We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable,central and clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel President
Ranked #202 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a very good modern hotel just 10 minutes walk from the Colosseum. The rooms are large and comfortable and kept immaculately clean. The staff are eager to help and very polite. On the first we were too tired to go out so had a meal in the bar which was very pleasant and reasonably priced. In the morning the breakfast selection (obviously mainly continental but with hot options) was excellent and despite being very busy the staff kept the tables clear and the food well stocked. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Chris G,
Many thanks for your kind review.
We are glad to read that you will chose our hotel once again in the future and looking forward to another occasion to have the pleasure to serve you.
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel President
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week (9/5 to 13/05/13) It was very busy, it seemed that there was always someone queuing at reception. Our room was very disappointing, no carpet on the floor the sink in the bathroom couldn't be sealed, even though the hotel has a green policy the lights wouldn't turn off when you took your key out. The safe in the room is very difficult to access you have to get on your knees on the floor to open it. It was very dark in the room, with dark wood but storage room is at a premium.
The breakfast is plentiful although the restaurant was very busy and you could wait for sometime to be seated.

This hotel isn't one to chose if you want a peaceful holiday but very good for access to the city. The staff are very good but appeared overwhelmed by numbers of guests. It just seemed tired but perhaps Im applying standards.

Room Tip: ask to see your room before you book in there is a vast difference in quality.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We checked in here after leaving another hotel in Rome that was disgusting, so hoping it would be good and was very relieved once we opened our room to see a great sized bed and room. The bathroom was very clean the only bad thing was after I had a shower a very bad smell was coming out from the drain it was horrible they needed some draino or something. Breakfast was average also but at least you could get it but get in fast.Air con was fine despiteother reviews but you have ti shut the window otherwise it shuts off. Overall not too bad at all would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Aussie_Guest,
Thank you for your kind review.
We are glad that, after a bad experience in an another hotel, we have been able to relief your disappointment
It would be nice to see you again and we hope you'll think about us while planning your next trip to our beautiful Roma.
Arrivederci!
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Mainly very friendly and helpful staff. Good sized, comfortable bed (zip/link made up of 2 twins). Free use of room safe (use it, one of our group was pick-pocketed on underground!). Lovely clean modern bathroom, powerful overbath shower with plenty of hot water. Didn't hear a bit of noise in our room at back of hotel. TV only has basic Sky/CNN/Russia Today(!?) news channels in English.

Quite big and impersonal: seems to be used by many big tour groups, however service seemed quick and efficient even in main breakfast/check out rush.

Manzoni metro station within yards of the front door but watch your bags when it's busy. Coliseum walkable. Not a specially pretty area but enough bars, restaurants to get by with. Hotel bar serves light meals/snacks which are ok if you are too tired to go out but not great. Breakfasts good and varied but usual tourist-hotel machine coffee and juices (staff will bring a real espresso if asked).

Free help yourself urn of coffee and milk in reception during day.

Avoid rooms at front if you are a light sleeper. Our friends didn't get one night of undisturbed sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms at front overlook busy road; can be very noisy (usually traffic, tram, music but one night str...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Pros:
* Quiet & clean rooms and building
* Free wifi & breakfast with great variety
* Excellent location within walking distance of Termini and several tourist attractions
* Staff is friendly & helpful

Cons:
* Rooms a bit small, but so are all of them in Europe
* Has A/C, but is very weak
* Very expensive for what you get, but again, probably a common theme across Europe

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prodigiouswizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked this room using trip adviser reviews, however we had reservations about the area and had considered cancelling. I am so thrilled we stayed with our original plans. The rooms are smaller than American hotels rooms but are generous enough for two in a typical room. We had one that looked out into the courtyard, and while I know the hotel was fairly full it sounded like we had the floor to ourselves all night. Marvelous sleep. There is indeed an elevator and free high speed internet, and the breakfasts....my husband is still talking about them six months later! A terrific assortment of food! Hot and cold, fresh fruit and lattes...we loved it! We did not eat in the separate bar/dinning area in the evening as there are so many restaurants up and down the street. The hotels air conditioning and heating worked great, we ended up needing both as some of the time it was unseasonably cold in Rome. A few doors down from the hotel on the same street is a fabulous gelato shop , a terrific men's clothes store with a very nice tailor and several other places definitely worth poking your head into! The area around the hotel is very safe and is withing easy(We are both on the other side of 50 yrs old and had no problem) walking distance to the Colosseum and the train station. The price for the hotel was very reasonable and if you factor in the breakfast savings very very good. We aren't very demanding guests but the staff that we did run into were all very nice and so helpful! The bathrooms are worth noting too...very nice...the shower had very strong water flow which I love.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewlfaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a good tourist hotel - we found the room we had of good size, clean, air-conditioned and up to usual tourist-class standard. The public spaces are OK, and the breakfasts also good. We ate here one night, but must say the food and atmosphere were pretty underwhelming - use the restaurant only if you are too tired to wander out. The hotel is only about 15 minutes walk from the Colosseum, but not in the prettiest area - to say the least. There are, however, a couple of good restaurants on the same road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel President

Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 173, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#176 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#194 Business Hotel in Rome
#242 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $101 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel President: a 4-star hotel in the historic center of Rome A synonymous of class, luxury and functionality, the 4 star BEST WESTERN Hotel President with 198 rooms is the ideal choice for your stay in Rome, located next to Manzoni subway station and it represents a perfect base to explore mythical archaeological sites such as the Coliseum, the spectacular Domus Aurea, and the Basilica of St. John Lateran. The area also offers excellent shopping opportunities and good public transport links. A few metres from the hotel, here is the Metro A subway line and several public transportations Recently renovated rooms offer every kind of comfort to our guests: telephone with direct line, TV LCD 32", electronic safe deposit box, fire prevention system, minibar and free Wi-Fi connection BEST WESTERN President Hotel's services included family rooms and is free from any architectural barrier. The restaurant and lounge bar serve classic ltalian cuisine and Roman specialties, with special care for vegetarians and celiac guests. Free Wi-Fi internet connection available in all the hotel The hotel has an adjacent convenient paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing