected.
Breakfast was across the road in a crowded busy bar which consisted of 1 cup of coffee and a pastry.
Shower room was okay if you were a short midget.
Bedding was clean but had cigarette holes in sheets and top cover. Noisy at night.
Only good thing was it was near the Termini Stazione as I was travelling around and was near the Roma sightseeing buses outside the station. Other than that a bit of a dodgy area at night.
Take your own towels and toiletries if you do decide to stay here and also it's 5 flights up - ugh not good after trekking around Rome.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -champagne1_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

I dreamed about going to Rome since I was little and this hotel made me want to go home the day I finally got there.

We (my grandma, a cousin and I) booked our stay some months in advance, mostly because it was a cheap hotel near the Termini, a railway/subway station. We weren't expecting something amazing, but at least clean a comfortable.

When we got there we were shocked. The hotel is located in a extremely dangerous street and I'd not recommend walking there after 8h00 pm.

The reception was not great. The receptionist was arguing with some hosts and there was no sofas for us to wait. After almost 30 minutes waiting we were able to go to our room, that was so disgusting we were afraid of walking barefoot.

The bathroom was a nightmare! Dirty, Dark. I had to ask more then twice to get my mattress (which had a whole) changed, the wardrobe was so full of dust we did not touch it.

Pay a bit more and stay somewhere decent!

DO NOT STAY THERE. Get a hotel anywhere far away from the Termini surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dearbronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

When i was at the train station in rome ready to go to the airport I phone back to the hotel Planet to see if my battery and battery charger was in the room I was going to run back and get it,
i was told no it was not there.
When i got to the airport I checked in my luggage and it was not there so i phoned back to the Hote Planet and the staff lady who answered the phone said that she was glad the i contacted her because she had found my property and that the nite staff and taken it out of the room and put it away
so she told me to send and email with my home address and my property (battery and battery charger) would be retuned.
WELL all i have had back from them is that it is not there so someone there is a theif or they are just plain liars
I WOULD NOT RECOMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE AS I HAVE FOUND THEM TO BE TOTALLY DISHONEST

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myst7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Caput Mundi
Caput Mundi
#828 of 1,267 in Rome
88 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Viennese
Hotel Viennese
#1,133 of 1,267 in Rome
239 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#747 of 1,267 in Rome
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#1,065 of 1,267 in Rome
154 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#737 of 1,267 in Rome
451 reviews
Esquilino
Serendipity Residence
Serendipity Residence
#1,008 of 1,267 in Rome
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Planet Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Planet Roma

Address: Via Milazzo 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,067 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $44 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Planet Roma 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Planet is situated in the historical centre of Rome, just a short distance from Termini Station and Bus Terminal. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day during the whole year. Our staff speak English for your convenience and can make reservations for day and night tours inside and outside the city. All rooms have bathroom and shower, satellite TV, central heating, Air Conditioning, Wi-Fi Internet Access and safety deposit box. Some of the services we provide include an elevator, nearby parking and taxi bookings. It is also in an ideal situation for visitors as any tourist attraction can be reached within a few minutes. The management and staff of Hotel Planet warmly welcome you to Rome and hope you have a pleasant stay. WI-FI internet access Check in 24hrs Check out 12pm Breakfast included Credit Card facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Planet Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing