We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel President - Rome, Good but not enough to make me go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel President
Ranked #223 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel President - Rome, Good but not enough to make me go back”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel President in Rome is central to just about everything, I could not fault the staff during our 4 day stay or the food but the noise from the street (we were at the front of the hotel which looks out onto the main road) was unbearable, on the second day we resorted to buying earplugs from a local chemist which were better than nothing. We honestly thought the window had been left open it was that noisy - Trams running every 5-10 minutes until 01:45 then starting again at 04:15 - Not Good! It was like living next door to a railway! Rooms were clean and well maintained, staff were attentive and very pleasant but would not go back there.
I like to be able to sleep at night so I can enjoy my day. Noisy couple on room 215 didn't help with the TV blaring until 11:45 most nights, only after I complained on day 3 did they turn it down a bit and it was only a bit.
For a holiday this expensive I would have expected better, 4 star hotel should be down graded to a 3 star because of this.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the hotel, apparently it is much quieter there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel President, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear John D,
Thanks for your review about our hotel.
We are sorry to learn that your stay was not comfortable as you had expected due to noise coming from the street.
As you have mentioned in the comment, our location is very central and that naturally implies that, in a big and busy city like Rome, traffic might be heavy during rush hours.
We apologize once again for the discomfort you have suffered however we are certain that if you expressed your disappointment to our reception staff, they would have been more than pleased to change your accommodation with a room with the view on the backyard.
We are hoping you will be willing to give us another chance to serve you, we would like to show our best efforts and dedication to our customers.
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    703
    235
    53
    42
See reviews for
341
574
67
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked the trip through Riviera Travel. Had a room on 6th floor at back so no traffic noise. Room was very small but adequate for 4 nights. We were lucky to have a bath as after walking all day it was lovely to able to relax in ithat. Choice of pillows so this added to comfort. No view but I do not expect many city centre towns have one. Keep the curtains closed. Choice at breakfast was good but the bacon and frankfurters would not be a popular choice with Brits. The bacon was nearly all fat. I liked having fresh fruit and yoghurt but the kiwi's were often underripe. Bar meals did NOT look anything like their picture on menu but were ok. Best to eat out and plenty of local restaurants around. Staff all very pleasant and helpful and spoke good English. Hotel kept nice and clean. Convenient for travel. metro just a very short walk and at 1.50 euros cheap but if you were fit enough it was good to walk around , so much to see.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the back away fron very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveypoppyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Station, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

stayed here recently while visiting Rome and found it to be a great spot.
Breakfast was great ( hot buffet style )...rooms were of good size and beds were comfortable.
Staff was very helpful with all of my inquiries re: sites to see, local transit and local nearby restaurant selections.
This hotel is located at Manzoni Metro stop which is very convenient for seeing all of the attractions and it's only a 15 minute walk to the colloseum!
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calenzano, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Modern hotel, very clean. Rooms are on average, a bit small but plenty of confort. desk, minibar, flat tv, various choice of pillows.
bathroom was really little, but modern, clean and with shampoo, shoes sponge and soap. unique defect was that the room was noisy. not because of the noises from the street, but during the night there were many noises from corridors and near rooms which were waking me up.
Staff is very kind, and there's a good choiche for breakfast. they also bring you a fresh orange juice. a big plus: metro is just two footsteps far from the hotel entrance. you really can go everywhere, and this make best western president one of the best choiche in Rome

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia_a83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance to the Coliseum and the Forum. There is a small cafe close by, with a couple of other restaurants in the area as well. The hotel itself is quite modern. The rooms are a nice size and are clean. The bed was so comfortable - the best of the whole trip. The staff was very helpful and most spoke very good english. The free breakfast was a nice benefit.

There is a subway station just a couple doors down for easy travel to the other many locations in Rome.

Room Tip: Not all rooms were smoke free, so if you want one be sure to request it. They can't guarantee i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunkist_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel President, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Sunkist_10,
Thank you very very much for your kind review and nice words spent about our property and our staff.
It's been a pleasure serving you and we are looking forward to have another occasion to see you soon.
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were booked here for 4 nights by Riviera Travel. The hotel staff were very attentive, meals in the bar were acceptable when you didn't want to go out to eat. Standard of room was good and the bathroom (obviously just refurbished) excellent. The downside for us was the traffic noise. We were at the front of the hotel overlooking a dual carriageway and tram line on a busy five way junction. There was no double glazing in the room and the noise was incessant. I had to go and buy ear plugs to get any sleep. Although the hotel is right by a metro station (closed for one day due to a strike during our stay), we would have preferred to be nearer the centre of town. 35 minutes walk to the Colosseum from the hotel and little to see within the immediate vicinity other than St John Lateran.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScribeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel President, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear ScribeUK,
Thank you for your comment.
We are very sorry to read about the discomfort suffered due to traffic noises. As you can easily understand, Rome is a big city with a very active historical centre, this leads to a certain noise expecially during the day.
However our reception staff is always attentive to our customers' requests and we are sure that, if they only knew, they would have immediately change your accommodation for a room overlooking the backyard.
Please accept our sincere apologize.
We do hope there will be another occasion to serve you, we would be honored to have you as our guest once more, in the meantime please accept our
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had emailed and asked for a high quiet room as I knew The Hotel is on a busy road. I was given 131 a low room. Wow, it looked out over a flat roof but it was so quiet, excellent No noise at all. The rest of our party got rooms on the sixth floor and were all moaning about the road noise. Breakfast was OK, slow to replace things that had run out. The scrambled egg was so runny and insipid. The bacon was too salty. But there was bags of other food to have and the fruit and juices were good. You would not go hungry. Seating was at a premium and table sharing with other guests was requested.
The Hotel was clean, good friendly staff. Rooms were late being made up where we were, so an afternoon rest was not possible. It was great for The Metro, line A could not be better for getting around. 1.50 Euro takes you anywhere on a well run Subway.

I would stay at this Hotel again, there are areas to sit and relax. Did not eat in as there are lots of local good restaurants at quite good prices. P.S. The lifts were at a premium first thing.

Room Tip: Go for a room away from the front any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billybluehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel President, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear billybluehat,
Thank you very very much for having dedicated some time to write a review about your stay at our hotel.
We were pleased to read that your request for a quite room wasn't unattended hence offering you a relaxing and comfortable stay.
We have taken good notice of your comments about some of the products served for breakfast and we thank you for having reported your comments.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel President

Property: Best Western Hotel President
Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 173, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#176 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#194 Business Hotel in Rome
#242 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel President: a 4-star hotel in the historic center of Rome A synonymous of class, luxury and functionality, the 4 star BEST WESTERN Hotel President with 198 rooms is the ideal choice for your stay in Rome, located next to Manzoni subway station and it represents a perfect base to explore mythical archaeological sites such as the Coliseum, the spectacular Domus Aurea, and the Basilica of St. John Lateran. The area also offers excellent shopping opportunities and good public transport links. A few metres from the hotel, here is the Metro A subway line and several public transportations Recently renovated rooms offer every kind of comfort to our guests: telephone with direct line, TV LCD 32", electronic safe deposit box, fire prevention system, minibar and free Wi-Fi connection BEST WESTERN President Hotel's services included family rooms and is free from any architectural barrier. The restaurant and lounge bar serve classic ltalian cuisine and Roman specialties, with special care for vegetarians and celiac guests. Free Wi-Fi internet connection available in all the hotel The hotel has an adjacent convenient paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing