We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Ranked #237 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great start”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in January 2013 and couldn't be happier. We were allowed to check in well before lunch which was fantastic after a long flight. Couldn't fault the location - a very short, safe walk to the station and a shorter walk to buses and trams. I thought the staff were helpful, friendly and so very well presented, especially as breakfast. The rooms were clean and comfortable with very little street noise - we slept with the window open slightly. I really couldn't fault the Hotel Universo, a credit to the Best Western name in a city that's a credit to the world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riverise61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    801
    263
    85
    57
See reviews for
317
623
85
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were a group of about 30+ that need a hotel near the centre of Rome in mid Nov 12. Tried many and only Best Western group of Hotels was able to support and decided to go to Hotel Universo as it is nearer the train station and it is large and flexible to accommodate different types of room and dates checking in. They were efficient and fast to response via email mainly as booking was thru the group HQ.

The Hotel is very central, most sites are within 30 minutes of walking.

The room is clean and large enough. The breakfast is good and has lots of varieties.

I will like to thank the Best Western group for making our stay in Rome a wonderful event.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vince W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
619 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Booked this hotel for a 3 night city break in Rome. Having been to Rome 3 times now I am quite picky about location etc. However, this hotel fitted the bill.

The Hotel is 5 minutes from Termini and is within 20 minute walk to most of the attractions excluding the Vatican which you can take the underground (line A) from Termini.

Rooms are very modern and comfortable; I think they have all been recently re fitted. Rooms are quite with no noise heard from the outside.

Breakfast was nice with a selection of hot and cold, if you want a decent coffee ask waiter as the machine is not great!

If you book directly with the hotel at the moment there is an offer where you stay for 3 nights over a Sunday and you pay for 2 nights. With the prices of eating and drinking in Rome this offer is good!

In the evening definitely head to Piazza Navona and Campo Di Flora for some great bars and restaurants.

Would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

It was my first visit to Rome, same time I'm visiting Italy quite often..Now decided to accompany Rome citizens to spend the X-mas holidays together end of December..In general I'm satisfied of my trip, but expected some more happy faces on the streets, let's say, more 'carnaval atmosphere'..but mainly everything was rather quiet...maybe I visited not the right places there to feel the holiday's spirit ? who knows...
The hotel was quite nice, big enough, with acceptable average of the dishes for breakfast..also could be possible to take some snaks in the bar during the day...in the evening the hotel's restaurant welcomed to you, but..I never been there, because tried to visit some other places in the city...
Standard room was good enough, not big, but relevant..bathroom with cold/hot water, TV with a certain number of channels - everything was present ...
Location of the hotel is a major advantage, I guess..3 min. by foot - and you can enter the Termini metro station, or the same name railwaystation, or to catch the bus on the big stop area near the station..so, it's clear, that in this case you could travel everywhere - inside or outside Rome - without any problems..in 30-40 min. you could reach the Fumicino airport to go outside of Italy - if you wish..
So, in general I didn't find the big disadvantages in this hotel..for sure, if you try, you could find some,but..when you see this nice ancient sity, as Rome, you forget about some small problems..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex_mow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
248 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Hotel Universo. It was a very nice property. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was excellent with a large selection. It is at a good location just a few blocks from the train station (Termini). It is easy to get on a train to the airport, or on a subway train to other parts of the city to see sights. One thing that you must keep in mind is that the room rate does not include the taxes. Those are paid over and above the room rate. I was able to book an excellent rate when I got the room, so I was not too worried about the taxes. However, if I had felt I was paying a premium for the room, I would have been unhappy with the surprise of the room tax.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerCentralFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear TravelerCentralFLA,
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
However please allow us to make a little emphasize about the taxes.
Our room rates include breakfast, service and the hotel taxes.
From January 1st 2011 Rome City Council has imposed an overnight accommodation fee which is totally due to the Town Hall, therefore it's absolutely not a charge for the hotel services.
Thanks for giving us the opportunity to clear this point out hence giving this important information to whomever was not aware of this tax.
Hoping there will be another chance to serve you, please accept our
Best regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel 30/31/12/2012. I had advance booked this hotel about 6 weeks prior to arriving directly through the Best Western website. Booked as other travellers indicated close to Roma termini which we thought would be helpful for the time we had in Rome. We arrived early morning around 9.30am. I had booked : Room Details: 1 King Bed, Full Breakfast, Energy Room, Exercise Bike, Energy Drink And Snack, Luxury Bathroom Toiletries, Bathrobes And Slippers, Fitness Area Access. On arriving was told the room was not ready however another room was availble - room 623. on seeing our room it did not include bath robes or luxury toiletries. We were told at check in there would be no exercise bike and I indicated this was ok as at time of arrival - we were tired after 13 hr flight and needed to rest. After check in reviewed our paperwork and noticed the rate was quite high as opposed to rates on website. $209 EUR per day plus city tax. Given we were in hotel over new years eve perhaps this would be why rates are up to $100 EUR per day over rates shown on website? I did ask about this at reception and was told the rate was correct even though higher than on Best Western website via my membership log in. The room appeared to be standard room without any the indicated extras which I also did not understand when I had booked for these extras and was paying for extras. Bedding comfortable. Bathroom clean and serviced well. Full breakfast was very average. Nutritionally could be vastly improved and food served at higher temperatures. One of the coffee machines (2 in restaurant) was broken which caused largish queues each morning we were in hotel. Coffees were low temperature and need to be served hotter. Waiters appear unhappy in restaurant and make no contact with patrons. Tables were not cleared/serviced while we were at our table each morning. Reception were prompt to help, are professional, but appear to be under pressure, rushed and at times a tad gruff.

Hotel seems to be suited more for business traveller than the holiday maker.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrisbaneMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear BrisbaneMegan,
Thank you for your comment.
We are sorry to read of the misunderstanding occured about the room rate and we would like to check into the matter carefully.
We would like to invite you to contact us directly in order to give us more details.
Looking forward to hearing from you,
Best regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 6 nights on Nov 2012, the hotel location is good for people who wants to travel by rail, since it is only 5 minutes walking distance from Termini Train Station, however, it is far from other city attractions, not even close enough.

The room was small (twin beds), however toilet was big, and be careful when you take shower as the water will flood although the shower has a door.

The hotel has a free wifi internet, but the staff change the password everyday, and you have to get a new password from the reception by physically going there because they will not give it to you over the room phone.

Not all staff are helpful! if you ask something from the room service they will even say that they are busy and can not bring it and suggest that you go down and take it yourself! or it will take ages to arrive to your room! I was not really impressed with that and despite I have complained at the reception but it didn't change.

I will not book in that hotel if I ever go to Rome again, due to the service and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aya294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Aya294,
Thanks for your comment.
We were sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel due to our location and some of our services.
However it's important for us to underline that, despite from what you have written, we are located in the heart of Rome giving easy reach to the most important attractions we have here. Piazza Venezia, The Colosseum, The Roman Forum are only some of the monuments you can visit by just walking from the hotel. For those which are a bit far away, there is the possibility to catch the subway or bus practically outside the hotel door.
For what concerns the room service we'd like to apologize if the service did not meet your expectation, we'd like to assure you we have taken notice of your comments in order to upgrade our offers.
Regarding the wi-fi code which changes every day, for security matters our reception staff prefers to communicate it directly to the client in person.
Renewing our excuses, we do sincerely hope you'll give us another chance to serve you and to prove our best efforts to improve our benefits.
In the meantime, please accept our
Best regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#166 of 1,257 in Rome
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#184 of 1,257 in Rome
1,666 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Universo

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 5/B, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#134 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#200 Business Hotel in Rome
#265 Family Hotel in Rome
#311 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Universo 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo is a 4 star hotel just a few steps from Termini Railway Station In a very convenient location offers the possibility of a walk in the heart of ancient Rome: The Colosseum and Imperial Forums, Piazza Venezia e Trevi Fountain. Nearby there are landmarks such as the Teatro dell'Opera, National Roman Museum - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme, Baths of Diocletian and one of the 4th Basilicas of Rome: The Patriarchal Basilica of St. Mary Major. Also just a few minutes walk you can walk along the main shopping streets: Via Nazionale, Via del Corso and Spanish steps. Locarted near Termini Railway Station, easily accessible from Fiumicino and Ciampino airports, and well-located also for those who arrive by car thanks to the Hotel agreements with the nearby car parks. Its strategic position is ideal for organizing both national and international meetings in Rome. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo has 198 rooms in the center of Rome, characterized by a high level of quality and comfort: satellite tv, mini-bar and free Wi-Fi connection and air-conditioning system. Universo Hotel offers you a well equipped Fitness Centre, with sauna, Turkish bath and a space entirely dedicated to relax. Also available a conference centre with 9 rooms capable to host a total of 600 people, all provided with every equipment necessary to organize your perfect meeting in Rome. The restaurant has many personalized menus, with special care for vegetarians and celiac guests. Wi-Fi internet connection is available and totally free of charge in all the areas of the hotel. Rooms and services for disabled guests are available. Close to the Hotel there are also several paying car parks. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo: four Star welcome in the center of Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Universo
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western
Hotel Universo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing