We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,733)
Filter reviews
1,733 results
Traveler rating
546
821
259
61
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
821
259
61
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanzoni metro stationpolystyrene cupsriviera travelminute walk to the colosseumhotel bartram stophotel is locatedreception staffpastriesbreakfast was excellentroman forumaround the cornercity breakthe air conditioninggelatovisit romecentre of rome
Filter
Updating list...
618 - 623 of 1,733 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel President in Rome is central to just about everything, I could not fault the staff during our 4 day stay or the food but the noise from the street (we were at the front of the hotel which looks out onto the main road) was unbearable, on the second day we resorted to buying earplugs from a local chemist which were better than nothing. We honestly thought the window had been left open it was that noisy - Trams running every 5-10 minutes until 01:45 then starting again at 04:15 - Not Good! It was like living next door to a railway! Rooms were clean and well maintained, staff were attentive and very pleasant but would not go back there.
I like to be able to sleep at night so I can enjoy my day. Noisy couple on room 215 didn't help with the TV blaring until 11:45 most nights, only after I complained on day 3 did they turn it down a bit and it was only a bit.
For a holiday this expensive I would have expected better, 4 star hotel should be down graded to a 3 star because of this.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the hotel, apparently it is much quieter there.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear John D,
Thanks for your review about our hotel.
We are sorry to learn that your stay was not comfortable as you had expected due to noise coming from the street.
As you have mentioned in the comment, our location is very central and that naturally implies that, in a big and busy city like Rome, traffic might be heavy during rush hours.
We apologize once again for the discomfort you have suffered however we are certain that if you expressed your disappointment to our reception staff, they would have been more than pleased to change your accommodation with a room with the view on the backyard.
We are hoping you will be willing to give us another chance to serve you, we would like to show our best efforts and dedication to our customers.
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked the trip through Riviera Travel. Had a room on 6th floor at back so no traffic noise. Room was very small but adequate for 4 nights. We were lucky to have a bath as after walking all day it was lovely to able to relax in ithat. Choice of pillows so this added to comfort. No view but I do not expect many city centre towns have one. Keep the curtains closed. Choice at breakfast was good but the bacon and frankfurters would not be a popular choice with Brits. The bacon was nearly all fat. I liked having fresh fruit and yoghurt but the kiwi's were often underripe. Bar meals did NOT look anything like their picture on menu but were ok. Best to eat out and plenty of local restaurants around. Staff all very pleasant and helpful and spoke good English. Hotel kept nice and clean. Convenient for travel. metro just a very short walk and at 1.50 euros cheap but if you were fit enough it was good to walk around , so much to see.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the back away fron very busy road.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveypoppyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

stayed here recently while visiting Rome and found it to be a great spot.
Breakfast was great ( hot buffet style )...rooms were of good size and beds were comfortable.
Staff was very helpful with all of my inquiries re: sites to see, local transit and local nearby restaurant selections.
This hotel is located at Manzoni Metro stop which is very convenient for seeing all of the attractions and it's only a 15 minute walk to the colloseum!
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Modern hotel, very clean. Rooms are on average, a bit small but plenty of confort. desk, minibar, flat tv, various choice of pillows.
bathroom was really little, but modern, clean and with shampoo, shoes sponge and soap. unique defect was that the room was noisy. not because of the noises from the street, but during the night there were many noises from corridors and near rooms which were waking me up.
Staff is very kind, and there's a good choiche for breakfast. they also bring you a fresh orange juice. a big plus: metro is just two footsteps far from the hotel entrance. you really can go everywhere, and this make best western president one of the best choiche in Rome

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvia_a83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance to the Coliseum and the Forum. There is a small cafe close by, with a couple of other restaurants in the area as well. The hotel itself is quite modern. The rooms are a nice size and are clean. The bed was so comfortable - the best of the whole trip. The staff was very helpful and most spoke very good english. The free breakfast was a nice benefit.

There is a subway station just a couple doors down for easy travel to the other many locations in Rome.

Room Tip: Not all rooms were smoke free, so if you want one be sure to request it. They can't guarantee it, but at least you let them know up front that you would like one.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunkist_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Sunkist_10,
Thank you very very much for your kind review and nice words spent about our property and our staff.
It's been a pleasure serving you and we are looking forward to have another occasion to see you soon.
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews