We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Aussies visit Rome for the first time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Ranked #211 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were very happy with the Universo hotel. Its location is very near the main railway station. It is also well situated in terms of many of the major tourist attractions in Rome (several of which we were able to walk to). Our room was well presented and well serviced daily. The daily buffet breakfast certainly well and truly met all our needs. In short it was great!!! The reception staff on the whole were friendly and helpful. We highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Damian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Damian J,
Thank you for your comment.
We have appreciated your good review about accommodation, staff and breakfast.
We are looking forward to see you again on your next vacation in Rome
Best regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

If its your first visit to Rome , and you will be travelling by rail , you mat want to consider the Universo . Only blocks from the main Termini rail station , it is also near the city's subway system .
A walk is required to reach alot of the attractions but if you are wwilling , this hotel is a comfortable and reasonable place to stay .
Arriving by air , take the shuttle into town . Make sure you get directions to the hotel from the driver .... it can be a little overwwhelming you first time to Rome otherwise .
Breakfast is very good , the room was ccomfortable . Make sure your room is away from the elevator ... we didn't . It can get noisy .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Booked here for our return back to Rome, so that we would be close to Termini for an early departure to airport. The hotel is perfectly located for this, a short one block and around the corner to Termini. The hotel is lovely, clean, well organized, we had no problem with the staff, all were very helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. There is good resturants all around the area. The rooms were very modern and beds were comfy and had a mini-bar frig also. We will return here for the convenience of Termini but also for the good service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddySaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear TeddySaskatchewan,
Thanks for your comment.
We are hoping to have soon another occasion to see you.

Best regards.
Cinzia
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel itself was beautiful, the lobby was pristine and the architecture was classical yet nice. The staff on the other hand were average, not saying they were particularly rude but they weren't exactly eager to help. And DON'T ask them if they speak english, because it is very likely you will get an awkward response. The rooms were nice, we had a triple share and the beds were nicely spread out and the toilets were modern and clean! The complementary breakfast was decent, there was a variety of hot and cold food and beverages. The location was quite convenient, and was close to public transport (tip for all travellers: do not EVER EVER EVER put 50 Euro notes into a ticket machine, it will NOT return your money, and the transport people will NOT help you)! Will probably come back to stay if I ever return to Italy! Hopefully by the time they would have changed over to nicer staff :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We bought a mystery deal with Wotif and ended up here - and what a pleasant surprise. A lovely quiet room - well appointed and perfect for our three days in Rome. The bed was supremely comfortable and the AC was super cool (it was hot outside!). The breakfast was fine - nothing special but the espresso (which you have to ask for) was great. Service at the concierge desk was brusk but hardly worth a mention. For the price (50% off), would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floor as quieter I imagine. We had a room facing the street which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Steveninsydney,
Thanks a lot for your comment and for the nice words spent about us that we have really appreciated.
We are pleased to acknolewdge your permance here was nice and that our services fulfilled your needs.
We do hope to have the chance soon to serve you again, in the meantime please accept our
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Room was nice, clean, and had a large bathroom with a great tub and shower; however, the shower door closed only half way! I loved the water pressure in the shower, but if you turned the water on full-force you could almost flood the room. Felt good though:). Breakfast was good. Some of the staff were nice; some weren't very friendly or helpful. Good location. On a narrow street, so the bus couldn't park anywhere to let us off. Cars were lined up behind us, honking their horns and shouting. Our bus driver was assaulted by some of the irrate drivers! Welcome to Roma!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 126Teddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear 126Teddie,
Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad to learn your stay with us has been comfortable and up to your expectation.
We are sorry about the assaulted driver episode, we do hope this has not changed your opinion about italians and in particular about romans that are very good people made exception for few that are fortunately not the majority.
We are looking forward to another occasion to see you and in the meantime we pray you to accept our
Best regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel Universo in Rome has really nice rooms and “all you can eat” breakfasts, with a quick check out service. Universo is located very near to the central station, which is supposed to be a dodgy area especially at night. However, the hotel is located on a street with many other hotels and restaurants and so we never felt unsafe. All the staff are very pleasant and helpful including the Front desk staff who were very pleasant. Rooms were comfortable and had all the amenities you would need. It is easy to walk to the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps and we also made use of the jump on- off bus tour for two days. There are good restaurants in close walking distance from the hotel. Free Wi-Fi in the room and the TV has English news channels. For me the location was good, and the hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geo2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Geo2502,
We wish to thank you very very much for your review.
We are very content to acknowledge your stay was comfortable and up to your expectations.
We are then looking forward to another occasion to welcome you at the Best Western Hotel Universo.
Best regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#164 of 1,270 in Rome
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#123 of 1,270 in Rome
1,345 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#187 of 1,270 in Rome
1,757 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Universo

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 5/B, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#200 Business Hotel in Rome
#310 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $90 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Universo 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo is a 4 star hotel just a few steps from Termini Railway Station In a very convenient location offers the possibility of a walk in the heart of ancient Rome: The Colosseum and Imperial Forums, Piazza Venezia e Trevi Fountain. Nearby there are landmarks such as the Teatro dell'Opera, National Roman Museum - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme, Baths of Diocletian and one of the 4th Basilicas of Rome: The Patriarchal Basilica of St. Mary Major. Also just a few minutes walk you can walk along the main shopping streets: Via Nazionale, Via del Corso and Spanish steps. Locarted near Termini Railway Station, easily accessible from Fiumicino and Ciampino airports, and well-located also for those who arrive by car thanks to the Hotel agreements with the nearby car parks. Its strategic position is ideal for organizing both national and international meetings in Rome. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo has 198 rooms in the center of Rome, characterized by a high level of quality and comfort: satellite tv, mini-bar and free Wi-Fi connection and air-conditioning system. Universo Hotel offers you a well equipped Fitness Centre, with sauna, Turkish bath and a space entirely dedicated to relax. Also available a conference centre with 9 rooms capable to host a total of 600 people, all provided with every equipment necessary to organize your perfect meeting in Rome. The restaurant has many personalized menus, with special care for vegetarians and celiac guests. Wi-Fi internet connection is available and totally free of charge in all the areas of the hotel. Rooms and services for disabled guests are available. Close to the Hotel there are also several paying car parks. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo: four Star welcome in the center of Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Universo
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western
Hotel Universo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing