We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel President
Ranked #181 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel is well suited for tourists. 15mins walk from the main train station coming from the airport. But there is also a Metro station outside the hotel, which was easy to use and takes you to most hotspots

The Colosseum is just over 5min walk, which was great.

This hotel is all about the location but its also very good value. When site seeing such a historic city like Rome, you will not be spending much time here, other than sleeping

The rooms have all the usual and its comfortable

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Medsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

Although well situated, the fact that it was supposed to be 4 star, made for dissappointment. The lifts were supposed to hold 6, but in reality only four could squeeze in and if with suitcases, two. The room was large enough, but very shabby, with curtains hanging off the rails and some of the decor falling apart. Cobwebs were hanging in various places. The bathroom had a shower with a grubby shower curtain and a toilet that need flushing more than once, sometimes twice!! Some times we had a bath mat and some times we didn't. The air conditioning didn't work and as it was very hot, we suffered. TV channels were a bit limited. No BBC.

The restaurant was adequate, but not a 4 star buffet breakfast. It seemed to be under staffed. The bar also seemed under staffed with the barman regularly disappearing to carry out room service. Although the hotel wasn't great, the staff were always polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank watercolourpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear watercolourpainter ,
Thank you very much for your review.
We would like to apologize if some of our services did not meet your expectations, we have appreciated your comments and will take them in consideration in order. Our goal is to satisfy each client hence it is important to acknowledge everyone's opinions and suggestions.
As a matter of fact we had a problem with our air conditioning system that, however, it's been quickly solved by our maintainance team. We understand that, being the temperature quite high during those days, this must have certainly caused you a considerable discomfort for which we ask you to accept our deepest apologies.
We will also enquire, directly with our housekeeper, about the cobwebs present in the room, actually this news found us quite surprised as in our hotel, rooms are cleaned every day with accurancy and we wonder how come you did not think it was important to report the problem to our reception staff who, as you wrote, is kind and helpful. Sorry also for this inconvience.
Thanking you once again for having chosen our hotel for your vacation in Rome, we do hope there will be another chance to serve you and to show you our best efforts in improving thanks also to all our guests' comments and advices.
Kind regards.

Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was a surprisingly good deal. I expected a hotel like the ones in USA - not even close! Excellent location ( near the Colloseum and right next to a Metro station), excellent service, excellent breakfast (included) at a decent rate.The room was spacious (for Europe), with WiFi, good bed and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is located near historical area with bus & metro station next to it.
we were there after hotel renovations so everything was perfect. nice conditioned bedroom modern Bathroom, great open buffet break fast and very help full staff are things that i still remember.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teti-Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend in Rome and profited from a stay 3 pay 2 nights offer. The location is 15min walking distance to Colosseum and directly next to subway station allowing to access most intersting corners of Rome in half an hour.
The bathroom was newly renevated and very nice but the room pretty small and unfortunately without safe. The american breakfast buffet was a bit boring but OK.
Service in the restaurant was very friendly at the counter a bit cold.
All in all we can recommend the place when getting a good bargin for the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

After spending some long days seeing the sights in Rome during the heat of July, the hotel's a/c was a welcome and needed relief -coldest a/c in any Italian Hotels during my trip. The location by the metro is fabulous-making it easy and cheap to see all the sights and transfer to train station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear Craig S,
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you very much for having shared your experience on TripAdvisor by writing a lovely comment.
We are looking forward to another occasion to welcome you in Roma.
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just came back from Rome and stayed at this Hotel. I have nothing but exceptional things to say about the establishment and the remarkable men and women who work here. The breakfast that was included was great, and the wifi was average. it is located steps away from the Manzoni subway station and the overall location will save you! (10 min walk from the Colleseum, 15min walk from Termini, etc). Don't listen to the negative comments posted about this Hotel, since they are all from laid off Investment Bankers with MBA's from Pepperoni U who can no longer afford the $1500+/night establishments.
Also, the staff are very friendly, helpful, approachable, etc.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 316, and it was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ameet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Ameet A,
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for the nice words spent when talking about us.
We felt really flattered by your statements.
We are really hoping to have another opportunity to see you soon.
Please accept our warmest regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Milton Roma
Hotel Milton Roma
#276 of 1,273 in Rome
1,628 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#76 of 1,273 in Rome
2,727 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel President

Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 173, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#176 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#194 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $91 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel President: a 4-star hotel in the historic center of Rome A synonymous of class, luxury and functionality, the 4 star BEST WESTERN Hotel President with 198 rooms is the ideal choice for your stay in Rome, located next to Manzoni subway station and it represents a perfect base to explore mythical archaeological sites such as the Coliseum, the spectacular Domus Aurea, and the Basilica of St. John Lateran. The area also offers excellent shopping opportunities and good public transport links. A few metres from the hotel, here is the Metro A subway line and several public transportations Recently renovated rooms offer every kind of comfort to our guests: telephone with direct line, TV LCD 32", electronic safe deposit box, fire prevention system, minibar and free Wi-Fi connection BEST WESTERN President Hotel's services included family rooms and is free from any architectural barrier. The restaurant and lounge bar serve classic ltalian cuisine and Roman specialties, with special care for vegetarians and celiac guests. Free Wi-Fi internet connection available in all the hotel The hotel has an adjacent convenient paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing