We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange experience at Planet Hotel”
Review of Hotel Planet Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Planet Roma
Ranked #1,052 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    86
    37
    34
    79
See reviews for
46
96
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My family of 4 stayed here for one night, the room was clean, but wasn't really liveable. It is handy that it's close to he train station but the building was a bit dodgy. Breakfast was only one crossoint and a hot drink. The room was very squishy and had hardly no room to put our big suitcases. The staff was very helpful and nice. If you want a quick place to stay and only for one night the place is okay. But as I said I could not stay at this hotel for over one night.. I don't know what the 2 people room is like, but I don't really recommend this hotel for families of 4.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meg--445566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

When we booked we knew it wasn't going to be the Hilton so we went with lower expectations. At the end of the day we only planned on sleeping there not spending time in our room during the day. We are a family of two adults and our daughter so the room had a double and a single bed.
It's so close to the train station so after a long day travelling it was nice to just cross the road and be at the hotel.
When we arrived the staff had very good English skills and all were very polite and helpful. The room was basic but it had everything we needed to be comfortable (we had a bed, toilet and shower, wardrobe and a safe)
Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were bought in.
There was always someone working to help with any questions or to collect your bags when they finally arrived from Amsterdam.
It's a bit novel having to go across the street for breakfast but its fine really.
So all in all its a great little hotel at very reasonable price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We took two rooms for a week at the Planet at the begining of September 2012, both of which were acceptably clean & comfortable.
Towels were changed daily, and bedding was changed midweek.
Staff were brilliant and very friendly.
The location is also brilliant both for tourism and wider ongoing travel as it is on the doorstep of Roma Termini. The area looks a little forboding at night but is quite safe.
Handy for the local Spar for those on a budget.
You get stung for the two euro per person per night 'Roma Tax' but it is important to note that this does not benefit the hotel, it goes to Rome Council!
Both the lift and the corner cafe that served the bun and coffie at breakfast were an experience, but they do grow on you.
For the price we would highly recomend, and would certainally stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The positives:
* Room is spacious.
* Towels are not provided. You need to pay for that separately.
* No internet.
* There is a Luggage locker which can be used after check out. So we kept out luggage after checking out in the morning and collected it late in the evening. This is a free service.
* Good location, just in front of Roma Termini.

The negatives:
* The hotel is actually a collection of rooms in different buildings. Thus, we were taken to a different building where we got a room.
* Included breakfast is available at a nearby cafe. You get a choice of bread (one no.) + coffee/tea/juice. Its not full breakfast. If you prefer heavy breakfast, do not count of the breakfast included in accommodation.
* I felt it was a bit costly when compared with services provided.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ketan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#851 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#1,057 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Halifax
Hotel Halifax
#1,063 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Viennese
Hotel Viennese
#1,112 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mirage
Hotel Mirage
#1,023 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#760 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Planet Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Planet Roma

Property: Hotel Planet Roma
Address: Via Milazzo 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,052 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Planet Roma 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Planet is situated in the historical centre of Rome, just a short distance from Termini Station and Bus Terminal. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day during the whole year. Our staff speak English for your convenience and can make reservations for day and night tours inside and outside the city. All rooms have bathroom and shower, satellite TV, central heating, Air Conditioning, Wi-Fi Internet Access and safety deposit box. Some of the services we provide include an elevator, nearby parking and taxi bookings. It is also in an ideal situation for visitors as any tourist attraction can be reached within a few minutes. The management and staff of Hotel Planet warmly welcome you to Rome and hope you have a pleasant stay. WI-FI internet access Check in 24hrs Check out 12pm Breakfast included Credit Card facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Planet Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing