We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #78 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A true palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2007

I have spent five days at the Grand Hotel. Extraordinary reconstitution of an early 2Oth century palace hotel. Service is kind, not arrogant at all. Concierge very good at recommanding places for dinner. Large room (we were upgraded to an "imperial" room at arrival), extremely well kept and comfortable.
Location is so-so : close to the horrendous Termini area, but also at a decent walking distance of main shopping areas; anyhow, taxis are cheap.

  • Liked — style and cleanliness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulklib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,315
    361
    169
    61
    19
See reviews for
406
980
66
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2007

We have just returned after 6 days/5 nigths at the St. Regis and I have to say that no words can describe the outstanding service at this hotel - or should I say home, because that is how it feelt.

What makes this hotel is the staff - courtious, helpful, kind, educated and friendly. The staff at St. Regis obviously love to work there and are not in hospitality because they have to be.

We were travelling as a family with two small children and we were welcomed in Italy from the moment we arrived at the airport. At the hotel we were upgraded to a junior suite and immidiately when we arrived in our room the butler came to unpack our luggage and offer us coffee. The butler services was outstanding and personal. Always smiling. My husband turned 40 during our stay and on the day we recieved wine and the butlers came with cake and sang for him,-) Can you imagine the joy our girls felt;-)

The concierge - Mr Mario - was of great help booking restaurants for us and recommending sites etc. We had dinnner one evening at Mirabelle at the Splendid Royal hotel - the view from this Michelin star restaurant is just breathtaking. While dining on the roof terresse you may enjoy a sun set behind the St. Peters church and all of Rome is at your feet. What more can you ask for?

For an informal familiy dinner I would recommend Giglio restaurant in via Torino - super service and very family friendly - like the rest of Rome actually! Also, do go the the zoo - a great childrens zoo in the heart of Rome and the Vila Borgese park. You can rent bikes here and have great fun. Don't let any one tell you that Rome is not for small kids - it is great and when we came home today all our 3 year old could say was 'I want to go back to the hotel'!

The suite was fine - I have stayed at better equiped hotels I must admit but I will always return to St. Regis - my new second home in Rome. We had room 103 and the view was not that good. Also we did lack room for all our clothes - but had we asked I am sure they would have come up with a solution for us;-)

Security is superior - the police was there all the time due to VIPs in residence. Note the bullet proof glass doors on some of the suite doors.........

The location is very good - not too close to all the touristy sites - thank god. The Westin is on the 'street of 5 star hotels' but is is very flash and 'new rich' I think. St. Regis is low key subtle luxury for the people in the know!

  • Liked — The Staff - outstanding
  • Disliked — view from room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pineappleeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2007

Hotel is nice off course, so it should for the price.
Staff is a bit arrogant, but you get that quite often in 5* hotels.
Food is very expensive and not all that...
The location is good, close to the train and bus station and all the sites.
(Rome is a beautiful city, great food and not expensive if you go where the italians go.)
The rooms are comfortable, huge bed, marble bathrooms etc. But no kettle, there never are in europe.

  • Liked — large bed and furniture and fittings
  • Disliked — the price of everything
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank travelmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2007

Beautifully restored. Sumptuous decor. Charming, romantic and representative of what a great European hotel should be.

Avoid eating there, however, as the cuisine -- across the board -- is below moderate.

Ciao!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank herculepoirot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2007

We stayed at the St Regis Grand for a weekend in April 2007. This is a really luxurious hotel, built in 1894 by Cesar Ritz and renovated in 1999, but still keeping this aura of that old era. Every room is different to others, having a painting of a landmark of Rome and named after it. The room is furnished with classical pieces, of late 19th/early 20th century style. However, beds are extraordinarily comfortable and every need you may have is lavishly catered for - expensive toiletry items from Hermes, large 32 inch 16:9 LCD TV, DVD player, high speed internet connection etc. etc.. The lobby is impressive, same are the banquet and meeting rooms, reminding of a rennaissance palace. Rooms are expensive - but they are worth it. You may meet celebrities: during our stay Robert De Niro was allegedly staying in the Royal Suite. The property is located next to Piazza de la Repubblica (metro station), 10 minutes walking distance to Via Veneto and 15 minutes to the Spanish steps. Definetely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2007

We were 4 in the family (me, my wife and two children) and I researched all the hotels in Rome and finally settled on St. Regis Grand after reading reviews on this site as well. We stayed at the Hotel for 4 nights and this was the best experience I have had in a long while. The hotel surpassed my expectations in all respects - Service, which was truly "anticipatory" and sincere; comfortable, clean, well furnished and maintained, elegant and truly memorable service from everyone including the restaurant, bar, lobby, concierge and the personal butler that serviced the room.
Having travelled around the world - I am very selective in my choices and am very particular about having the best service.
The hotel is very close to the station and shopping areas that I could walk around to most locations.

If you are looking for an exceptional hotel with exceptional service - and the money paid is worth it - this is the place to stay in Rome.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Hotel Facilities - No Pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Vinu_Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2007

A fantastic stay. My wife an I spent 3 days with our 3 children in 2 adjoining rooms. Fantastic beds,beautiful rooms, charming and helpful staff. Breakfast wasn't great, but still the best we saw in 14 days in Italy (they don't really 'do' breakfast).

Not the best location for sightseeing - but superbly located for the train station (less than a 5 min walk).

The best place we were in on this trip, by far.

  • Liked — Great rooms - 'heavenly beds'...
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#54 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#47 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing